How Much Does a Good Neighbor Pharmacy Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Total capital

How much does a Good Neighbor Pharmacy cost?

The 2026 Good Neighbor Pharmacy Franchise Disclosure Document states an Estimated Initial Investment of $43,797 to $556,405 for an existing pharmacy and $278,797 to $575,205 for a start-up pharmacy. Those are separate GNP Premier Pharmacy formats, not one blended range. The existing-pharmacy range depends heavily on the store's current fit-out, systems and inventory; the start-up range assumes a new pharmacy must fund premises, equipment, inventory and a larger three-month operating reserve.

$43,797-$575,205
Across the two official formats. The 2026 FDD gives an existing-pharmacy range of $43,797-$556,405 and a start-up-pharmacy range of $278,797-$575,205. Additional Funds for the first three months and three months of the GNP Premier Fee are already included in each Item 7 total. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20-24.

Data basis: AmerisourceBergen Drug Corporation (ABDC), a subsidiary of Cencora, Inc.; GNP Franchise Disclosure Document 2026, issued December 18, 2025; existing and start-up GNP Premier Pharmacy formats; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17; checked July 23, 2026. A matching public copy of this FDD was not located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD Item and page citations are shown as unlinked text. The official Good Neighbor Pharmacy information site describes the current U.S. program, and the Wisconsin active franchise filing list shows AmerisourceBergen Drug Corporation registered through December 19, 2026.

Existing pharmacy $43,797-$556,405 2026 FDD Item 7 total; existing fit-out and inventory drive the range.
Start-up pharmacy $278,797-$575,205 2026 FDD Item 7 total for a new pharmacy.
Initial Franchise Fee $0 ABDC says it does not charge an Initial Franchise Fee.
GNP Premier Fee $599/month Required monthly fee; three months, or $1,797, are included in Item 7.
Additional Funds $40,000-$150,000 $40,000-$50,000 existing; $120,000-$150,000 start-up; covers three months.
Capital thresholds Not disclosed No Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum appears in the 2026 FDD.
Fee structure

Is there an initial franchise fee or royalty?

There is no Initial Franchise Fee, percentage Royalty Fee or required Advertising Fund contribution disclosed in the 2026 FDD. That does not make the opening cost nominal. ABDC or its affiliates may receive substantial payments for Opening Inventory, GNP Private Label Products, signage, optional project management and the required GNP Premier Fee.

The cost contract has three separate cash channels

$0 Initial Franchise Fee The brand license is not priced through a conventional upfront franchise fee.
$599 monthly The required GNP Premier Fee begins after signing for an existing pharmacy or after opening for a start-up pharmacy.
Up to $279,497 to ABDC The cover states $1,797-$279,497 is payable to ABDC or affiliates for an existing pharmacy and $81,797-$165,297 for a start-up pharmacy.
Cost implication

The Initial Franchise Fee is not a proxy for cash required. Inventory and the existing condition of the pharmacy are much larger cost entities than the brand-entry fee in this system. Source: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 15-16; Item 7, pp. 20-24.

Item 7 investment

What does the total initial investment include?

Item 7 includes premises and leasehold work, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, pharmacy and Point of Sale systems, signage, optional services, Insurance, Opening Inventory, GNP Private Label Products, licenses, launch marketing, Additional Funds and three months of the GNP Premier Fee. The ranges below preserve the two official formats.

Premises, systems and launch infrastructure
Item 7 category Existing pharmacy Start-up pharmacy Payment timing and payee
Leasehold Improvements / Real Property Lease and Leasehold Improvements $0-$50,000 $50,000-$110,000 As agreed; third-party contractors.
Leasehold Improvement Management Services $0-$1,500 $0-$1,500 As agreed; ABDC.
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment $0-$50,000 $25,000-$75,000 As agreed; third-party vendors.
Pharmacy Management System Hardware and Software $0-$15,000 $0-$15,000 As agreed; third-party vendors.
Point of Sale System Hardware and Software $0-$35,000 $0-$35,000 As agreed; third-party vendors. The system is optional, although some Available Programs require connectivity.
Interior and Exterior Signage $0-$25,000 $0-$25,000 As agreed; ABDC or approved vendors.
Fees for Optional Goods and Services, first 3 months $0-$1,908 $0-$1,908 As agreed; applicable vendors.
Insurance $1,500-$5,000 $1,500-$5,000 As agreed; third-party insurer. The FDD expects little or no incremental cost for many existing pharmacies.
Inventory, licenses and initial operating runway
Item 7 category Existing pharmacy Start-up pharmacy Payment timing and payee
Opening Inventory, excluding GNP Private Label Products $0-$250,000 $75,000-$125,000 ABDC; net 10 days after semi-monthly billing.
GNP Private Label Products $0-$1,200 $5,000-$12,000 As agreed; ABDC.
Pharmacy and Business Licenses $500-$3,000 $500-$3,000 As agreed; licensing authorities. The FDD expects minimal incremental expense for an existing licensed pharmacy.
Additional Advertising and Marketing $0-$15,000 $0-$15,000 As agreed; vendors. The FDD describes this as recommended launch promotion, not a Brand Fund payment.
Additional Funds, first 3 months $40,000-$50,000 $120,000-$150,000 As agreed; operating vendors and service providers.
GNP Premier Fee, first 3 months $1,797 $1,797 ABDC; represents three monthly payments of $599.

Source for both tables: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20-24. The table uses the Item 7 figures as printed; internal conflicts are addressed below rather than silently corrected.

Additional Funds

Additional Funds are already inside the Item 7 totals. For a start-up pharmacy, the $120,000-$150,000 estimate covers three months of phone, utilities, rent, security, waste removal, professional services, office systems and miscellaneous expenses. The FDD does not provide the same line-by-line breakdown for the $40,000-$50,000 existing-pharmacy reserve and does not state that owner compensation is included.

Range drivers

Which cost categories create the largest swings?

Opening Inventory is the largest disclosed maximum for an existing pharmacy, while Additional Funds, Opening Inventory and premises work dominate the start-up high end. Existing pharmacies can begin at $0 in many categories when their current premises, equipment and systems already satisfy ABDC standards.

ABDC states that a required Pharmacy Management System must connect with participating vendors and InSite from ABDC. Item 11 estimates the pharmacy-management and optional Point of Sale systems together at $0-$55,000, with typical third-party support contracts of $2,000-$5,000 per year. Store projects may also use the official Pharmacy Transformation Services program, while signage and trade-dress options are described on the official in-store experience page.

Four figures require written reconciliation

  • Existing-pharmacy Opening Inventory: Item 5, p. 15 states $0-$25,000, while Item 7, p. 20 states $0-$250,000. The cover's affiliate-payment maximum aligns with the larger Item 7 amount, but the documents do not explain the difference.
  • Existing-pharmacy Item 7 high total: the printed line-item maximums add to $504,405, while Item 7 and the cover state $556,405. The disclosed total is $52,000 higher than the sum of the printed maximums.
  • Leasehold Improvement Management Services: Item 5, p. 16 describes a $1,500-$3,000 base fee, while Item 7 uses $0-$1,500 for both formats.
  • Signage Purchase Match Amount: Item 5 describes a dollar-for-dollar match up to $2,500 within 180 days. The current official site describes a 50% match up to $2,500 during the first six months. The current written program terms should control.

The $504,405 subtotal and $52,000 difference are derived calculations from the printed Item 7 maximums. No disputed figure has been replaced with an assumed correction.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

Most premises, equipment, signage, licensing and service costs are paid as agreed with the applicable vendor, while ABDC inventory is billed on distribution terms and the GNP Premier Fee is billed monthly in arrears. The 2026 FDD does not present one closing-day payment.

At or after signing the GNP Premier Agreement An existing pharmacy begins the program without an Initial Franchise Fee. ABDC says monthly and applicable initial program charges are invoiced in arrears, typically on the 25th of the month.
During premises and system preparation Leasehold work, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, systems, Insurance, licenses and optional project services are paid as arranged with ABDC or third parties.
Before a start-up pharmacy opens The start-up must fund required premises, equipment, systems, signage and initial stock. Item 5 says start-up inventory payments occur before opening, subject to the distribution agreement terms.
After semi-monthly inventory billing Item 7 states Opening Inventory is due net 10 days after semi-monthly billing to ABDC. This timing can create a major near-opening cash requirement.
During the first three operating months Item 7 includes Additional Funds and $1,797 of GNP Premier Fees. For an existing pharmacy, the $599 monthly fee starts in the month after signing; for a start-up, it starts in the month after opening.
Payment timing

The Item 7 total is not the same as cash due to ABDC on one date. A buyer should map vendor deposits, build-out draws, inventory billing and the first three months of operating expenses against the actual opening schedule.

Ongoing and conditional fees

What fees continue after opening?

The required recurring franchisor charge is the $599 monthly GNP Premier Fee. The FDD also lists optional monthly patient-care and reconciliation services, variable project charges, Indemnification Costs and a Late Fee. It does not disclose a percentage Royalty Fee or mandatory national Advertising Fund payment.

Item 6 recurring and event-driven charges
Fee entity Amount or basis Timing When it applies
GNP Premier Fee $599/month Monthly Required. ABDC may increase it on 120 days' notice.
Claim Reconciliation Concierge Services $199/month Monthly Optional concierge service; self-service has no fee.
Outcomes Premium Solution $49, $129 or $249/store/month Monthly Optional modules. Rates through ABDC may increase by up to 5% annually; direct enrollment uses Outcomes' prevailing rates.
EnlivenHealth Treat Solution $100, $100 or $185/store/month Monthly Optional Essentials, Workflow or All-In bundles; additional transaction fees may apply.
Special Projects Varies As incurred; generally 15 days from invoice unless agreed otherwise Work outside a Term Sheet or other agreement.
Optional or Enhanced Services Varies As incurred, monthly or as agreed Selected enhanced services and reporting.
Indemnification Costs Varies As incurred Defense costs when ABDC or affiliates face liability related to operation of the pharmacy.
Late Fee Lower of 0.05% per day or the legal maximum While unpaid Applies to overdue payments; the FDD expresses 0.05% per day as 18%/360.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 17-19. Item 6 says fees are generally non-refundable. Available Program fees may change with 60 days' written notice, and the franchisee may terminate the affected program with 60 days' notice.

  • System support: Item 11 says third-party Pharmacy Management System support contracts typically cost $2,000-$5,000 per year, depending on system size and options.
  • Signage changes: Item 8 requires signage to remain compliant and states that later signage-standard changes may have to be implemented at the franchisee's expense.
  • Purchase Match repayment: terminating the Premier Agreement before the end of its first full 12-month period may require repayment of the Purchase Match Amount, except when termination follows an uncured ABDC default.
  • Renewal and transfer: Item 6 does not disclose a separate fixed Renewal Fee or Transfer Fee. Item 17 provides automatic two-year renewals subject to its conditions and requires ABDC consent for a franchisee transfer.
  • Initial training: Item 11 says ABDC does not currently offer initial training, so Item 7 contains no franchisor training fee or training-travel estimate.
  • Post-termination debranding: Item 17 requires discontinuing the Marks and Available Programs and removing Trade Dress; the FDD does not quantify that removal cost.
Capital qualifications and financing

Does Good Neighbor Pharmacy require liquid capital or offer financing?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. That absence does not establish that a pharmacy can qualify without lender, landlord, licensing, distribution-credit or working-capital review.

Liquid Capital
No minimum disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
Net Worth
No minimum disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
Non-Borrowed Funds
No minimum disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
ABDC financing
Item 10 says ABDC offers no direct or indirect financing other than payment terms in the ABDC distribution agreement.
Guarantee
ABDC does not guarantee a note, lease or other financial obligation.

The official Pharmacy Ownership Services page says acquisition advisors may provide connections to established banking partners, and the official buying-a-pharmacy page describes financial options for ownership transactions. Those statements are not a financing commitment for the GNP Premier franchise and do not replace Item 10.

FDD caveat

Because no formal liquidity threshold is disclosed, the practical cash requirement may be determined by the distribution agreement, inventory credit terms, lease, project contracts and the three-month operating reserve rather than by a published franchise qualification number.

Buyer verification

What should be verified before relying on the cost range?

A buyer should obtain a written, format-specific reconciliation of the Item 7 total before signing or paying. The FDD is current enough to establish the official ranges, but its internal differences make a pharmacy-specific budget and payment schedule essential.

  • Ask ABDC to reconcile the existing-pharmacy Opening Inventory conflict of $25,000 in Item 5 versus $250,000 in Item 7.
  • Request the arithmetic behind the $556,405 existing-pharmacy maximum and the unexplained $52,000 difference from the printed line-item maximums.
  • Confirm the current Leasehold Improvement Management Services price: Item 5 says $1,500-$3,000, while Item 7 caps the category at $1,500.
  • Obtain the current written signage match formula, eligible expenses, ordering deadline, installation deadline and repayment condition.
  • Confirm which Pharmacy Management System, Point of Sale System, support contract and Available Programs are mandatory for the proposed location.
  • Separate Item 7 Additional Funds from owner living expenses and compensation, which the FDD does not identify as included.

The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC Franchise Rule page provides the governing disclosure framework.

Decision summary

What is the clearest capital takeaway?

Use $43,797-$556,405 only for an existing licensed pharmacy and $278,797-$575,205 only for a start-up pharmacy. The Initial Franchise Fee is $0, but the GNP Premier Fee is $599 per month, inventory can be the largest opening obligation, and Additional Funds cover only the first three months. No Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum is disclosed. The most important unresolved issue is the existing-pharmacy high end: its Item 7 line items, inventory disclosures and stated total do not fully reconcile, so the final capital plan should be based on a written ABDC breakdown for the specific pharmacy.