How much does a Dollar Rent A Car franchise cost?
Dollar Rent A Car, Inc. discloses an estimated initial investment of $879,300 to $16,249,000 for a new U.S. Franchised Business, excluding Real Estate & Improvements. The 2026 range assumes a starting fleet of 30 to 300 Passenger Cars. It is not the same as the Initial Franchise Fee, and it does not resolve the cost of the site, facility improvements, airport concession obligations, or a multi-brand fleet.
Estimated Initial Investment for a new Dollar Business. The range includes Passenger Cars, the disclosed Courtesy Vehicle line item, Computer System costs, insurance deposits, pre-opening expenses, and Additional Funds for three months.
Source: Dollar Rent A Car, Inc. Franchise Disclosure Document — 2026, Item 7, pp. 7-1–7-6. Real Estate & Improvements are expressly excluded from the total.
- Legal franchisor
- Dollar Rent A Car, Inc., an Oklahoma corporation and a subsidiary within The Hertz Corporation group. The ownership relationship is also described on the official Dollar corporate background page and the Hertz corporate overview.
- FDD basis
- 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 20, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17 were used for cost interpretation.
- Applicable offer
- A Vehicle Rental Business operating under the Dollar and/or Dollar Rent A Car Marks. The investment table provides one range for a new Franchised Business rather than separate total ranges for Airport Rental Locations and Non-Airport Rental Locations.
- Information checked
- July 21, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD copy was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked and identify the Item and page directly.
What makes the investment range so wide?
For a new Franchised Business in the 2026 FDD, the rental fleet is the dominant included cost. Passenger Cars account for $750,000 at the low endpoint and $15,000,000 at the high endpoint. The total also changes with the Initial Franchise Fee, Courtesy Vehicles, Computer System scale, insurance deposits, and working capital. Real estate remains outside the disclosed total.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 7-1. Derived values use compatible low-to-low and high-to-high subtraction; they are not a franchisor “typical budget.”
Which opening categories carry the largest checks?
Passenger Cars are the largest 2026 Item 7 line item for a new Franchised Business. The rental fleet ranges from $750,000 to $15,000,000, while the Initial Franchise Fee, Courtesy Vehicles, and Computer System create the next largest disclosed opening ranges.
| Opening category | Disclosed amount | Payment timing | Cost meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000–$500,000 | At execution, unless installments are approved | Non-refundable; Dollar may permit a portion to be paid in interest-free installments over no more than three years. The FDD does not describe this as financing. |
| Passenger Cars | $750,000–$15,000,000 | As arranged with automobile dealers | Based on 30 to 300 current-model rental cars at an estimated $25,000 to $75,000 each. |
| Courtesy Vehicles | $55,000–$350,000 | At purchase | Required for Airport Rental Locations. The table says “per location,” while footnote 4 describes approximately $55,000 to over $350,000 per vehicle. |
| Computer System, Hardware and Software | $11,500–$250,000 | As required; cash or financed | Low estimate reflects a one-user Non-Airport Rental Location; high estimate assumes a 30-user, high-volume Airport Location or multiple locations. |
| Additional Funds — 3 months | $20,000–$50,000 | As incurred | Working capital already included in the official total; it is not an extra amount to add again. |
| Total, excluding Real Estate & Improvements | $879,300–$16,249,000 | Across the pre-opening period | Official Item 7 total for a new Franchised Business. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 7-1–7-5.
Which other pre-opening amounts are included?
The 2026 Item 7 total also includes training, equipment, insurance, professional services, optional software, licenses, and utility installation. These smaller categories remain material because their payment timing and refundability differ.
| Included category | Amount | Primary driver | When due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Training Expenses | $3,000 | Travel, living expenses, and wages for required trainees | As arranged before opening |
| Equipment and Supplies | $5,000–$25,000 | Uniforms, office equipment, forms, furnishings, and similar items | Prior to opening |
| Insurance | $5,000–$45,000 | Fleet size, territory, management experience, loss history, and lender or landlord requirements | As required |
| Professional Fees | $3,000–$10,000 | Legal, accounting, consulting, and possible zoning work | As required |
| Optional Software | $1,500–$15,000 | Accounting package size and approved supplier | Lump sum or deposit, then monthly |
| Business License | $100–$500 | State and local licensing requirements | Before commencing business |
| Miscellaneous Installation Fees | $200–$500 | Gas, electric, water, sewer, and telephone installation | As needed |
How do location formats change the cost contract?
In the 2026 FDD, Airport and Non-Airport Rental Locations share one official total range, but their operating obligations are not identical. The continuing Franchise Fee is 8% of Gross Receipts for an Airport Rental and 6% for a Non-Airport Rental. Airport locations also require Courtesy Vehicles or shuttle buses as applicable and may carry concession fees and facility requirements that are not included in Item 7.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6-1 and 6-4–6-5. The chart compares percentages only; it does not estimate Gross Receipts or annual dollars.
Dollar’s location-specific cost split
The 2026 FDD does not publish separate complete Item 7 totals by format, so the buyer must reconstruct the format effect from footnotes and continuing-fee rules without blending them into a new estimate.
An Airport Rental Location can require a higher percentage Franchise Fee, courtesy transportation, airport-specific facility standards, and concession payments. Because Real Estate & Improvements are excluded, the official $16,249,000 high end is not a complete ceiling for an airport project.
When is the money paid?
Under the 2026 FDD for a new Franchised Business, capital is paid in stages rather than as one check. The Initial Franchise Fee is normally due when the Franchise Agreement is executed, vehicles and systems are paid for as arranged, and Additional Funds are used as expenses are incurred during the first three months. Dollar estimates 10 to 90 days between signing and opening, depending on site, financing, remodeling, equipment, signs, and hiring.
Franchise Agreement execution
Pay the $25,000 to $500,000 Initial Franchise Fee in a lump sum unless Dollar approves interest-free installments over no more than three years. The fee is non-refundable.
Site, training, insurance, and approvals
Fund required training travel, professional work, business licenses, insurance deposits, utility installation, and any site-specific payments. Required training has no separate tuition charge, but the franchisee pays travel, living expenses, and wages.
Fleet and operating systems
Arrange the Passenger Car fleet, Courtesy Vehicles where applicable, Equipment and Supplies, Computer System, and approved software. Third-party financing may be available based on credit, but Dollar does not guarantee it.
Opening and the first three months
Use the $20,000 to $50,000 Additional Funds allowance for staffing, the first month’s facility rent, a possible facility deposit, operating supplies, Franchise Fees and assessments, fuel, and required charge-card issuer fees.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7, and 11, pp. 5-1, 7-1–7-6, and 11-1–11-2.
The Additional Funds amount is already part of the $879,300 to $16,249,000 total. Adding it again would double-count working capital. The FDD does not state that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included.
Which fees continue after opening?
For the 2026 offer, the continuing cost structure extends beyond the 6% Non-Airport Rental or 8% Airport Rental Franchise Fee. Dollar also discloses per-reservation charges, card-processing and billing charges, travel-industry commissions, program assessments, and other transaction-based fees. These fees use different bases and should not be added as though every percentage applies to every rental.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | When paid | Applies when |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | 6%–8% of Gross Receipts | Within 10 days after the monthly Statement | 6% Non-Airport; 8% Airport; annual minimum also applies |
| Reservation Charges | $3.84–$6.30 per passenger-car reservation | 10 days after the monthly statement | Reservations through the Reservations System; a no-show can still generate the charge |
| Travel Industry Commissions | 0%–30% of gross rental charges | 10 days after the monthly statement | Rates negotiated with travel agents, airlines, and other travel-industry participants |
| Travel Voucher Service Fee | 5% of Net Proceeds | Automatically deducted | When a travel voucher is accepted as customer payment |
| EDI Cost | $8 per reservation | As billed | Third-party delivered Insurance Replacement reservations |
| Rental Processing Fee | 2.5% Auto Feed; 4.6% manual feed | As billed | Insurance and Service Replacement customers |
| Guaranteed Charge Card Service Fees | 1%–5% of gross rental charges | Automatically deducted | Required card processing and collection |
| Central/Direct Bill Service Fees | 2.5%–6% / 3%–6% | Automatically deducted | Parent-guaranteed centrally billed or direct billed charge cards |
| Reservation Assignment Fee | $3–$7 per reservation | As incurred | Assigned reservations made through the Reservation System |
| Computer updates or upgrades | $0–$500 per year | As directed | Required Computer System additions, changes, or replacements |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6-1–6-7; Item 11, p. 11-5. Each fee must be read with its own transaction basis.
Which charges are conditional rather than routine?
The 2026 FDD also discloses charges that arise only when a particular program, purchase, default, supplier request, or optional service is triggered. They should be budgeted as contingencies rather than treated as universal monthly fees.
- Program Assessments: currently not charged to new franchisees, but Dollar reserves the right to impose them for advertising, marketing, reservations, billing, customer programs, operating programs, or other stated Programs.
- Vehicle Purchase Program: if used, Item 8 says $395 is added to the original equipment manufacturer’s purchase price for each vehicle.
- Unapproved supplier inspection or testing: the franchisee or supplier may owe the reasonable inspection cost and actual testing cost.
- Optional Value Proposition services: $0 to $150,000 depending on selected offerings; Lighthouse is disclosed at $100,000 to $150,000 based on operation size.
- Late payment: interest at the lesser of Dollar’s prescribed rate or the legal maximum, plus a late fee of at least 5% of the overdue amount.
- Non-compliance liquidated damages: $100 per day while the breach persists, plus $5,000 if it remains after 90 days.
- Audit: audit cost may be charged if an underreporting of 2% or more or another agreement violation is found, plus the underpayment and applicable interest.
- Security Deposit: a variable cash deposit, letter of credit, or other security may be demanded and later increased.
Does Dollar disclose financing, liquid capital, or net worth requirements?
The 2026 FDD does not publish a fixed Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. It requires the franchisee to maintain sufficient vehicle financing capacity, net working capital, liquidity, and net worth as Dollar determines necessary. Dollar’s official franchise questionnaire asks applicants for estimated net worth, but the page does not state a minimum.
- Direct financing
- Not offered. Item 10 states that Dollar does not offer direct or indirect financing and will not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation.
- Initial fee installments
- Dollar may, in its discretion, defer a portion of the Initial Franchise Fee for no more than three years without interest. This is not a general equipment, vehicle, or working-capital loan.
- Third-party vehicle financing
- Possible through banks, finance companies, manufacturers, or other lenders, subject to credit conditions and the applicant’s financial position.
- Computer System financing
- Some approved suppliers may offer financing or leasing with approved credit.
- Personal Guarantee
- The franchise arrangements may impose owner guarantees and cross-guarantees, particularly in multiple-brand structures. The amount is contractual rather than a published Item 7 line item.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 7, 10, 11, and 17, including pp. 7-2–7-5, 10-1, and 11-5.
A prospective franchisee should not treat the $20,000 to $50,000 Additional Funds line as the applicant’s required cash contribution. The FDD gives no fixed minimum cash or net worth test, while the fleet alone is estimated at $750,000 to $15,000,000.
What costs are not fully resolved by the official range?
The official range is not a complete all-in project ceiling. The largest unresolved category is Real Estate & Improvements, which Dollar says cannot be estimated because of locality, labor rates, airport or downtown setting, facility design, and the choice to perform or outsource washing, maintenance, and fueling.
- Real Estate & Improvements: no dollar range is included in Item 7, and the official total expressly excludes the category.
- Airport concession and facility obligations: The premises footnote notes concession fees of at least 10% and sometimes higher, minimum guarantees, escalation factors, and airport-imposed design or placement requirements.
- Automatic car-wash equipment: approximately $20,000 to $25,000 if selected, disclosed within the Real Estate & Improvements footnote rather than the included total.
- Dollar signage: approximately $3,500 under the Real Estate & Improvements footnote, which the total excludes.
- Multiple-brand inventory: the fleet and courtesy-transportation figures do not estimate inventory for multiple brands; separate branded Courtesy Vehicles may be required.
- Existing company-owned business acquisition: buying assets from the Parent or an affiliate may produce a substantially higher investment and an Initial Franchise Fee of several hundred thousand dollars or more.
- Additional working capital beyond three months: Dollar states that $20,000 to $50,000 is only an estimate and gives no assurance that more capital will not be needed during or after the start-up phase.
- Owner living expenses or compensation: the Additional Funds footnote lists operating uses but does not identify personal living expenses or owner pay as included.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5-1; Item 7, pp. 7-2–7-6.
The Courtesy Vehicle disclosure needs transaction-specific confirmation: the opening table shows $55,000 to $350,000 “per location,” while footnote 4 says approximately $55,000 to over $350,000 per vehicle. A buyer should obtain the required vehicle count and current specification in writing for the proposed Airport Rental Location.
Which later events can create another material payment?
Renewal, transfer, early termination, holdover, and modernization can create costs well after opening. These obligations are separate from the initial investment and can depend on future agreement terms, business sales, remaining term, or system standards.
| Event | Disclosed charge | Timing | Related obligation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Renewal | $5,000–$25,000 | Upon renewal | Execute the then-current agreement; pay out-of-pocket renewal costs; complete required refurbishment, replacement, and modernization. |
| Transfer | 5% of average annual gross sales for the prior three years | Upon transfer | Dollar may designate the fee as payable by the transferee and may require a Credit Department deposit for receivables and incidentals. |
| Early Termination | Formula-based | With the termination notice | Minimum annual Franchise Fee, or historical average if no minimum exists, multiplied by remaining years, adjusted for partial years. |
| Holdover | Then-applicable Franchise Fee and other charges | Monthly or as required | Applies if operations continue after the term without completed renewal. |
| Relocation | Not stated as a fixed fee | Before moving | New site approval and the associated facility, equipment, signage, permitting, and opening costs remain the franchisee’s responsibility. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6-3–6-7; Item 17, pp. 17-1–17-5.
What should be verified before relying on the range?
The key decision is not whether the buyer can pay the Initial Franchise Fee; it is whether the buyer can fund the required fleet, location-specific infrastructure, and continuing transaction charges. The official range is useful, but the following items determine whether it fits a particular territory.
- Confirm whether the proposed site is an Airport Rental Location or Non-Airport Rental Location and obtain the applicable 8% or 6% Franchise Fee, annual minimum, and Gross Receipts definition in the proposed Franchise Agreement.
- Obtain the required starting fleet and monthly minimum fleet schedule in Attachment D, together with lender equity, collateral, and insurance requirements.
- For an airport site, confirm the number and specification of Courtesy Vehicles, concession-fee formula, minimum guarantee, facility charges, and escalation terms.
- Price Real Estate & Improvements separately, including parking, wash or maintenance facilities, fueling infrastructure, signage, permits, zoning, and landlord requirements.
- Confirm the Approved Counter System, number of users and locations, installation, training, support, maintenance, interface, PCI subscription, and replacement obligations.
- Ask Dollar for the applicant-specific liquidity, net worth, vehicle financing capacity, guarantee, and Security Deposit requirements because the FDD does not publish fixed thresholds.
- Request the current FDD and any amendments directly through the official Dollar franchise contact page and compare the final agreement attachments with the March 20, 2026 disclosures.
The verified 2026 starting point is $879,300 to $16,249,000, excluding Real Estate & Improvements. The practical capital requirement can rise above that range when airport premises, concession commitments, multiple-brand operations, extra Courtesy Vehicles, a larger-than-assumed facility, or an acquisition of existing company-owned assets applies.