How much does a Goosehead Insurance franchise cost?
The 2026 Goosehead Insurance Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $66,000 to $111,500 to open one standard U.S. Goosehead Insurance Agency business. That total includes the $50,000 initial franchise payment and $6,000 to $20,000 for the first three months of operation. It is not the same as a liquid-capital requirement, and it does not include an estimate of the owner’s or employees’ salary.
Applies to: one standard Goosehead Insurance Agency business under the FDD issued March 16, 2026.
Important inclusion: the three-month operating allowance is already inside the range; do not add it again.
Source: 2026 Goosehead Insurance Agency, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document, cover and Item 7, pp. 15–18. The official Goosehead franchise FAQ displays the same $66,000–$111,500 range.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Goosehead Insurance Agency, LLC. Ultimate parent: Goosehead Insurance, Inc. FDD issued March 16, 2026. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, 12 and 17. The investment table covers the standard agency business; incentive and employment-transition programs alter certain payment terms, while a branch location does not receive a separate opening-cost estimate.
Current U.S. offer status was checked July 17, 2026. A Wisconsin franchise registration record identifies Goosehead Insurance Agency, LLC, shows registered status and lists an effective date of March 17, 2026.
What are the key cost figures?
The decision-critical figures are the upfront franchise payment, the working-capital allowance, the revenue-based fees and the monthly technology charge.
Standard single franchise; generally due before initial training.
Amount the 2026 FDD cover says must or may be paid to Goosehead or an affiliate.
Included in Item 7; covers the first three months.
Initial-term Gross Revenues / renewal-term Gross Revenues, subject to disclosed rules.
Monthly: first user, plus each additional user.
Of Gross Revenues; not currently required in the 2026 FDD, but Goosehead may impose it.
As checked July 17, 2026, the official agency ownership page still displayed a lower $60,000–$108,500 range, while the 2026 FDD and the current official FAQ show $66,000–$111,500. For a purchase decision, use the current FDD range and obtain written confirmation of any revised figures.
What is included in the $66,000–$111,500 investment?
The total combines the $50,000 franchise payment with office occupancy, signage, equipment, required insurance, licenses, professional advice, training travel and three months of startup funds. Goosehead provides one investment range rather than separate totals for retail, sublet or branch formats.
The chart excludes the fixed $50,000 franchise payment so the variable categories remain readable. Bar endpoints show each disclosed low and high amount on a $0–$20,000 scale.
Interpretation: Additional Funds and training expenses create the widest variable ranges after the fixed franchise fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–18.
| Expenditure | Amount | When due | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise payment | $50,000 | Before attending initial training | Goosehead |
| Lease, improvements, furniture, fixtures and utilities | $0–$6,000 | Before opening, as arranged | Landlord, vendors and utility providers |
| Rent | $1,000–$4,000 | As arranged | Landlord |
| Signage and media | $0–$2,500 | Before opening | Goosehead and vendors |
| Office equipment and startup supplies | $5,000–$8,000 | Mostly before opening; first Technology Fee on the first day of the applicable month | Goosehead and vendors |
| Expenditure | Amount | When due | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Insurance | $2,000–$5,000 | As incurred; if purchased through Goosehead, first-year payment is due before opening | Goosehead or approved providers |
| Licenses | $500–$1,000 | According to applicable statute or ordinance | Government agencies |
| Professional fees | $1,000–$5,000 | As arranged | Lawyer, accountant or other vendor |
| Training expenses | $500–$10,000 | Before opening | Travel, lodging and related vendors |
| Operating funds — three months | $6,000–$20,000 | As incurred during the first three months | Employees, vendors and suppliers |
Source for both tables: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–18. The official business operations and requirements page separately confirms that a state insurance license, business entity filing and professional office space are launch requirements, but it does not replace the Item 7 amounts.
When is the cash paid?
Goosehead’s cost schedule is front-loaded around location acquisition, training and opening, followed by the first technology charge and three months of operating expenses. The sequence below reflects the standard agency path; incentive amendments can change the franchise-fee step.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 6–7 and 15–18; Item 11, pp. 26–27.
Can the $50,000 initial payment change or be deferred?
Yes. The standard fee is $50,000, but the 2026 FDD identifies a veteran discount, a Corporate Agent Launch installment structure and an MBA Incentive Program deferral. These provisions change the payment or its timing; they do not automatically erase the other opening costs.
Eligibility and written amendments control. A buyer should not apply one pathway’s terms to another.
Standard single franchise
$50,000 paid in full before initial training. It becomes non-refundable once the franchisee or personnel begin training.
Honorably discharged U.S. veteran
20% discount on the Initial Franchise Fee for an eligible new Franchised Business, subject to service and honorable-discharge evidence.
Corporate Agent Launch
Two $25,000 installments: the first before opening and the second on the first anniversary. Goosehead may waive the second installment for an agreed performance metric and may waive the first for an approved launch outside Texas.
MBA Incentive Program
The $50,000 fee is deferred and paid through Goosehead’s retention of Net Revenues from renewal business. The fee is waived if the franchisee reaches 300 policies in force during the first full year.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7. Goosehead’s official MBA Development Program page describes the deferred fee and launch fund; the FDD supplies the controlling payment, waiver and default terms.
A reduced or deferred initial payment is not a revised opening budget. Lease, equipment, insurance, licenses, training expenses and Additional Funds still require separate funding unless Goosehead provides a written amendment that expressly changes those obligations.
Which fees continue after the agency opens?
The principal continuing charges are the Royalty Fee, a monthly Technology Fee, required insurance premiums and any Marketing Contribution Goosehead later activates. The royalty calculation is unusual because new business, renewal business and the Minimum Royalty use different rules.
| Fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee — New Business | Greater of 20% of Gross Revenues on Approved Insurance Products in their initial term or the applicable Minimum Royalty | Collected through the monthly Net Revenues process | Gross Revenues exclude Premiums and Policy Fees and are net of specified commission reversals and Agency Fee refunds |
| Royalty Fee — renewals and re-writes | 50% of Gross Revenues on renewal-term Approved Insurance Products and defined re-writes | Collected through the monthly Net Revenues process | No annual dollar estimate is disclosed |
| Marketing Contribution | Up to 2% of Gross Revenues | Same as Royalty Fee, on demand | Not currently required in the 2026 FDD; Goosehead may allocate it among Brand Fund, Regional Fund and local marketing |
| Technology Fee | $590 for the first user and $420 for each additional user | Monthly | May increase by up to 15% of the then-current amount in a calendar year during the initial term |
| Required business insurance | First-year Item 7 estimate of $2,000–$5,000; later premiums vary | As billed by Goosehead or approved providers | Coverage requirements may expand; certain additional coverages depend on vehicles, employees and other circumstances |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–15, and Item 7, pp. 15–18. The official franchise technology page describes the comparative rater, referral tools, digital quoting and Salesforce environment associated with the required technology system; the monthly fee amount comes from the FDD.
Bars are scaled to the highest disclosed monthly minimum, $6,000. The Minimum Royalty starts six months after the Commencement Date. It is a floor, not an additional charge on top of a higher percentage-based New Business royalty.
New to Goosehead
Corporate Agent Launch
Interpretation: the Corporate Agent Launch amendment carries a substantially higher Minimum Royalty ladder than the schedule for a franchisee new to Goosehead. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–12.
Which fees apply only when an event or problem occurs?
Item 6 contains several transaction, compliance and default-related charges that are not part of the standard opening budget. They matter because a transfer, relocation, audit, additional training request or default can create a separate payment obligation.
- Transfer Fee — $5,000 or $50,000. $5,000 for a qualifying transfer to an existing system franchisee; $50,000 for a transferee outside the system. Certain family, convenience-of-ownership and long-term-employee transfers may avoid the fee but still require reimbursement of legal and accounting costs.
- Book of Business Valuation — $1,000. Due before Goosehead prepares a requested valuation.
- Relocation Fee — $500. Due when the franchisee requests approval to relocate the Franchised Business.
- Securities Offering Fee — $10,000 or actual expenses, whichever is greater. Due if the franchisee conducts a securities offering.
- Agency Staffing Program Placement Fee — $2,000 to $6,000. Depends on the role placed and whether the franchisee attended Build Your Business Training.
- Replacement or Additional Training — up to $400 per day. Separate travel, lodging, meals and transportation may also apply.
- Product Evaluation Fee — reasonable inspection cost plus actual testing cost. Triggered by a request to approve an unapproved product, service, carrier, broker or supplier.
- Audit Fee. Underpayment plus 2% interest per month and Goosehead’s audit cost; the FDD says audit costs are not expected to exceed $10,000.
- Inspection correction cost. Goosehead’s costs and expenses to correct uncured deficiencies; inspection-related costs are not expected to exceed $5,000.
- Non-Compliance Fees — $500, $1,000 or $1,500. Escalates for the first violation and repeat violations.
- Costs and Attorneys’ Fees — variable. Payable when Goosehead enforces or terminates the Franchise Agreement after default, or enforces an applicable Promissory Note.
- Lost Future Royalties — formula-based. Average monthly Royalty Fees for the prior 12 months, or the Minimum Royalty if greater, multiplied by the lesser of 36 or the months remaining in the term.
- Taxes — reimbursement amount. Covers certain sales, gross-receipts or similar taxes imposed on payments to Goosehead.
- Overdue-payment interest — internally inconsistent disclosure. The Item 6 table states 18% per year, while Note 6 states 2% per month, each subject to applicable law.
Obtain written clarification of the overdue-payment interest rate before signing. The 2026 FDD’s Item 6 table and Note 6 state different rates, so neither figure should be silently substituted for the other.
The Franchise Agreement also permits Goosehead to adjust fixed-dollar amounts annually for inflation using the Consumer Price Index, except for the Initial Franchise Fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–15.
Why can the initial investment vary by $45,500?
The spread comes mainly from the office arrangement, training travel, number of technology users and the first three months of operating needs. A sublet office and limited travel can move costs toward the low end; a retail location, external signage, more users or MBA-related travel can move them upward.
- Office and rent
- Goosehead expects 200 to 1,200 square feet. The investment table assumes monthly rent of $500 to $2,000 and includes a security deposit plus the first month’s rent. Local rent may be higher or lower.
- Retail signage
- A retail location requires external signage and tends toward the high end. A non-retail office generally needs internal signage estimated at $500 to $1,000.
- Technology users
- The investment table assumes one to two computers or users and includes one month of the first-user technology charge. More users increase both startup equipment and monthly Technology Fees.
- Training travel
- No tuition is charged for initial training, but the franchisee pays travel, living expenses and employee wages. MBA participation can add two weeks of training; the optional APEX Program can make part of training virtual for qualifying agencies.
- Required insurance
- The $2,000–$5,000 estimate covers one year of currently required insurance. Vehicles, employees, commercial appointments or expanded coverage requirements can change the amount.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–18, and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8 and 11. Official office and licensing context is available on Goosehead’s operations requirements page.
What do Additional Funds cover?
The $6,000–$20,000 operating-funds line is already included in the total and covers startup expenses during the first three months.
- Included operating categories: payroll taxes and expenses, Royalty Fees and other Goosehead fees, rent, repairs and maintenance, advertising and marketing, bank charges, state taxes, depreciation or amortization and miscellaneous expenses.
- Excluded compensation: the estimate does not include the owner’s or employees’ salary. A franchisee drawing salary or hiring a Manager should revise the capital plan.
- Not an extra add-on: The three-month allowance forms part of the $66,000–$111,500 total and should not be counted twice.
- Not a guarantee of sufficiency: the three-month period is a franchisor estimate, not a stated ceiling on the amount a particular agency may need.
Does Goosehead disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing requirements?
The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum for the standard agency offer. The $66,000–$111,500 investment range therefore should not be presented as a disclosed cash-on-hand threshold, and Net Worth should not be treated as spendable cash.
The financing disclosure says Goosehead does not finance the standard initial investment and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. The exception is the MBA Launch Fund: eligible participants may receive a $20,000 Launch Loan after completing the initial MBA program and before the separate onsite training. The note has a stated 0% annual percentage rate and 12-month term and is forgiven on the first anniversary of opening if no defined Launch Loan Breach occurs. If a breach occurs, the principal is due within 15 days and unpaid principal accrues interest at 1.5% per month, subject to applicable law. If the borrower is a legal entity, each owner must personally guarantee the note. The FDD’s special-risk page also states that a spouse must guarantee the franchisee’s financial obligations even without an ownership interest.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 23–24. The official MBA program description confirms a deferred franchise fee and launch fund, but financing approval, forgiveness and repayment conditions are governed by the signed documents.
The MBA page’s phrase “zero upfront investment” should not be read as a universal zero-capital offer. The current FDD still identifies licenses, entity formation, travel, office, equipment, insurance and operating expenses unless a written program document expressly pays or waives those items.
Do branch locations, transfers and renewals have separate cost rules?
Yes, but the 2026 FDD does not publish a second opening-cost total for a branch location. An approved branch carries no additional initial franchise fee, yet the franchisee may incur premises, technology, staffing and training costs that are not quantified as a separate branch investment range.
- Branch Location: no initial fee is charged, but additional training fees may apply if the proposed Agency Principal or Manager has not completed the training program. The branch shares the original Franchise Agreement term.
- Transfer: Item 6 discloses a $5,000 or $50,000 Transfer Fee depending on the transferee, plus possible legal and accounting reimbursements.
- Relocation: a $500 Relocation Fee is due when approval is requested, before considering the lease, build-out, signage and moving costs for the new premises.
- Renewal: Item 17 allows two additional 10-year terms if conditions are met, including modernization to then-current system standards. The FDD does not state a fixed Renewal Fee or quantify the modernization cost.
- Fixed-dollar inflation: Goosehead may adjust fixed-dollar Franchise Agreement amounts annually using the CPI-U, except the Initial Franchise Fee.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–15; Item 12, pp. 34–35; Item 17, pp. 39–41.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the cost range?
The current FDD provides a defined national estimate, but the final cash plan depends on the signed fee pathway, local office choices, staffing and technology count, insurance requirements and any branch or transfer plan.
- Confirm in writing whether the standard, veteran, Corporate Agent Launch or MBA Incentive Program terms apply, including every waiver condition and payment date.
- Obtain the approved office standard, lease deposit, build-out quote and signage requirement for the proposed location.
- Confirm the number of computers and users at opening and recalculate both equipment costs and the monthly Technology Fee.
- Price the required Commercial General Liability, Professional Liability and Cyber Risk coverage, plus any vehicle, workers’ compensation, umbrella or property coverage.
- Ask whether the Marketing Contribution has been activated since the March 16, 2026 FDD and request the most recent fee schedule or quarterly update.
- Resolve the overdue-interest discrepancy and identify any fixed-dollar fees already adjusted for inflation.
- For a branch, transfer, relocation or renewal, obtain a separate written budget because the opening-cost table does not quantify all later-event costs.
The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how Items 5–7 address initial and ongoing costs. The FTC Franchise Rule requires the disclosure document and its 23 information items; buyers should request the most recent FDD and any applicable updates before signing or paying.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
For one standard Goosehead Insurance Agency business, the verified 2026 opening investment is $66,000 to $111,500. The range already includes the $50,000 initial franchise payment and $6,000 to $20,000 for three months of startup operations. The most important variables are office configuration, training travel, technology-user count, insurance and early operating needs.
After opening, the buyer must separately plan for the Royalty Fee, the Minimum Royalty schedule, the monthly Technology Fee, required insurance and any future Marketing Contribution. Goosehead does not disclose a standard cash-liquidity or balance-sheet threshold, and it does not provide a separate branch-location investment range. Those gaps should be resolved through the current FDD, written program amendments and location-specific quotes rather than by substituting a directory estimate or an older webpage figure.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Goosehead Insurance Franchise?
- How Does Goosehead Insurance Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Goosehead Insurance Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Goosehead Insurance Franchise?
- How Much Does a Goosehead Insurance Franchise Owner Make?