How much does a Freddy’s Frozen Custard & Steakburgers franchise cost?
Freddy’s, L.L.C. discloses three separate 2026 Item 7 investment ranges: $854,834 to $1,302,000 for an In-Line Restaurant, $1,026,334 to $2,361,000 for an End Cap Restaurant, and $1,586,334 to $2,802,000 for a Standalone Restaurant. The ranges include the $35,000 License Fee and three months of Additional Funds, but they exclude land acquisition, financing charges, debt service, and owner draw or salary.
In-Line, no drive-thru: $854,834–$1,302,000. End Cap, with drive-thru: $1,026,334–$2,361,000. Standalone, with drive-thru: $1,586,334–$2,802,000. Source: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 13–16.
The 2026 FDD cover summarizes the In-Line maximum as $1,301,000, while the Item 7 table states $1,302,000. The Item 7 high-end line items add to $1,302,000, so this article uses the reconciled Item 7 total. Freddy’s public investment page also displayed older format totals when checked; the current FDD controls the financial analysis.
Why do the three Freddy’s formats produce different capital ranges?
The main difference is the premises contract. In the 2026 FDD, drive-thru configuration, building condition, site work, utility access, zoning, parcel characteristics, and construction conditions change the Construction, Remodeling, and Leasehold Improvements range from $350,000–$600,000 for an In-Line Restaurant to $950,000–$1,800,000 for a Standalone Restaurant.
In-Line Restaurant
Typically 2,400–3,000 square feet, without a drive-thru, and seating for 50–120 guests.
$854,834–$1,302,000End Cap Restaurant
Typically 2,400–3,400 square feet in a shopping center, with a drive-thru and seating for 50–120 guests.
$1,026,334–$2,361,000Standalone Restaurant
Approximately 3,000 square feet on a typical 0.8–1.0 acre parcel, with a drive-thru and seating for 50–120 guests.
$1,586,334–$2,802,000The bars use the same $0–$2,802,000 scale; their starting positions and lengths show both the minimum and maximum.
Official figures. Source: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 13–16. The formats are separate disclosures and should not be blended into a midpoint or “typical” cost.
Premises, systems, and physical assets
Construction and restaurant assets account for most of the stated difference between formats. Land purchase is not included because Freddy’s says it cannot estimate acquisition cost.
| Item 7 category | In-Line | End Cap | Standalone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Construction, Remodeling, and Leasehold Improvements | $350,000–$600,000 | $450,000–$1,500,000 | $950,000–$1,800,000 |
| Real Property Rent, one month | $5,667–$12,500 | $5,667–$15,750 | $5,667–$15,750 |
| Security Deposit | $5,667–$12,500 | $5,667–$15,750 | $5,667–$15,750 |
| Computer, Point of Sale Equipment, Outdoor Ordering System and Software, Security Cameras, Drive Thru Headsets | $41,000–$59,000 | $42,500–$59,500 | $42,500–$59,500 |
| Equipment, Furniture, Fixtures and Décor | $350,000–$400,000 | $400,000–$500,000 | $450,000–$600,000 |
| Building Signage, Interior Neon, LED Border | $15,000–$30,000 | $25,000–$60,000 | $35,000–$100,000 |
| Insurance | $2,000–$5,000 | $2,000–$7,000 | $2,000–$8,000 |
Source: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 13–15. “Construction, Remodeling, and Leasehold Improvements” includes the Construction Advisory Services estimate, but not land acquisition.
Contract, training, opening inventory, and working capital
These categories are smaller than the premises range but determine how much cash is due at signing, before opening, and during the first three months.
| Item 7 category | In-Line | End Cap | Standalone |
|---|---|---|---|
| License Fee | $35,000 | $35,000 | $35,000 |
| Training Costs and Expenses | $10,000–$40,000 | $20,000–$60,000 | $20,000–$60,000 |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $8,000–$15,000 | $8,000–$15,000 | $8,000–$15,000 |
| Opening Inventory and Supplies | $10,000–$25,000 | $10,000–$25,000 | $10,000–$25,000 |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $2,500–$8,000 | $2,500–$8,000 | $2,500–$8,000 |
| Additional Funds, three months | $20,000–$60,000 | $20,000–$60,000 | $20,000–$60,000 |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $854,834–$1,302,000 | $1,026,334–$2,361,000 | $1,586,334–$2,802,000 |
Source: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 13–16. Additional Funds are already included in the official totals and must not be added a second time.
Derived calculation: high-end Construction, Remodeling, and Leasehold Improvements divided by the same format’s high-end total.
Derived from official figures in Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 13–16: $600,000 ÷ $1,302,000; $1,500,000 ÷ $2,361,000; and $1,800,000 ÷ $2,802,000. These are high-end shares, not typical allocations.
What does Freddy’s charge before the Restaurant opens?
The fixed contract payment is the $35,000 License Fee. A first Restaurant also requires the $35,000 Construction Advisory Services Fee, reimbursement of advisory travel and other expenses, and $20,000–$60,000 of grand opening training expense. The advisory fee is included in Item 7’s construction estimate, and the opening-training estimate is included within the applicable Item 7 training allowance; neither should be added to the official total a second time. A multi-unit Development Agreement changes the timing and credit mechanics.
| Payment entity | Amount | When paid | How it is treated |
|---|---|---|---|
| License Fee | $35,000 | When the License Agreement is signed | Nonrefundable; reduced by applicable Development Fee credit and License Fee Deposit. |
| Development Fee | $15,000 × committed Restaurants | When the Development Agreement is signed | Nonrefundable; the amount allocated to each Restaurant is credited against that Restaurant’s License Fee. |
| License Fee Deposit | $20,000 | When the Development Agreement is signed | Applied to the first Restaurant’s License Fee. |
| Construction Advisory Services Fee | $35,000 plus expenses | During development under the advisory agreement | Mandatory for the ownership group’s first Restaurant; optional for later Restaurants. |
| Grand Opening Training | $20,000–$60,000 | Before and around opening as incurred | Covers Freddy’s staff travel and payroll expense for on-site opening support and is included within the applicable Item 7 training allowance. |
Source: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 6–8, and Item 7, pages 13–16.
The Freddy Simon Salute to Veterans Program reduces the License Fee by 25% for a qualifying veteran’s first Restaurant only. It cannot be combined with another incentive, and the waived amount becomes payable if the Restaurant is transferred or the License Agreement is terminated before the first opening anniversary. The International Franchise Association profile also identifies the 25% veteran fee reduction. FDD source: Item 5, pages 7–8.
When is the money paid?
The 2026 disclosures place the largest cash demands at agreement signing, site control, build-out, equipment installation, training, and opening. Royalty and marketing payments begin after the Restaurant generates Gross Receipts.
Development Agreement signing, when applicable
Pay the nonrefundable Development Fee of $15,000 multiplied by the committed number of Restaurants plus the $20,000 License Fee Deposit for the first Restaurant.
License Agreement signing
Pay the $35,000 License Fee, less the Development Fee credit and first-unit License Fee Deposit that apply to the Restaurant.
Site control and build-out
Rent, security deposit, advisory expenses, construction, leasehold improvements, equipment, signage, and computer systems are paid as agreed or before opening. The site must be approved before construction, and Freddy’s estimates six to 12 months from License Agreement signing to opening.
Training and opening
Pay employee wages and travel, lodging, meals, and transportation for initial training; fund opening inventory, insurance, permits, miscellaneous opening costs, grand opening advertising, and grand opening training expense.
First three months and ongoing operations
Use the Item 7 Additional Funds allowance for disclosed pre-opening and variable opening costs. Royalty, Marketing Fund, Technology Support, and any applicable local or cooperative advertising obligations follow the stated post-opening payment schedules.
Sources: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pages 6–16; Item 11, pages 26–27. The official Freddy’s franchise process page separately describes qualification, FDD delivery, territory confirmation, and Development Agreement finalization.
Which Freddy’s fees continue after opening?
The core continuing fees are a 5% Royalty on all Gross Receipts, the National Marketing and Advertising Fund contribution, and the $100 Technology Support Fee per 28-day operating period. Local and cooperative advertising can add further percentage obligations under the conditions stated below.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 5% of all Gross Receipts | Third day after each week in every 28-day operating period | Gross Receipts generally include all Restaurant-related gross revenue, excluding sales taxes collected for remittance. |
| National Marketing and Advertising Fund | 2.5% now; 3% on October 8, 2026 | Same weekly schedule | The ordinary cap is 3%, subject to the disclosed franchisee/company vote mechanism for a higher rate. |
| Technology Support Fee | $100 per 28-day operating period | Collected on the stated weekly schedule | May be modified on 30 days’ written notice. |
| Local Advertising | Up to 2% of Gross Receipts per year | As Freddy’s specifies | Marketing Fund contributions do not count toward this requirement. |
| Cooperative Advertising | 0%–2% of Gross Receipts per 28-day period | 15th day after each 28-day period, if implemented | No cooperatives existed at FDD issuance; cooperative payments count toward required local advertising. |
Sources: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 8–13, and Item 11, pages 23–25. The current 2.5% Marketing Fund rate is time-sensitive as of July 17, 2026.
Transaction, approval, training, and compliance triggers
These charges do not apply on the same recurring basis, but they can become material when a specific event occurs.
Late-payment, insurance, default, and enforcement exposure
Source: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 9–13. All listed Item 6 fees are described as nonrefundable; amounts that depend on circumstances cannot be converted into a reliable opening budget.
What does the Item 7 total not fully resolve?
The official range is not a complete financing plan. It excludes land purchase, finance charges, interest, debt service, and owner compensation, and it cannot eliminate site-specific construction, lease, wage, supplier, or opening-period uncertainty.
Sources: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14–16; Item 8, pages 16–18; Item 11, pages 22 and 25–26.
How much liquidity or net worth does Freddy’s require?
The April 30, 2026 FDD does not state a Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. Freddy’s official web pages displayed conflicting qualification figures when checked July 17, 2026, so a prospective franchisee should not treat either page as a final contractual requirement without written confirmation.
| Official page | Single-unit figures | Multi-unit figures | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| What It Takes | $400,000 liquid assets; $1,000,000 net worth | $400,000 liquid assets; $1,500,000 net worth | Higher published screening figures. |
| Franchise FAQ | $250,000 liquid assets; $750,000 net worth | $400,000 liquid assets; $1,000,000 net worth | Lower published screening figures. |
Liquid Capital is cash or readily available assets; Net Worth is assets minus liabilities. Neither equals the Total Estimated Initial Investment. Ask Freddy’s which qualification schedule applies to the proposed format, ownership group, development commitment, and market before relying on either public page.
Financing disclosure: Freddy’s does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. Outside borrowing may also trigger the Item 6 Loan Approval review fee of $1,000–$10,000 plus outside professional costs. Source: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 10, page 20, and Item 6, page 9.
Which later obligations can require additional capital?
Renewal, transfer, development extensions, technology upgrades, remodeling, relocation, and default can create costs after opening. These amounts are separate from the original Item 7 estimate unless the initial table expressly includes an opening payment.
- Renewal
- A 15-year renewal is available if conditions are met, including remodeling, paying amounts owed, signing the then-current License Agreement, completing training, and paying one-third of the then-current initial License Fee.
- Transfer
- A covered transfer generally requires Freddy’s approval and payment of the $5,000 Transfer Fee before consummation.
- Development extension
- A request for up to six additional months requires a $10,000 fee at least 30 days before the deadline; the fee is refunded if Freddy’s rejects the request.
- Remodel or image upgrade
- Freddy’s may require upgrades at the franchisee’s expense not more often than once every five years.
- Relocation
- Relocation requires consent. The FDD does not disclose a fixed Relocation Fee, so lease, construction, signage, system, and de-identification costs remain circumstance-specific.
- Early termination
- The fee formula can look back across as many as 36 consecutive 28-day operating periods and is in addition to other amounts payable.
Sources: Freddy’s 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 10–13; Item 11, pages 22–23; Item 17, pages 36–40.
What should a buyer verify before signing?
Start with the exact Restaurant format and site contract, then reconcile every payment to the current FDD, Development Agreement, License Agreement, lease, construction plan, equipment package, and financing proposal.
Capital takeaway: the lowest disclosed entry point is the In-Line range of $854,834–$1,302,000, while a Standalone Restaurant reaches $1,586,334–$2,802,000. The largest variable is the premises and construction package. The $35,000 License Fee, financial screening thresholds, and continuing percentage fees answer different questions and should not be treated as substitutes for the format-specific Total Estimated Initial Investment.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers Franchise?
- How Does Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers Franchise?
- How Much Does a Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers Franchise Owner Make?