How much does a HOODZ franchise cost?
HOODZ has three separate U.S. investment ranges in its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, so there is no single cost figure that applies to every buyer. A new Standard Territory is estimated at $200,538 to $246,807, a new Express Territory at $170,538 to $216,807, and a qualifying Conversion Franchise at $38,088 to $231,758. The official U.S. franchise cost page currently displays only the Standard Territory range and $59,900 franchise fee; the other two formats appear in the 2026 FDD and should not be blended into the Standard figure. Official HOODZ startup-cost information.
These are total Item 7 ranges, not cash-on-hand requirements and not just the Initial Franchise Fee. Each total includes an Additional Funds allowance of $10,000 to $30,000 for the first three months, but excludes an owner's salary or draw and losses after that initial period.
Source: HOODZ International, LLC, 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20-29; issuance date March 30, 2026.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: HOODZ International, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company and subsidiary of BELFOR Franchise Group, LLC. Document: U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 30, 2026. Formats: Standard Territory, Express Territory, and Conversion Franchise. Cost research uses Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, and 17. Information and official web pages were checked July 19, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked Item/page references. Corporate context is also available through the official HOODZ franchise-opportunities page.
Read the endpoints as disclosure boundaries rather than a bundled vendor quote. The low figure does not promise that every minimum assumption will apply to the same operator, and the high figure does not cap every possible bill. Home-office eligibility, existing equipment, local insurance pricing, supplier availability, payroll choices, taxes, delivery charges, and credit terms can move independently. A buyer should therefore ask for written support for each assumption that materially changes the cash due before opening.
A useful review separates three questions. First, which payments are required to secure the rights and materials supplied under the agreement? Second, which third-party bills must be paid before operations can begin? Third, which reserves remain available after opening rather than being consumed during setup? That separation prevents a common budgeting error: treating a screening threshold, a financed asset, or a working reserve as though it pays every obligation. It also makes competing quotations comparable. Each quote should cover the same equipment scope, tax and delivery treatment, payment schedule, warranty, and required specifications. Where a line can be zero, the buyer should document the precise assumption that produces zero instead of simply adopting the lowest endpoint. Where a line is variable or conditional, the budget should record the trigger and responsible payee rather than inserting an unsupported midpoint.
Interpretation: Express lowers the Standard total by exactly $30,000 because its base Initial Franchise Fee is $30,000 lower; the remaining Standard and Express Item 7 line items are the same. Conversion economics depend heavily on the discounted fee, reduced Initial Package, and whether an existing vehicle already meets HOODZ specifications. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20-29.
Why are the Standard, Express, and Conversion ranges different?
The primary differences are the territory-based Initial Franchise Fee and the amount of equipment a Conversion Franchise can reuse. A Standard Territory starts with 1,600 to 2,000 Retail Food Service Customers, or RFSCs, while an Express Territory starts with 750 to 1,000 RFSCs. Both base fees increase by $30 for each RFSC above the base ceiling. Standard Territory size is capped at 3,000 RFSCs; Express is capped at 1,599 RFSCs. A Conversion Franchise is available only to an existing hood-cleaning business that has generated at least $100,000 in annual sales in each of its two most recent fiscal years and meets the documentation conditions in Item 5.
| Format | Paid to franchisor or affiliates | Base fee | Cost contract |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Territory | $82,900 | $59,900 | Includes the $23,000 Initial Package; base territory is 1,600-2,000 RFSCs. |
| Express Territory | $52,900 | $29,900 | Includes the $23,000 Initial Package; base territory is 750-1,000 RFSCs. |
| Conversion Franchise | $8,490-$67,925 | Varies | Discounted fee and potentially reduced package, vehicle, and communications costs. |
Source: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 9-12; Item 7, pp. 20-29.
Item 5 discounts the Initial Franchise Fee according to the existing business's verified annual sales and offers a one-time Re-Branding Credit for approved vehicle graphics and required items used within six months. The sales bands below determine the discount only; they are not a forecast for the franchised operation.
The Conversion Initial Package may be reduced at HOODZ's discretion to a minimum $2,500 package, but HOODZ may require the full $23,000 package. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 11-12.
What is included in the estimated initial investment?
Item 7 covers signing payments, training expenses, the service vehicle, initial staffing, insurance, office and technology costs, optional premises costs, licenses, small tools, and Additional Funds for the first three months. Standard and Express use the same line-item estimates except for the Initial Franchise Fee. Conversion changes four figures materially: the Initial Franchise Fee, Initial Package Fee, vehicle with up-fitting, and GPS/data communications.
Agreement, training, vehicle, and initial labor
The vehicle is the largest single fixed-asset estimate for a new Standard or Express operator. HOODZ permits purchase or lease, but Item 7 reports the full vehicle cost, including up-fitting. Delivery, applicable sales tax, and licensing are excluded.
| Item 7 cost entity | Standard / Express | Conversion | Timing or qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $59,900 / $29,900 | $5,990-$44,925 | Due at signing. For Conversion, the $5,990 low end is the disclosed signing payment after the Tier Five discount and financing; availability is uncertain because Item 10 conflicts. |
| Initial Package Fee | $23,000 | $2,500-$23,000 | Due at signing; sales tax is additional. |
| Food and lodging while training | $1,800-$2,500 | $1,800-$2,500 | As incurred for two attendees sharing one room; transportation is excluded. |
| Vehicle with up-fitting | $94,000-$99,000 | $6,000-$99,000 | As incurred; Conversion low end assumes a compliant existing vehicle needing up-fitting and wrapping. |
| Full-time Service Technician, first 3 months | $7,010-$13,219 | $7,010-$13,219 | Through normal payroll; low end assumes the Managing Owner works with the technician. |
| Insurance, first 3 months | $2,300-$4,750 | $2,300-$4,750 | Evidence is required before training; carrier and local requirements affect price. |
Office, communications, and operating systems
A HOODZ office may be home-based. If commercial space is used, Item 7 assumes roughly 300 to 400 square feet; Item 11 requires the approved office site to contain at least 300 square feet and meet applicable storage, fire, and safety requirements.
| Item 7 cost entity | Standard / Express | Conversion | Cost basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Telephone Fee | $0-$150 | $0-$150 | Existing device at low end; separate line and equipment at high end. |
| Mobile phone or tablet | $120-$360 | $120-$360 | At least one mobile device per vehicle. |
| High-speed internet, anti-virus software, and email | $267-$477 | $267-$477 | As incurred through third parties. |
| Computer System | $0-$2,875 | $0-$2,875 | $0 assumes an existing computer meets HOODZ System Standards. |
| Uniform cleaning/delivery | $0-$540 | $0-$540 | Estimate covers service for two to three people. |
| GPS/data communications | $60-$111 | $20-$37 | Monthly cost under a 36-month contract. |
| Accounting software | $81-$135 | $81-$135 | Monthly; QuickBooks Online is currently required. |
Premises, credentials, permits, tools, and working capital
The low end assumes several categories are unnecessary, particularly when the approved office is home-based. IKECA membership is strongly recommended rather than required by the FDD; if a franchisee elects active membership, a Certified Exhaust Cleaning Specialist credential is required under the FDD's description. Current credential structure can be checked on the official IKECA certification page and the official IKECA membership page.
| Item 7 cost entity | All formats | When it applies | Important limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| IKECA annual membership | $0-$1,245 | Annually if elected | Strongly recommended, not required by HOODZ Item 7. |
| IKECA certification fee | $0-$395 | Before CECS examination if applicable | Subject to change; separate preparation and renewal costs may exist. |
| Rent, first 3 months | $0-$2,400 | If commercial space is leased | No real-estate purchase cost is included. |
| Leasehold Improvements | $0-$1,200 | If rented space needs work | Landlord contribution and local conditions affect the cost. |
| Security and utility deposits | $0-$950 | If required by landlord or utility | These are the principal Item 7 amounts that may be refundable. |
| Licenses and Permits | $0-$600 | Before opening as required locally | May include home-occupation requirements. |
| Small Tools and Equipment | $2,000-$3,000 | Before opening | Specifications and approved vendors may change. |
| Additional Funds, first 3 months | $10,000-$30,000 | During initial operations | Already included in the official Item 7 total. |
Sources for the three cost groups above: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20-29; Item 8, pp. 29-34; Item 11, pp. 36-47.
Additional Funds are not an extra amount to add to the headline total. The $10,000-$30,000 allowance is already inside every Item 7 range and covers the first three months of payroll for operating and customer-service employees, direct mail, auto maintenance and gasoline, and office overhead. It excludes the owner's salary or draw.
Required-supplier costs remain variable after opening. Item 8 identifies BELFOR Holdings, Inc. (BHI), a HOODZ affiliate, as the only approved supplier for specified Initial Package items, including branded apparel, tools, cleaning supplies, and safety equipment. Replacement and additional cleaning supplies must be purchased from designated sources; ZEP, or the then-current vendor, is the required chemical supplier. The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed ongoing dollar allowance for these purchases, so they are not resolved by the Item 7 total.
When is the money paid?
The largest franchisor payments occur at signing, while the vehicle, insurance, travel, staffing, premises, permits, and technology costs are paid as the business prepares to open. The FDD estimates a 90- to 120-day interval from signing and payment to opening, subject to training, vehicle delivery, and office readiness, and generally requires operations to begin within four months of signing.
The total range should not be read as a single invoice or as permission to choose every low-end assumption independently. Some amounts are paid under the agreement, some are vendor quotations or payroll obligations, and some are reserves consumed over time. A usable cash calendar therefore needs to show the payee, due date, refundability, tax treatment, and whether a quote assumes purchase, lease, financing, or an asset already owned. This distinction is especially important for the vehicle and conversion scenarios: changing the timing of a payment does not remove the underlying obligation, and an approved loan does not automatically cover sales tax, delivery, licensing, travel, deposits, or later operating shortfalls.
Sign the Franchise Agreement
Pay the applicable Initial Franchise Fee and the Initial Package Fee, plus sales tax on the package. The fees are described as fully earned and non-refundable when paid, except to the extent a written financing arrangement changes the immediate payment.
Complete Jumpstart requirements
Arrange the approved office site, vehicle, permits, required insurance, communications, computer, and initial marketing activities. Proof of insurance must be provided beforetraining, and all fees due to HOODZ must be paid before Business Manager and Technical Operations Training begins.
Attend training and finish launch purchases
Training itself is provided to the Managing Owner and approved Designated Manager without an additional tuition fee, but the franchisee pays transportation, food, lodging, and employee travel costs. The Item 7 training estimate covers food and lodging for two attendees sharing one hotel room, not transportation.
Open and fund the first three months
Use the Additional Funds allowance alongside the separate Item 7 estimates for technician payroll, insurance, rent, communications, and other listed costs. An owner's draw and operating losses after month three require separate planning.
Begin weekly and conditional payments
Royalty and the Technology Fee are normally drafted weekly. A Brand Marketing Fee may be imposed if the fund is established, while training, NORA, supplier-testing, transfer, default, and other fees arise only when the relevant event occurs.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 9-12; Item 6, pp. 12-19; Item 7, pp. 20-29; Item 11, pp. 36-47. The FTC explains that a prospective franchisee generally must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate: FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise.
Which HOODZ fees continue after opening?
The core continuing charges are the Royalty and Technology Fee. The Royalty begins at 10% of Gross Sales and is drafted weekly for the preceding week. Lower rates may apply after the business exceeds specified calendar-year Gross Sales thresholds: 9% after $1 million, 8% after $2 million, and 7% after $3 million, subject to the carry-forward and requalification rules in Item 6. The current Technology Fee is $60 per week and includes HOODZ Software.
| Ongoing cost entity | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 10%, 9%, 8%, or 7% of Gross Sales | Weekly automatic debit | Rate is governed by calendar-year thresholds and compliance rules; minimum payments can apply after year one. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $60/week | Weekly automatic debit | May change based on third-party vendor cost plus up to a 15% administration fee. |
| Brand Marketing Fee | Up to 1% of Gross Sales | If the fund is established | Item 6 says weekly deduction; Item 11 says quarterly contribution, so current collection timing should be confirmed. |
| Local Marketing Requirement | No fixed monthly minimum disclosed | As required locally | HOODZ recommends spending above 3% of Gross Sales and may require quarterly mailings to at least 1,600 RFSC locations. |
| Convention, regional meeting, or additional training | Up to $1,000/person/event | Before the event | Travel, lodging, and all meals are not included. |
| NORA Fee | Currently none; up to 5% of Gross Sales | When a national or regional account is managed | Applies to Gross Sales generated by the managed account. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 12-19; Item 11, pp. 38-42.
Interpretation: if a HOODZ Business fails the applicable minimum-sales requirement during a consecutive three-month period, the fixed weekly Royalty continues until the requirement is met for three consecutive months. A multi-territory operator is subject to the minimum for each Territory. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 17-18, and Item 12, pp. 52-53. Bars use a $550 scale and plot the official weekly payment amounts.
The Brand Marketing Fee basis is clear—up to 1% of Gross Sales if the fund is established—but the 2026 FDD gives conflicting collection timing. Item 6 describes weekly deduction and Item 11 describes quarterly contributions. The buyer should obtain the current debit schedule in writing before signing.
How much liquid capital and net worth does HOODZ require?
The official U.S. franchise website publishes a $50,000 liquid cash requirement and a $200,000 net worth requirement. These are screening qualifications, not substitutes for the $170,538-$246,807 new-territory Item 7 ranges and not proof that $50,000 is sufficient cash to complete a launch. The official site was checked July 19, 2026: HOODZ financial requirements.
Liquid Capital, Net Worth, and Estimated Initial Investment measure different things. Liquid capital is accessible funding; net worth is assets minus liabilities; Item 7 is the franchisor's estimated launch-cost range. The reviewed sources did not state a separate minimum for non-borrowed funds.
Can discounts or financing reduce the signing-day cash?
Several Item 5 discounts can reduce the Initial Franchise Fee, but none reduces every Item 7 category. The 2026 FDD provides a 20% VetFran discount on the Standard or Express base fee for an honorably discharged U.S. veteran's first franchise, equal to $11,980 for Standard or $5,980 for Express. HOODZ also discloses a $2,500 first-responder discount on the first Territory; it cannot be combined with the veteran discount. The official franchise site confirms that a veteran incentive is offered, and the International Franchise Association lists HOODZ's 20% incentive: official HOODZ veteran information and IFA HOODZ profile.
- Multiple Territories at initial purchase
- Item 5 discounts each additional Franchise Agreement by $10,000 for a Standard Franchise or $5,000 for an Express Franchise. HOODZ states that it does not currently offer multi-unit development agreements.
- Related Franchisee
- A qualifying franchisee of a related brand may receive 25% off the then-current Initial Franchise Fee for up to two Standard Franchises purchased together; the discount cannot be combined with other discounts.
- Existing HOODZ franchisee
- After at least one year in good standing, the disclosed fee for an additional Territory is $49,900 Standard or $24,900 Express; the Initial Package may be reduced or waived at HOODZ's discretion.
- Conversion Franchise
- The tiered fee reduction and Re-Branding Credit shown above may be combined with a reduced package at HOODZ's discretion.
Financing is disclosed, but the current sources conflict
The 2026 FDD contains an internal contradiction. Item 10's opening paragraph says franchisor financing may be offered for a Standard Territory and is not offered for Express or Conversion. The table and following narrative on the same pages instead describe financing of up to 50% of the Initial Franchise Fee for Standard, Express, or Related Franchises and up to 75% for a Conversion Franchise, with a 9% stated rate, a possible credit-based rate up to 15%, a term up to 36 months, no prepayment penalty, and personal guaranties by owners and spouses.
Official web pages also differ. The franchise homepage says in-house and third-party financing are available, while the official cost page says BELFOR Franchise Group does not provide financing directly and refers only to third-party relationships. Because these statements cannot be reconciled from the published sources, in-house financing availability by format is unverified. A prospective buyer should require a written term sheet identifying the lender, eligible format, down payment, annual percentage rate, term, guarantors, default provisions, and whether the financed amount changes signing-day payment. Source conflict: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 35-36; official homepage financing summary; official cost-page financing statement.
The FDD also says HOODZ assists with information for SBA 7(a) and 504 loans and names FranFund, Benetrends, and Directed Equity as suggested third-party sources. This is not approval or guaranteed funding. Program descriptions are available from the SBA 7(a) loan program and SBA 504 loan program.
Which later fees can materially change the ownership cost?
Renewal, transfer, technology replacement, compliance, and default events can produce costs outside the initial Item 7 range. The first five-year renewal has no Renewal Fee, Initial Franchise Fee, or Initial Package Fee, but a second or later renewal requires a Renewal Fee equal to 10% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee. Renewal can also require equipment replacement, upgrades, remodeling, repairs, or renovations to meet then-current System Standards.
- Transfer
- $9,900 per Territory to a new franchisee or $3,000 to a current franchisee. If HOODZ uses a broker at the seller's authorization, actual broker cost is described as approximately 10% of the sale price or $30,000, whichever is higher.
- Ownership-entity change
- $500 when the legal entity owning the Franchise changes, except for one initial transfer before business begins.
- Computer hardware upgrade
- HOODZ may require hardware upgrades no more than twice during the initial term, at a cost not to exceed $3,000 per required upgrade.
- Audit
- Estimated inspection or audit cost of $2,500-$6,000, plus understated Royalty, interest, late fees, and a 10% penalty on understated Gross Sales when the understatement exceeds 3%.
- Late or failed payment
- Late Payment Fee: 5% of the amount due or $50 per week, whichever is greater. NSF Fee: $50 per occurrence. Interest: the lesser of 18% per year or the legal maximum.
- Reporting and administration
- Late Report Fee: $20 per week. Administrative Fee: currently $500 per transaction when an amendment, consent, or otherwise unpriced service is required.
- Collection and insurance
- Collection Fee: up to 35% of gross amounts collected for a delinquent customer. If required insurance lapses and HOODZ buys coverage, the franchisee must reimburse the cost and premiums on demand.
- Non-compliance
- For out-of-territory conduct, the greater of $500 or the customer invoice per incident; other non-compliant acts may be charged up to $5,000 per instance.
- Convention non-attendance
- Currently $1,000 if required attendance is missed without prior written permission; the first Convention Allowance may be applied to this fee.
- Transferor balances and legal liability
- At transfer closing, the transferee may have to pay unpaid Royalties, purchases, late charges, interest, NSF charges, and other amounts owed by the seller. Attorneys’ fees, court costs, litigation expenses, and indemnification obligations vary by circumstance.
- New product or supplier testing
- A minimum $500 review/testing fee plus costs; the FDD says the amount is refunded if the proposed item or supplier is approved for the entire System.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13-19; Item 11, p. 41; Item 17, pp. 59-64.
What does the official range leave unresolved?
The Item 7 range is a defined estimate, not a complete ceiling on all cash needs. It omits owner compensation, personal living expenses, operating losses after the first three months, and real-estate acquisition. It also excludes transportation to initial training, sales tax on the Initial Package, vehicle delivery, vehicle sales tax and licensing, and variable travel and living costs for later meetings or training. Local permits, insurance, lease terms, and equipment availability can move actual costs within or beyond individual line-item estimates.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
The practical decision is format-specific: use the matching 2026 Item 7 range rather than the website headline alone. The largest variables are territory size, the required package, the service vehicle, initial staffing, and the first-three-month reserve. Published liquidity and net-worth thresholds are screening measures rather than a launch budget. Financing remains the main unresolved issue; any reduction in signing-day cash is conditional until the lender, eligible format, down payment, rate, term, and guaranties are documented in writing.