How much does a Five Star Bath Solutions franchise cost?
The 2026 Five Star Bath Solutions Franchise Disclosure Document discloses an Estimated Initial Investment of $162,000 to $333,500 for the Single Location estimate and $202,000 to $570,000 for the Multi-Location estimate covering two locations. The Single Location model assumes the owner acts as the salesperson. The two-location model assumes a salesperson is hired. These are opening-investment ranges, not liquid-capital requirements and not forecasts of the amount a lender will require.
The legal franchisor is FIVE STAR BATH, LLC, a Utah limited liability company. Its parent is Five Star Franchising, L.L.C. The FDD cover states an issuance date of April 3, 2026, while the receipt pages state April 8, 2026; all figures below are taken from that same 2026 document. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations are shown as unlinked Item and page references. The brand website identified in the FDD is the official Five Star Bath Solutions website.
- Formats analyzed
- Single Location and two-location Multi-Location estimate
- Core FDD sections
- Items 5, 6 and 7; cost-relevant Items 8, 10, 11 and 17
- Primary pages
- Item 5 pp. 13-14; Item 6 pp. 15-25; Item 7 pp. 26-31
- Information checked
- July 15, 2026
Capital snapshot
The most decision-useful figures separate contract payments, opening funds, and continuing fees rather than treating every number as the same kind of capital requirement.
What is included in the $162,000 to $333,500 estimate?
The Single Location total combines fixed contract payments with wide ranges for marketing, equipment, vehicles and Working Capital. Its assumptions matter: the owner is the salesperson, the model may use a home office if the space meets operational needs, and Item 7 recommends starting with at least 1,000 square feet of warehouse space. Show displays are optional unless the franchisee uses a show-and-event marketing program.
| Expenditure | 2026 amount | When paid | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $59,500 | On execution of the Franchise Agreement | Item 7, p. 26 |
| Quick Start Package | $25,000 | Before in-person training | Item 7, p. 26 |
| Optional QSP Add-on: Trailer | $0-$40,000 | Before training | Item 7, p. 26 |
| Annual Conference Registration Deposit | $1,000 | Within seven days after signing | Item 7, p. 26 |
| Marketing | $35,000-$65,000 | As incurred | Item 7, p. 26 |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $2,000-$5,000 | Before opening | Item 7, p. 26 |
| Warehouse/Premises and Show Displays | $1,500-$4,500 | As incurred | Item 7, p. 26 |
| Expenditure | 2026 amount | When paid | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Supplies, Inventory, and Equipment | $7,500-$32,500 | Before opening and thereafter as incurred | Item 7, pp. 26-27 |
| Computer Equipment and Software/License Fees | $1,000-$2,000 | Before initial training | Item 7, p. 27 |
| Travel and Living Expenses to Attend Training | $1,500-$3,000 | Before and during training | Item 7, p. 27 |
| Vehicle/Trailer and Wrap | $500-$32,500 | As incurred | Item 7, p. 27 |
| Insurance | $5,000-$7,000 | Before opening | Item 7, p. 27 |
| Professional Services | $500-$1,500 | As incurred | Item 7, p. 27 |
| Recruiting and Personnel | $2,000-$5,000 | As incurred | Item 7, p. 27 |
| Working Capital (Additional Funds and Living Expenses - 3 Months) | $20,000-$50,000 | As incurred | Item 7, p. 27 |
Additional Funds are already included in the $162,000 to $333,500 total. Do not add the $20,000 to $50,000 range a second time. The row expressly includes Living Expenses and covers an estimated three-month initial phase; the notes identify employee wages and inventory as predominant factors.
What drives the width of the range?
The largest variables are operational choices rather than a different franchise contract. The vehicle low end assumes an existing qualifying vehicle needs only a wrap and signs; the high end assumes a new vehicle purchased in full. Subcontractors may use their own vehicles. Supplies and equipment vary with installer count, facility size and the first three to six months of sold projects. Training travel varies with attendee count and distance to the training site in Warren, Michigan. The training-travel estimate excludes wages or salaries for the owner and trainees. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, notes 4, 7, 9 and 11, pp. 30-31; Item 11, pp. 36-40.
How does the two-location cost structure differ?
The two-location estimate is $202,000 to $570,000 and assumes the franchisee hires a salesperson. The Initial Franchise Fee is $99,500 for two territories purchased concurrently, the Quick Start Package remains $25,000, the optional QSP trailer remains $0 to $40,000, and the clearly aligned Marketing row is $35,000 to $90,000. The FDD cover states that $125,500 to $168,500 of the two-location initial investment must be paid to the franchisor or an affiliate.
Initial Franchise Fees for one to six units
The first territory covers up to approximately 150,000 households. Concurrent territory purchases use the following Item 5 schedule; additional territory outside the schedule is disclosed at $0.40 per household.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 13 and Item 7, p. 30.
The FDD says multi-franchise buyers may avoid duplicating some vehicle, trailer or computer costs when assets can reasonably serve more than one territory. That does not mean the second territory costs only its incremental franchise fee; the official two-location total remains $202,000 to $570,000.
Can the Initial Franchise Fee be reduced?
Item 5 discloses two possible fee reductions. A qualifying similar business that is merged into the franchise may receive a 25% Initial Franchise Fee discount at $200,000 to $299,999 of documented annual gross sales, 50% at $300,000 to $399,999, 75% at $400,000 to $499,999, and 100% at $500,000 or more. Eligibility requires the two most recent calendar years of financial statements, bank statements and filed tax returns. A qualifying veteran may receive a 10% Initial Franchise Fee discount. The FDD does not state that discounts can be combined, and neither program reduces every Item 7 category. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 13-14.
When is the opening money paid?
The largest contract payments occur at signing and before training, while third-party premises, equipment, marketing and staffing costs are paid as incurred before and around opening. The typical opening period is about 90 days, and the Franchise Agreement requires operations to begin within 120 days unless an extension applies.
If the franchise does not open within the required period, the FDD permits termination with only one-quarter of the Initial Franchise Fee refunded, while the franchisor may retain the balance and amounts associated with used materials. That makes the pre-opening calendar a capital-risk issue, not merely an administrative deadline. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 14 and Item 11, pp. 36-37.
Which fees continue after opening?
The continuing cost structure combines percentage fees, minimum monthly payments, a territory advertising requirement, call-center charges and required software services. Percentage fees must be read with their exact Gross Revenue basis; they should not be converted into annual dollar amounts without actual sales data.
| Fee or obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Revenue, reduced to 5% when calendar-year Gross Revenue exceeds $1,000,000; minimum schedule applies | When a job is booked; paid weekly | Item 6, pp. 15, 24-25 |
| National Marketing Fee | Upto 2.5% of monthly Gross Revenue; the table and Note 2 contain conflicting minimum figures | With Royalty Fees when jobs are booked | Item 6, pp. 15, 24-25 |
| Territory Marketing Requirement | At least 10% of annual Gross Revenue, including the National Marketing Fee and designated online lead generation | As incurred | Item 6, p. 16 |
| Regional Marketing Fund Contribution | Currently 0; up to 2% of Gross Revenue if 65% of franchisees in the region approve | As voted; credited toward Territory Marketing Requirement | Item 6, pp. 16-17 |
| Call Center and text/chat services | $250 per month plus $1.50 per call-handling minute; $2.50 per Chat Conversation or Text Conversation | Second Wednesday monthly; Marketing Fund pays first three months | Item 6, pp. 17, 25 |
| Accounting Software Fees | $0-$250 per month | As incurred; paid to designated vendor | Item 6, p. 21 |
| Bookkeeping Service Fee | $0-$300 per month | As incurred; paid to designated or approved vendor | Item 6, p. 21 |
| Operations Software Support Fee | $1,100-$2,500 per month | Second Wednesday monthly | Item 6, pp. 21-22 |
How do the Royalty Fee minimums change?
The percentage Royalty Fee applies from opening, but the additional minimum-payment floor begins in month seven. The disclosed schedule is $0 per month during months 0-6, $1,000 during months 7-12, $1,500 during years 1-2, $2,000 during years 2-3, and $2,500 from year 3 onward. If sales are not reported through the proprietary software, a different minimum applies: the greater of $3,000 or 6% of the prior 12-month reported average, annualized when fewer than 12 months are available. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 15 and 24.
- Gross Revenue
- Receipts generated by the franchise from broadly defined sources, excluding discounts, refunds and sales taxes; credit transactions are included on the transaction date.
- Booking basis
- Royalty and National Marketing Fees become payable when the job is booked, not when the job is completed or collected.
- Marketing interaction
- The National Marketing Fee and any approved Regional Marketing Fund contribution count toward the Territory Marketing Requirement rather than sitting wholly outside it.
The Item 6 National Marketing Fee row states a $200 monthly minimum beginning in month seven, while Note 2 states $350 for months 7-12, rising to $600, $800 and $1,200 at later stages. Because both amounts appear in the same 2026 FDD, the signed Franchise Agreement and current invoice schedule should be used to resolve the minimum before budgeting. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 15 and 25.
How do approved suppliers and insurance requirements affect cost?
Five Star Bath Solutions controls significant portions of both opening and ongoing purchasing through the Operations Manual, approved suppliers and designated service vendors. The FDD estimates that purchases from the franchisor, its parent or approved suppliers represent 10% to 20% of purchases needed to commence operations and 60% to 80% of ongoing operating purchases.
The franchisor and its parent may derive revenue, rebates, price adjustments or markups from required purchases. A proposed unapproved source can be submitted for review, but the franchisee pays testing costs when testing is required. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 32-34.
Which fees arise from renewal, transfer, late payment or other events?
Several material costs are not part of the opening range because they arise only after a transaction, default, special request or compliance event. These charges can matter even when they are not expected at opening.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 18-25; Item 17, pp. 52-55. Owners and guarantors also jointly and severally guarantee the franchisee's obligations under Franchise Agreement Section 9.13, so the contract exposure is not limited to the opening cash budget.
Does the franchisor offer financing or state a liquid-capital minimum?
No. Item 10 states that FIVE STAR BATH, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. That absence does not mean the full investment can be borrowed or that a lender will finance the project.
Any outside financing remains subject to the lender's credit, collateral and underwriting requirements, and Item 7 excludes interest and other financing expenses. The U.S. Small Business Administration loan-program overview explains federal loan-program structures, but it does not constitute approval for this franchise or for any applicant. Source for the franchisor disclosure: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 36 and Item 7, p. 30.
Which figures should be clarified before relying on the budget?
The official totals are clear, but several line-item disclosures need written reconciliation before a buyer treats the tables as a cash schedule. These are document-level uncertainties, not substitute estimates.
Four points to reconcile with the current Franchise Agreement
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 14; Item 6, pp. 15 and 25; Item 7, pp. 26-31.
The practical capital question is not only whether a buyer can reach the Item 7 low end. It is whether the buyer can fund the applicable unit format, absorb the marketing and supplier obligations, and continue paying percentage and minimum fees after opening without assuming that all costs fit inside the franchisor-paid portion.
The FTC guide to buying a franchise explains how to use the disclosure document, and the FTC Franchise Rule page provides the governing federal disclosure framework. Those resources do not replace the 2026 Five Star Bath Solutions FDD or the signed agreements.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Five Star Bath Solutions Franchise?
- How Does the Five Star Bath Solutions Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Five Star Bath Solutions Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Five Star Bath Solutions Franchise?
- How Much Does a Five Star Bath Solutions Franchise Owner Make?