How Much Does a HomeSmart International Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a HomeSmart franchise cost in 2026?

HomeSmart International, LLC estimates a total initial investment of $65,500 to $205,000 for one Standard Franchise - Central Office. The 2026 estimate covers the opening of one conventional real estate brokerage office and the first three months of operations. It includes the $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $25,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds.

$65,500-$205,000

Estimated Initial Investment for a Standard Franchise - Central Office under the 2026 FDD. The range includes first-three-month working capital but does not provide a separate total for a Branch Office.

Source: 2026 HomeSmart International, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 7, pp. 11-13.

Data basis: Legal franchisor: HomeSmart International, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 10, 2026. Applicable format: Standard Franchise - Central Office, with separate Branch Office obligations when negotiated. Primary cost disclosures: Items 5, 6 and 7; supporting cost provisions: Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 21, 2026.

The public brand reference used here is the official HomeSmart U.S. franchise information. The FTC franchise buying guide explains how Items 5, 6 and 7 divide initial and ongoing costs. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official HomeSmart-controlled public domain, so all FDD Item and page citations below are intentionally unlinked.

Three different capital questions

The published total, the amount due when the contract is signed and the amount a buyer should keep available are not interchangeable. The total combines many payments made to different parties over time. The signing payment is only one part of that total. Available cash is a separate question because a lender or landlord may require reserves, deposits or borrower equity beyond what appears in the opening table.

This distinction matters when comparing proposals. A low contract payment does not make the overall project low-cost, and a high asset value does not prove that the buyer has cash available to meet near-term invoices. The useful comparison is a dated schedule showing the payee, refundability, due date and funding source for each obligation. That schedule should reconcile to the disclosed total without treating the operating reserve as an extra charge.

The range also should not be converted into a single assumed figure merely for convenience. The document gives boundaries, not a forecast for a particular city or borrower. A location-specific plan becomes supportable only after outside quotes, negotiated terms and written approvals are available.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $20,000 Due in a lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Branch Office Fee $10,000 Per Branch Office, due immediately before that office opens.
Additional Funds $25,000-$50,000 Budgeted for the first three months of operations.
Royalty Fee $500 minimum Monthly formula can be higher based on agents, completed sides and specified fees.
Technology Fee $250/month Per RealSmart Broker™ System instance.
MLS/RETS Fee $250/month Estimated amount per MLS, beginning at the Opening Date.
Disclosure references: Items 5-7, pp. 4-13.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the $65,500-$205,000 range?

The 2026 Item 7 range combines the franchise contract payment, training travel, technology, office premises, launch spending, deposits and three months of Additional Funds. The Initial Franchise Fee is fixed; most of the $139,500 spread between the low and high totals comes from computer systems, promotional spending, premises, equipment, signage and working capital.

Agreement, training and opening purchases

Item 7 expenditure Low High Payment timing
Initial Franchise Fee $20,000 $20,000 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement
Travel and living expenses while training $1,500 $5,000 As incurred during training
Computer hardware and software $5,000 $30,000 At delivery
Supplies $1,500 $5,000 At delivery; before opening and as needed
Opening promotional expense $3,500 $25,000 As incurred at varying times
Exterior Office Signage $500 $10,000 At delivery

Premises, deposits and operating runway

Item 7 expenditure Low High Payment timing
Office Lease $1,000 $10,000 As negotiated and incurred
Leasehold Improvements/Construction $0 $20,000 Negotiable with landlord and contractors
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment $5,000 $20,000 As invoiced; payment terms negotiable
Insurance, Security and Utilities Deposits, Dues, Licenses $2,500 $10,000 As incurred
Additional Funds $25,000 $50,000 As incurred during the first three months
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-13.
How to read the range

The endpoints are not a promise that every buyer can open at the low figure, and they are not a menu from which a buyer may select only the cheapest assumptions. The lower total combines the lower bound of every listed line, while the upper total combines the upper bound of every line. A particular project may land between those endpoints, but the disclosure does not identify a midpoint, an ordinary case or a most-likely budget.

For planning, each broad line should be converted into a written quote or contract term before the buyer relies on it. The comparison should use the same site, opening schedule and operating plan throughout. Mixing a low estimate for one location with a high estimate from another produces a number that is not supported by the document. The published total should remain the control figure until all project-specific inputs can be reconciled to it without adding a line twice.

Payment timing

When is the opening cash paid?

The first required payment is the $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee at signing, but most of the capital is paid later as training, office, technology, insurance and launch obligations are completed. The operating allowance is then spent over the initial three-month period rather than remitted as one fee.

1

Sign the contract. Pay the nonrefundable $20,000 signing fee. Under the FTC Franchise Rule, the FDD generally must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or franchisor-related payment; the FTC franchise disclosure resources explain that protection.

2

Secure the premises and regulatory approvals. Complete the required licensing work, negotiate the lease, and obtain location approval. Those payments are included in the disclosed opening range.

3

Complete Initial Training. HomeSmart includes training for two people, but the franchisee pays their airfare, lodging, meals, transportation, salaries, benefits and incidental expenses. Additional attendees trigger a separate training fee.

4

Pay vendors and prepare the premises. Computer Hardware and Software, supplies, Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, Insurance, deposits, opening promotion and signage are paid as delivered, invoiced, negotiated or incurred.

5

Open only after pre-opening conditions are met. The 2026 FDD says training, permits, insurance, equipment, supplies, inventory, the Computer System and amounts due to HomeSmart must be in place before the Central Office or a Branch Office opens.

6

Use the operating allowance after opening. It covers the disclosed early-period categories rather than creating a second amount to add above the published total.

Disclosure references: Items 5, 7 and 11, pp. 4, 11-13 and 17-24.
How the official low and high totals distribute by payment phase

The two stacked columns group every Item 7 line into five payment phases. This is a derived calculation; each column reconciles exactly to the official total.

Signing and agreementLow $20,000High $20,000
Training travelLow $1,500High $5,000
Equipment and deliveryLow $7,000High $45,000
Premises and launchLow $12,000High $85,000
First three monthsLow $25,000High $50,000

Interpretation: At the low end, Additional Funds is the largest phase. At the high end, premises and launch obligations reach $85,000 and become the largest phase.

Derived from 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-13. The five groups sum to $65,500 at the low end and $205,000 at the high end.
Why the sequence matters

The opening budget is paid through several channels rather than in one closing. Some amounts are due to the franchisor, some are paid to outside vendors, and some remain available for early operations. A buyer therefore needs a dated cash schedule, not only a total. The schedule should distinguish refundable deposits from nonrefundable payments, identify when vendor invoices become binding, and show which amounts must be available before revenue-producing activity can begin.

Timing also affects contingency planning. A delay may extend rent, professional-service or staffing commitments without changing the disclosed total. Conversely, postponing an order may delay approval to open. The practical control is a written milestone plan that ties each payment to a contract, approval or delivery and reserves the early operating amount for its stated period instead of using it to cover pre-opening overruns.

FDD caveat

The 2026 FDD describes more than one opening deadline. Item 7 refers to opening the Central Office within 120 calendar days unless HomeSmart approves more time, while Item 11 describes a typical one-to-four-month period and also states a six-month outside deadline unless HomeSmart consents in writing. The signed contract and any written extension should be checked before scheduling later payments.

Disclosure references: Items 7 and 11, pp. 12 and 22-23.
Office format

How do Central Office and Branch Office costs differ?

Item 7 publishes one complete range only: the Standard Franchise - Central Office. A Branch Office uses a $10,000 Branch Office Fee instead of another $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee, but the FDD says the remaining opening costs will be similar and does not publish a separate Branch Office total.

Central Office

Official Item 7 total: $65,500-$205,000 for one Office and the first three months.

Contract fee: $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee at signing.

Premises rule: A conventional office outside a personal residence, used solely for the HomeSmart Real Estate Brokerage Business.

Branch Office

Contract fee: $10,000 per Branch Office immediately before its Opening Date.

Other opening costs: Described as similar to Central Office opening costs, but no separate total is disclosed.

Development obligation: The number and schedule of Branch Offices are negotiated and recorded in Attachment 1 to the Franchise Agreement.

Format implication: This is not disclosed as a home-based or fully virtual format. A short-term location requires written permission, cannot exceed six months, and does not establish a Territory; the FDD says an Office Location must be secured for at least one year to establish a Territory.

Disclosure references: Items 5, 7 and 11, pp. 4, 11-12 and 22-23.
Format difference

Do not treat $10,000 as the all-in cost of an additional office. It is only the contract charge for that opening; the related site and launch obligations may recur, and no separate all-in range is stated.

The absence of a second published total creates a practical limit on comparison. A buyer cannot subtract the difference between the two contract charges and assume the result is the budget for another location. Site selection, landlord terms, local approvals, the condition of the premises and the amount of duplicated infrastructure all remain project-specific. The correct approach is to build a separate schedule for each approved address while keeping the one published range attached only to the format for which it was issued.

The negotiated development schedule also matters. Opening several locations close together may cause deposits, vendor commitments and early operating needs to overlap. Spacing them farther apart may reduce simultaneous cash demands but can create different contractual timing issues. Because the document does not quantify either pattern, the buyer should obtain a written schedule that identifies the required opening date for each address and the consequence of delay.

A temporary site should be treated as a bridge, not as proof that a permanent-site obligation disappears. The approval period and territorial effect are separate questions. Before relying on a short-term arrangement, the buyer should confirm in writing what must be completed before the permanent location is accepted and which expenses would have to be paid twice.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after opening?

HomeSmart's continuing cost structure is not a single percentage of Gross Revenue. The Royalty Fee uses a flat agent-and-transaction formula with a $500 monthly alternative floor, while Technology, MLS/RETS, domain, local advertising and optional service obligations use separate bases.

Continuing fee Amount or disclosed basis Timing Cost interpretation
Royalty Fee and Franchise Marketing Accrual Fund Contribution Greater of: (i) $12 per agent per month plus $120 per completed side; or (ii) $500 per month; plus $25 per rental, referral or lease fee collected by the Broker Monthly, on or before the 10th The FMAF Contribution equals 4% of the per-transaction flat fee and is already incorporated into the flat-fee Royalty model.
Annual Membership Fee Amount not established in the 2026 FDD If initiated, after each agent begins association and annually in that month Agents are expected to pay; the franchisee must pay on demand if an agent does not.
Local Advertising Varies; no fixed minimum is disclosed As incurred Must follow local marketing standards and HomeSmart requirements.
Technology Fee Currently $250 per month per RealSmart Broker™ System instance Monthly, on or before the 10th HomeSmart may increase the fee and may charge separately for individual features or components.
Optional System License and Support Fee $0-$3,000 per month per System instance As incurred Varies with volume and requested services.
MLS/RETS Fee Estimated at $250 per MLS per month Monthly from the Opening Date, on or before the 10th Local MLS testing or connection charges may be additional.
Domain Name Fee HomeSmart's expense to secure and maintain the franchise-specific domain Annually or by domain registration term The disclosed basis is reimbursement at cost.
Lead Services Variable transaction split by source or program Immediately at closing of each applicable transaction The franchisee retains a portion and the remainder goes to HomeSmart.
Disclosure references: Items 6 and 11, pp. 4-10 and 20-24.
Budgeting formula-based charges

A recurring schedule should be modeled by payment basis rather than converted into an unsupported annual estimate. Start with the fixed floor, then list every driver that can change the invoice: headcount, completed transactions, connected systems, data feeds, selected services and event-specific charges. This keeps a minimum from being mistaken for a cap and prevents a percentage component from being applied to the wrong denominator.

The same schedule should identify who receives each payment and the date it is due. Charges paid to a vendor or local organization can change independently from amounts collected by the franchisor. Where the document says a figure may increase or remains unset, the budget should carry an explicit verification flag rather than a guessed number. That approach preserves the official basis while making later changes visible.

Source conflict

The official HomeSmart franchise page, checked July 21, 2026, describes its proprietary software platforms as available “at no additional cost.” The 2026 FDD separately discloses the $250 monthly Technology Fee per System instance and permits separate feature or component charges. For capital planning, the FDD fee should remain in the budget unless HomeSmart provides a written reconciliation of the website wording.

Conditional charges

Which fees are triggered by expansion, renewal, transfer or noncompliance?

Several material charges arise only when a specified event occurs. They are outside the routine monthly fee schedule and can become payable before a Branch Office opening, training, transfer, renewal, audit, enforcement action or remedial service.

Branch Office opening

$10,000 per Branch Office, due immediately before the Office opens.

Additional Assistance

$500-$1,000 per person per day plus travel, lodging and meals; payable 10 days after billing.

Additional training attendees

$500 per person for four days or more, or $250 per person for three days or less; payable before training.

Seminars, Conventions or Programs

Estimated conference fee of $500-$1,000 per person per event, plus materials estimated at $100; travel and living costs are separate.

Transfer Fee

20% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee plus 20% of the then-current Branch Office Fee for each Branch Office; due before transfer acceptance.

Successor Franchise Fee

50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee plus 50% of the then-current Branch Office Fee for each Branch Office open or will be open at the beginning of the Successor Term.

Audit

Cost of the audit plus a 5% per month late charge on the understated amount if an audit finds at least a 1% understatement of fees due for any month.

Late payment and late report

Late Fee of 5% of the unpaid amount, Interest of 1.5% per month subject to state law, and a Late Report Fee equal to the greater of 5% of the reported amount or $100 per violation.

Enforcement and indemnification

All accounting, attorney and other enforcement or defense costs, plus variable indemnification obligations, can be charged as incurred or at claim resolution.

Computer training or insurance cure

Required additional computer training varies by course. If required insurance is not maintained, HomeSmart may procure it and charge the cost plus a 15% administrative fee.

Disclosure references: Items 6, 8 and 17, pp. 5-10, 16 and 30-32.
Event-cost control

These amounts should not be spread automatically across the opening budget because each depends on a later event. The useful planning method is a trigger register: record the event, the calculation rule, the notice period, the payee and the document that proves the obligation was satisfied. That register separates charges a buyer expects to incur from charges that arise only after a change, delay or default.

Percentage formulas also require a dated reference amount. A renewal or transfer calculation tied to the then-current fee cannot be finalized from today's schedule, and a compliance charge depends on the amount involved when the event occurs. The uncertainty is contractual, not an invitation to substitute a current percentage with a fixed dollar estimate.

Range limits

What costs remain variable or unresolved?

The Item 7 total is a nationwide estimate, not a site-specific quote. HomeSmart places several obligations inside broad ranges and leaves other amounts to the lease, local licensing rules, suppliers, insurers, MLS providers and the Operations Manual.

Additional Funds
$25,000-$50,000 for the first three months. The amount includes Office Lease expense, Royalty Fees, advertising, payroll, deposits, license fees, business entity organization, prepaid expenses, accounting and professional fees, and other operating expenses.
Taxes
The FDD expressly excludes taxes from the Additional Funds estimate. State and local tax obligations must be checked separately.
Owner compensation
The FDD mentions payroll costs but does not separately state whether compensation for the owner or Designated Business Manager is included.
Required-source purchases
Item 8 estimates that products and services purchased from HomeSmart, Approved Suppliers, Designated Suppliers or sources meeting HomeSmart standards will represent approximately 25%-50% of establishment costs and 25%-50% of operating costs.
Insurance coverage
Item 8 requires at least $1,000,000 per occurrence/$2,000,000 aggregate Commercial General Liability coverage and a $1,000,000 Cyber Policy, but it does not disclose a separate premium range.
Replacement and upgrades
HomeSmart can require Computer System upgrades, maintenance and new technology costs. Item 7 covers the initial system, not every later replacement or upgrade.
Disclosure references: Items 7, 8 and 11, pp. 12-16 and 23-24.
Cost implication

The $0 low end for Leasehold Improvements/Construction does not mean premises work is unnecessary. It means the disclosed range permits a scenario in which the selected Office requires no separately charged buildout. Office condition, lease terms and HomeSmart's appearance standards determine whether that line remains near $0 or moves toward $20,000.

Funding and qualifications

Does HomeSmart provide financing or publish liquidity requirements?

No franchisor financing is disclosed. Item 10 states that HomeSmart does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. The 2026 FDD also does not publish a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold.

The published opening range therefore should not be described as a cash-on-hand requirement. A lender may require equity, collateral or reserves that are separate from the FDD total. The SBA loan-program overview and SBA Lender Match information describe independent funding channels, but neither guarantees approval or changes HomeSmart's Item 10 disclosure.

Written qualification criteria can be requested through the official HomeSmart Franchise Sales contact. Any threshold supplied during the sales process should be dated and distinguished from the opening estimate.

Disclosure references: Items 10 and 7, pp. 17 and 13.
Funding distinction

The amount needed to complete the project, the amount a lender expects the borrower to contribute and the amount of readily available cash are different questions. The disclosure answers only the first. A financing proposal may add underwriting conditions, reserves, collateral or guarantees, and those conditions may change by borrower even when the project budget does not.

For a clean comparison, the buyer should place the official opening estimate in one column and lender-specific requirements in another. A loan approval, if obtained, changes the source of funds; it does not reduce the underlying obligation or turn a conditional approval into a franchisor promise.

Buyer verification

What should be verified before relying on the official range?

The most important verification work is to convert the nationwide Item 7 range into a written, location-specific payment schedule without replacing the official disclosure with an unsupported estimate.

  • Confirm the current FDD and state status. Ask for every amendment and verify whether the offering is registered, filed or exempt in the applicable state. The New York franchise registration guide illustrates how state renewal and amendment filings work.
  • Obtain Attachment 1. The negotiated Territory, Branch Office count and opening schedule determine whether the $10,000 Branch Office Fee and duplicate premises costs apply.
  • Reconcile the opening deadline. Resolve the 120-day, one-to-four-month and six-month language in writing before signing a lease or ordering equipment.
  • Request the current technology schedule. Confirm the number of RealSmart Broker™ System instances, MLS connections, optional licenses, feature charges and planned upgrades.
  • Price the required Office and insurance contract. Verify lease term, deposits, buildout, signage, CGL, Cyber Policy, brokerage licenses and association dues using written third-party quotes.
  • Separate investment from liquidity. Ask HomeSmart and any lender for written Liquid Capital, Net Worth, equity, collateral and reserve requirements; none is stated in the 2026 FDD.
  • Test the Additional Funds assumptions. Confirm whether the $25,000-$50,000 allowance covers the intended staffing plan, owner compensation, local advertising, taxes and all first-three-month technology and MLS charges.
Capital synthesis

What is the practical capital picture?

The verified 2026 starting range is $65,500-$205,000 for one Standard Franchise - Central Office. Site preparation, the technology setup, launch spending and the operating allowance drive most of the spread. An additional office requires a separate contract payment and another site budget, but no complete second-location range is published. Continuing charges remain outside the opening total, and no minimum cash or balance-sheet threshold is stated.