How much does a GNC franchise cost in 2025?
A prospective U.S. franchisee should distinguish four separate GNC cost contracts. The July 18, 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document states that a New Franchise Store requires an estimated initial investment of $187,719 to $506,542, while a Conversion Store requires $112,719 to $463,042. The first New Franchise Store under an Area Development Agreement is estimated at $195,219 to $514,042, and adding an approved GNC Smoothie Bar to a Store is estimated at $32,000 to $65,000.
Within those totals, the cover states that $167,000–$435,000 for a new Store, $93,500–$391,500 for a conversion, $174,500–$442,500 for the first development Store, and $1,000 for the Smoothie Bar must be paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. Any Development Rights Fee is outside the first development Store total.
$187,719–$506,542
This is the 2025 FDD Item 7 range for a single New Franchise Store. The same disclosure separately states $112,719–$463,042 for a Conversion Store, $195,219–$514,042 for the first store under an Area Development Agreement, and $32,000–$65,000 for a Smoothie Bar add-on. These ranges are not interchangeable.
Source: GNC Holdings, LLC, 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 34–47.
Data basis: Legal franchisor: GNC Holdings, LLC. FDD issuance date: July 18, 2025. Applicable U.S. formats: New Franchise Store, Conversion Store, approved Smoothie Bar add-on, and the first New Franchise Store under an Area Development Agreement. Cost research uses Item 5 (pp. 24–27), Item 6 (pp. 27–34), Item 7 (pp. 34–47), and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Official public franchise information was checked July 20, 2026.
No matching 2025 FDD was found on GNC's public franchise-controlled pages, so FDD references in this article are unlinked Item/page citations. Current offer status and public qualification language can be checked through the official GNC U.S. franchise site and its market-availability page.
Initial fee reductions do not reduce the whole project cost. Item 5 states a $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee for an Existing Franchisee in good standing, a qualifying company employee, or an honorably discharged U.S. military veteran. The fee may also be adjusted when the contract term is shortened to match a lease. The remaining disclosed expenditures still apply according to the format and transaction.
The $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one line in the Estimated Initial Investment. For the new-store format, opening stock and build-out can each exceed that fee by a wide margin.
What is included in the New Franchise Store range?
The 2025 Item 7 total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, a possible Security Deposit, required technology, Signage, Fixtures, Construction and Other Store Costs, professional and Project Management Fees, Opening Inventory, insurance, training travel, one month of occupancy costs, and three months of Additional Funds. The total is not merely a store build-out estimate.
| Agreement, technology, and premises expenditure | 2025 New Store amount | When paid | Payee or basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $20,000 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement | GNC Holdings, LLC |
| Security Deposit | $2,500 | Upon signing, if required | Held by GNC without interest; subject to offsets and return terms |
| POS, peripherals, iPad, and peripherals | $3,500–$7,000 | At purchase or as required during the asset/build process | GNC; taxes and shipping are not included in the estimate |
| Computer and printer | $1,000–$2,000 | At purchase | Third-party vendor meeting GNC specifications |
| Signage | $8,500–$20,000 | At purchase or during construction | GNC or approved suppliers |
| Fixtures | $7,500–$38,000 | At purchase or during construction | GNC or approved suppliers |
| Construction and Other Store Costs | $35,000–$250,000 | At purchase or in construction-stage payments | GNC or a contractor |
| Pre-Construction Architectural and Engineering Consulting Fees | $5,000–$7,500 | As incurred | GNC-designated or approved consultants |
| Opening and operating-reserve expenditure | 2025 New Store amount | When paid | What the line covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Project Management Fee | $5,000 | As incurred | Ordering, logistics, coordination, layout, bidding, and carrying costs |
| Opening Inventory | $80,000–$85,000 | At purchase or during the asset/build process | Wholesale-cost opening order from GNC or approved suppliers |
| Utility Security Deposits | $1,500–$3,000 | As required by utility companies | Utilities, or GNC if the premises are subleased from GNC |
| Business and Workers' Compensation Insurance | $2,500–$10,500 | Before the Store opens | Qualified insurer or insurance broker |
| Training Expenses | $1,500–$3,000 | As incurred | Travel, lodging, and meals; initial training tuition is included in the franchise fee |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $3,000–$4,000 | As incurred | Cleaning, bathroom, office, and general opening supplies |
| Rent/Leasehold Space — one month | $1,219–$19,042 | Under the lease or sublease | Base rent and stated occupancy-related charges for one month |
| Additional Funds — three months | $10,000–$30,000 | As incurred after opening | Working capital for rent, licenses, deposits, insurance, replacement inventory, POS fees, and payroll |
Maximums only, measured against the $250,000 maximum for Construction and Other Store Costs. These maximums are not additive without the complete Item 7 assumptions and do not identify a usual outcome.
Interpretation: the new-store high end is most sensitive to construction, with opening stock the next-largest maximum among the categories shown. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 35–40.
The official total excludes compensation for the franchisee's time or labor and excludes finance charges or other costs of borrowing. The disclosure also says the figures are estimates and does not guarantee that startup expenses will stay within the stated range.
How do New, Conversion, Smoothie Bar, and development costs differ?
The disclosure separates these structures because each has a different cost contract. A conversion may begin with existing assets but can still require remodeling and a large opening-stock purchase; a Smoothie Bar is an approved add-on rather than a standalone retail location; and an Area Development Agreement adds an upfront development payment and obligations for future stores.
Scale runs from $0 to the $514,042 highest disclosed amount. Each bar shows the official low and high value for its own format or add-on.
Interpretation: the Conversion Store has the lowest disclosed entry point, but its high end remains close to the New Store high end because asset value, remodeling, and Opening Inventory vary by transaction. The Smoothie Bar amount is additional to the host Store. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 34–47.
New Franchise Store versus Conversion Store
The main numerical differences appear in Signage, Fixtures, Construction and Other Store Costs, Pre-Construction Architectural and Engineering Consulting Fees, Project Management Fee, and Opening Inventory. Shared Item 7 lines still apply unless the table identifies a format-specific amount.
| Cost entity | New Franchise Store | Conversion Store |
|---|---|---|
| Estimated Initial Investment | $187,719–$506,542 | $112,719–$463,042 |
| Initial Franchise Fee — new franchisee | $20,000 | $20,000 |
| Signage | $8,500–$20,000 | $0–$20,000 |
| Fixtures | $7,500–$38,000 | $0–$38,000 |
| Construction and Other Store Costs | $35,000–$250,000 | $35,000–$186,000 |
| Pre-Construction Architectural and Engineering Consulting Fees | $5,000–$7,500 | Not separately stated |
| Project Management Fee | $5,000 | $0–$5,000 |
| Opening Inventory | $80,000–$85,000 | $31,000–$113,000 |
GNC Smoothie Bar
$32,000–$65,000The 2025 Item 7 range includes a $1,000 Initial Franchise Fee, $8,000–$14,000 of equipment, $1,000–$2,500 of signage, $6,000–$20,000 of fixtures, $14,000–$25,000 of construction, and $2,000–$2,500 of opening inventory. Architectural/engineering and Project Management Fees may vary. The add-on requires approval and is not a standalone GNC franchise format.
Area Development Agreement
First Store: $195,219–$514,042The Development Agreement requires at least two New Franchise Stores. The Development Fee is at least $27,500 for a two-store commitment for a new franchisee, plus any Development Rights Fee set by GNC. That Development Rights Fee is not included in the Item 7 total. The FDD cannot estimate investment costs for future stores beyond the first.
Format difference: A buyer should not treat the conversion low end as a generally available “used-store price.” The disclosure states that asset value, goodwill, and required remodeling depend on the specific company-owned location being converted.
When is the GNC startup money paid?
The cash is paid in several stages rather than as one closing payment. The entry fee and any required deposit are due at signing, while construction-related purchases can be billed up front, through progress payments, or after construction depending on the billing decision and transaction documents.
Receive and review the FDD before paying. The 2025 disclosure states that a prospect must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buying guide explains the same federal timing protection.
Sign the Franchise Agreement or Development Agreement. A new franchisee generally pays the $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee in a lump sum. GNC may also require the $2,500 Security Deposit. Under an Area Development Agreement, the Development Fee is due in a lump sum at signing.
Fund design, permitting, and construction. Consulting and project-management charges are incurred as work proceeds. For inventory, signage, equipment, fixtures, and construction, the FDD gives an example schedule of 34% when the building permit is received, 33% at construction start, and the balance at completion. A different schedule may be used.
Purchase opening assets and stock. Equipment, Signage, Fixtures, and Opening Inventory are generally due at purchase or under the Asset Purchase Agreement for a conversion. Insurance must be in place before opening, and training travel and miscellaneous supplies are paid as incurred.
Carry the initial operating period. The investment table includes $10,000–$30,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. The reserve covers stated operating expenses including rent, licenses, deposits, insurance, replacement inventory, POS maintenance fees, and salaries.
Refund position: The Initial Franchise Fee and Development Fee are generally fully earned when the applicable agreement is signed and are non-refundable. Item 5 provides a limited death-related refund rule during the Pre-Opening Period. Other initial costs are generally non-refundable, subject to the specific exceptions and GNC's stated discretion. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 5, pp. 24–27.
Which fees continue after a GNC Store opens?
The principal continuing charges are a 6% Royalty Fee and a 3% National Advertising contribution, each calculated monthly on total gross sales as defined in Item 6. GNC also discloses recurring technology charges and optional or required Financial Services fees.
| Recurring fee | Amount or basis | Timing and condition |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of total gross sales | Monthly; gross sales exclude sales tax and substantiated ordinary-course refunds |
| National Advertising | 3% of total gross sales | Monthly; GNC may change the rate on 30 days' prior written notice |
| Store Technology Maintenance | $75 first register; $25 second register | Monthly; technology fees can be re-evaluated and changed |
| Network Connection | $233 per month | Monthly |
| Credit Card Processing — EMV/Secure | $16 per month | Monthly |
| In-Store Wi-Fi for GNC IT equipment | $18 per month | Monthly |
| Cellular Plan | $16 per month | Only if an iPad is used to ring sales at approved events outside the Store |
| Annual Inventory Fee | $540 annually | Charged if GNC requires the count and the Store does not participate in GNFS |
How does GNFS pricing work?
The franchisor may offer or require General Nutrition Financial Services, or GNFS. The monthly schedule is $345 for one Store; for subsequent Stores, the disclosed per-Store rate is $320 for the 2–5 Store tier, $295 for 6–9, $245 for 10–14, and $220 for 15 or more. The FDD says the franchisee pays the one-Store fee plus the applicable rate for each subsequent Store.
Included service: GNFS may cover data processing, accounting, financial statements, bank reconciliations, cash-flow statements, variance analysis, annual physical inventory, and payroll/HR services through an outside vendor.
Possible additions: Payroll service carries a pass-through charge, and it may add a monthly service charge of up to 10% of the monthly GNFS fee when required financial information is not provided by the 25th of the month.
Price-change risk: The franchisor reserves the right to change these financial-service and technology charges annually or more frequently under the stated terms.
The official GNC franchising FAQ separately confirms the current 6% royalty and describes the U.S. franchise fee and financial-approval requirements. Where website language is less detailed than Item 6, the 2025 FDD controls the fee definition used here.
Which GNC fees arise only after a specific event?
The disclosure contains material charges that do not occur every month but can create substantial future cash obligations. Transfer, relocation, remodeling, renewal, default, audit, insurance, sublease, and management events each have a separate fee trigger.
Transfer of a Store or ownership interest: the Franchise Agreement Transfer Fee generally will not exceed the then-current undiscounted Initial Franchise Fee for a new franchisee opening a New Store. Item 6 states reduced fees of $1,000 for certain related-entity or immediate-family transfers and $2,500 for a transfer of less than 50% of the ownership interest. Transfer of a Development Agreement carries a $10,000 fee.
Relocation and remodeling: a permitted Store relocation costs $10,000 or a greater amount set to cover processing costs. Remodeling is estimated at $25,000–$150,000 and may be required once every five years, at other times under the Franchise Agreement or lease, when buying an existing Store, for a Conversion Store, or with renewal.
Renewal: the initial contract term is generally five years, and the disclosed Franchise Renewal Fee is $12,500, due on or before expiration of the current term. A lower amount may apply when a shortened renewal term matches the remaining lease. Failure to give the required renewal notice may create a separate non-compliance fee of up to $1,000.
Payment and insurance failures: overdue amounts accrue a 1.5% monthly Late Payment Charge; an Insufficient Funds Fee is $30 per occurrence; and the franchisor may charge the full cost of replacement insurance plus an Insurance Reimbursement Fee of up to $500 per location or occurrence when required coverage is not maintained.
Audit, default, and operational intervention: an understatement of Gross Sales by 3% or more requires reimbursement of all audit costs. A Default Cure Fee can be up to $1,000 per occurrence. If it assumes operations for non-compliance, the Non-compliance Management Fee is 25% of total gross sales during that period, in addition to other fees. If it operates after death or disability, the Operating Management Fee is $2,000 per week.
Other special circumstances: Sublease Rent varies under the sublease; Indemnification and Attorneys' Fees vary with the circumstances; and review of a proposed securities offering costs $5,000. After a default termination, Liquidated Damages equal the greater applicable average monthly Royalty Fee over the disclosed two-year or 12-month lookback, multiplied by the months remaining in the term; a shorter operating-history rule applies if the Store has not been open for 12 months.
Ask for the then-current Franchise Agreement, current technology schedule, current remodeling standards, and a written estimate of any transaction-specific Transfer Fee, Relocation Fee, Development Rights Fee, or Conversion Store asset price. Several disclosed amounts can change or depend on contractual discretion.
How much liquid capital does GNC currently require?
Current public U.S. franchise materials require at least $240,000 in liquid assets for initial financial approval, supported by three months of current financial statements. This is a qualification threshold, not a statement that $240,000 will fund every format or cover the high end of the investment range.
Liquid Assets: at least $240,000, according to the current public franchise site and U.S. application checklist.
Proof of Funds: three months of current financial statements are requested with the application package.
Credit qualification: the official FAQ states a minimum credit score of 670 and at least two years of U.S. credit history for financial approval.
Net Worth: the application collects Net Worth information, but the reviewed 2025 FDD and current public qualification pages do not state a fixed minimum Net Worth threshold.
Personal Guarantee: The financing disclosure requires franchisees, relevant principals, and spouses to personally guarantee amounts owed to the franchisor or its affiliates under the disclosed agreements.
The current threshold and document request can be verified on the official GNC U.S. application page. Because Liquid Capital is cash or liquid assets available for qualification, it should not be confused with Net Worth or with the full Estimated Initial Investment.
Does GNC finance the initial investment?
No. Item 10 states that GNC does not offer direct or indirect financing, does not guarantee a note or lease, and does not finance ongoing operations or purchases of existing franchised Stores. Any outside financing remains subject to lender underwriting and the contract terms.
Item 10 discusses U.S. Small Business Administration programs as a possible third-party route, but an SBA guaranty is not a loan from the franchisor and does not guarantee approval. The current SBA 7(a) loan page explains that borrowers apply through participating lenders and must satisfy lender and program eligibility requirements.
GNC security interest: the Franchise Agreement and Product Sales Agreement grant the franchisor a security interest in specified Store assets, and GNC may file a UCC-1 financing statement.
Subordination: The franchisor may subordinate its security interest to support outside financing, but it is not required to do so.
Inventory revolving credit: Inventory credit may be extended to qualified franchisees at the franchisor's sole discretion. The disclosed payment term is currently net 50 with no stated interest rate, and the credit may be adjusted, held, or terminated. Because the limit uses rolling operating history, this facility is not disclosed as a source of opening capital.
What does the official investment range not fully resolve?
The 2025 investment range is detailed, but it cannot settle the final cost of a specific site or transaction. Construction condition, lease economics, market requirements, asset valuation, remodeling scope, insurance location, and the payment schedule remain material variables.
Site condition: an as-is space can require more work than a vanilla-shell location. The disclosure describes a typical 1,000–1,500 square-foot Store and bases its cost estimates on openings in strip centers; building code, landlord requirements, HVAC, plumbing, electrical, flooring, and local permitting can move the build-out line.
Occupancy costs: The estimate includes one month of base rent and related charges based on corporate strip-center experience, but lease deposits and ongoing obligations can differ materially for another market, a mall, or a downtown site.
Taxes, shipping, and upgrades: stated technology and Smoothie Bar equipment estimates exclude taxes and shipping. POS hardware is an ongoing investment, and the FDD estimates upgrades every three to five years while allowing earlier requirements.
Required purchases: Item 8 states that GNC is currently the only approved supplier of most Opening Inventory and of equipment, Fixtures, Signage, and materials for the standard Store design, subject to approved exceptions.
Inventory after opening: the FDD requires at least $60,000 of inventory at wholesale cost to avoid default risk, while also requiring an adequate mix and stock level under the required merchandising standards.
Owner compensation and financing costs: neither compensation for the franchisee's time or labor nor finance charges are included in the official total.
Item 8 estimates that required purchases and leases represent approximately 95% of establishment purchases and leases and approximately 100% of ongoing purchases or leases. That supplier structure makes a current, transaction-specific quote from the franchisor and approved suppliers especially important before signing.
What is the most useful way to interpret the GNC cost disclosure?
Use the specific 2025 cost contract that matches the proposed transaction rather than blending the formats. The new-store and conversion ranges overlap substantially; the first development location adds an upfront development payment and may carry an unestimated territorial-rights charge; and the Smoothie Bar figure is an add-on to a host Store.
The decisive distinctions are: the Initial Franchise Fee is not the total investment; the $240,000 Liquid Assets threshold is not a full project budget; Additional Funds are already included in Item 7; and the 6% Royalty Fee, 3% National Advertising contribution, technology charges, supplier obligations, and event-triggered fees continue or arise after opening.