How much does a Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $138,200 to $390,200 to establish and begin operating a first Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids Salon. The disclosed model is a single salon, typically about 1,200 square feet in a strip shopping center or mall. The range includes the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the $2,500 Initial Training Fee, premises costs, equipment, opening inventory, launch advertising and $15,000 to $45,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months.
- Legal franchisor
- Cookie Cutters Franchising Inc.
- FDD issuance date
- March 25, 2026
- Cost formats reviewed
- First Salon and Area Development Agreement for two to five Salons
- Primary FDD sections
- Items 5, 6 and 7; cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 10, 11 and 17
- Information checked
- July 21, 2026
No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked and identify the document by Item and exact page. The FTC consumer guide explains how Items 5, 6 and 7 fit into franchise cost review, and the FTC Franchise Rule describes the federal disclosure framework.
Key cost figures
The four figures below separate initial signing payments, working capital and the principal royalty obligation.
Metric sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 4–12; Item 11, pp. 18–19.
What is included in the $138,200 to $390,200 range?
The 2026 investment range combines contract payments, premises and build-out expenses, required systems, opening supplies, marketing, training travel and a three-month operating reserve. The total applies to the first location; the endpoints are estimates, not a disclosed average or recommended budget.
Contract, premises and core equipment
The first group contains the contract fees and the premises, build-out and system costs that must be committed before opening.
| Cost category | Disclosed amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $40,000 | When Franchise Agreement is signed | Franchisor |
| Initial Training Fee | $2,500 | About one week before initial training | Franchisor |
| Optional third-party training | $0–$1,500 | As incurred | Designated third party |
| First month’s rent | $1,500–$6,000 | Under lease or sublease | Landlord |
| Rent security deposit | $1,500–$6,000 | Under lease or sublease | Landlord |
| Construction, leasehold improvements and mill work | $25,000–$145,000 | As incurred | Outside suppliers |
| Signage | $5,000–$15,000 | As incurred | Outside suppliers |
| Equipment, furniture and salon fixtures | $25,000–$85,000 | As incurred | Outside suppliers and/or franchisor |
| Computer hardware and software | $3,200–$5,200 | As incurred | Outside suppliers |
Launch, compliance and working capital
The second group covers opening inventory, launch advertising, training travel, regulatory costs, insurance, professional services and the initial operating reserve.
| Cost category | Disclosed amount | Covered period or timing | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting software package | $500–$1,000 | As incurred | p. 10 |
| Initial inventory for resale | $2,500–$5,000 | As incurred | p. 10 |
| Grand opening and advertising | $10,000–$15,000 | First three months | pp. 10–11 |
| Initial-training travel, lodging and meals | $2,000–$3,000 | As incurred | p. 10 |
| Initial supplies | $2,000–$4,000 | First three months | p. 10 |
| Licenses, permits and personal property taxes | $500–$1,000 | First year | p. 10 |
| Insurance | $500–$1,000 | First three months | pp. 10–11 |
| Professional fees | $500–$7,000 | As incurred | p. 10 |
| Artwork | $500–$2,000 | As incurred | p. 10 |
| Additional Funds | $15,000–$45,000 | First three months | pp. 10–11 |
For a second location, the franchise fee falls to $20,000 and the training charge to $1,500; the franchise fee for each later location is $10,000. Veterans receive a $1,500 reduction from the franchise fee. The discount does not reduce premises, equipment, inventory, advertising or the operating reserve. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 4–5; Item 7, pp. 10–11.
Arithmetic check: the listed low-end rows add to $137,700, which is $500 below the official $138,200 total. The listed high-end rows reconcile to $390,200. The disclosure does not explain the low-end difference, so the official total is preserved rather than replaced by the derived sum.
The $15,000 to $45,000 Additional Funds category is part of the total, not an extra amount to add afterward. It includes the Certificate Program Support Fee and Server Support and Maintenance Fee for the initial period. The disclosure does not state that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–11.
Which cost categories create most of the investment spread?
Construction and the salon’s equipment package create the widest disclosed ranges. Together, those categories vary by $180,000 between their combined low and high figures. This is derived arithmetic from compatible cost categories, not a franchisor forecast for a particular site.
Interpretation: site condition, landlord contribution, contractor pricing and the required salon package can materially change the opening cash need. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–11. Geometry is scaled directly to the disclosed amounts.
Premises cost relationship: the site decision affects first month’s rent, the security deposit, construction, leasehold improvements, signage and equipment. The franchisor does not generally own or lease the premises to the franchisee, and a landlord allowance or free-rent period may be negotiable. Neither benefit is guaranteed. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 11; Item 11, pp. 20–21.
Required-supplier economics: the standard equipment and trade-dress package must come from an approved supplier. The franchisor discloses a $3,635 to $5,000 rebate on that package and estimates that required or specification-controlled purchases represent 65% to 85% of total purchases made to establish the location. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 13–14.
When is the money paid before the Salon opens?
The largest fixed payment to the franchisor occurs at contract signing, while most premises, equipment and launch costs are paid later as contracts are signed and work is performed. The 2026 disclosure expects six to nine months from contract execution to opening and generally requires the location to open within nine months unless an approved delay applies.
Contract signing
Pay the $40,000 franchise fee for the first location. It is fully earned and non-refundable on receipt. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 4; Item 7, p. 9.
Site, lease and build-out commitments
Pay rent, the security deposit, build-out, signage, equipment and technology amounts under the relevant lease, supplier and contractor agreements. Most are due as agreed or as incurred. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–10.
Approximately one week before initial training
Pay the $2,500 training charge after invoice. Training does not begin until it is paid in full. Travel, lodging, meals and trainee compensation are separate. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5; Item 7, pp. 9–11.
Opening and first three months
Fund opening inventory, supplies, launch advertising, initial insurance and the operating reserve. The disclosure requires at least $10,000 of advertising leading up to and through the first three months. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–11.
How does an Area Development Agreement change the upfront cost?
An Area Development Agreement creates a separate $60,000 to $90,000 Development Fee for a typical commitment of two to five locations. The lump sum is due when the development contract is signed and is additional to the cost of establishing each location.
Development Fee ladder
The disclosed schedule is $40,000 for the first location, $20,000 for the second and $10,000 for each additional location. The figures below apply the stated formula; they do not include build-out or operating capital for the individual locations.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5; Item 7, pp. 11–12. The $70,000 and $90,000 displays are direct arithmetic from the disclosed fee schedule; the FDD expressly gives the $80,000 four-Salon example.
Format difference: the Development Fee substitutes for franchise fees on locations covered by the development contract, but it does not replace the training charge or the premises, equipment, inventory, advertising and operating reserve needed for each site.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing percentage charge is a 5% Royalty Fee on Gross Sales. Separate obligations apply to the System-wide Advertising and Promotional Fund and local advertising, while a future Regional Advertising Cooperative contribution is credited toward the local spend obligation.
Interpretation: the Cooperative maximum should not be added automatically to the local advertising maximum because those contributions receive a credit against the local spend obligation. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–9; Item 11, pp. 18–19.
For these percentage charges, the FDD defines Gross Sales broadly as aggregate gross revenues connected with the franchised business, including business-interruption insurance proceeds, subject to stated exclusions such as collected sales or use taxes, qualifying refunds and the sale of equipment not held for resale. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–9.
| Continuing charge | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shortcuts maintenance and updates | $2,700 annually | Vendor schedule | Current annual cost stated in Item 11 |
| QuickBooks Online | $200 annually | Vendor schedule | Current annual cost; may change |
| MPLC license fee | $35 monthly | 10th business day monthly | Paid to franchisor for onward payment |
| Server Support and Maintenance | $18 monthly | 10 days after billing | May rise with actual vendor costs |
| Certificate Program Support | $2 monthly | 10 days after billing | Per location |
The proprietary salon system must come from the designated provider, currently Shortcuts Software. The disclosure also identifies QuickBooks Online as the designated accounting software and requires it to be in place no later than 60 days before opening. The monthly media-license charge relates to Motion Picture Licensing Corporation. Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 8 and 11, pp. 6–7, 12–13 and 20.
Which later events can create additional charges?
Several charges arise only after a specific event, default, transfer or renewal. They are outside the initial investment unless the opening-cost table expressly includes an initial-period payment. The FDD states that these charges are payable to the franchisor, non-refundable and applied uniformly.
The franchise relationship terms permit relocation in specified circumstances, but the 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed Relocation Fee or a replacement-premises budget. Any lease termination, new deposit, build-out, signage or equipment cost therefore remains circumstance-dependent.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–9; Item 12, pp. 24–25; Item 17, pp. 31–35.
Is the four-day post-opening consultant training optional or required?
The 2026 FDD is internally inconsistent. The investment table lists “Optional Third-party Training” at $0 to $1,500, and two other sections describe the four-day in-salon program as an election. The supplier section, however, states that a first-location franchisee “must receive” the additional training from the designated consultant.
Do not assume the $1,500 can be excluded from the opening cash plan. Request written clarification identifying which provision controls, whether the consultant program is mandatory and whether any related travel or scheduling charge can apply. The published total remains $138,200 to $390,200 despite this conflict. Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7, 8 and 11, pp. 5, 9–12 and 23–24.
Does Cookie Cutters disclose financing, liquid capital or net worth requirements?
The 2026 FDD does not state a prospective franchisee Liquid Capital minimum or Net Worth minimum. Its financing section also says the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation.
The official U.S. franchise information page currently displays a $117,000 to $400,000 investment range and labels its financial figures as based on a 2023 FDD. That webpage range is not the current 2026 opening range used in this article.
Ask the franchisor and any proposed lender to state the required cash contribution, reserve requirement, collateral, personal guarantee and whether development fees or lease deposits must be funded with non-borrowed money. None of those thresholds should be inferred from the opening-cost total.
What should be verified before committing capital?
The official range is useful only after the site, build-out, equipment package and contract timing are matched to the specific proposed Salon. These are the highest-priority cost checks supported by the 2026 disclosures.
Cost synthesis: the verified first-location range is the official total shown at the start of this article. Construction, Leasehold Improvements, Equipment and the three-month reserve drive much of the spread. Signing fees are distinct from continuing percentage charges, and a development contract creates a separate upfront commitment before each location is funded. The principal unresolved point is the contradictory treatment of post-opening consultant training.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids Franchises?
- How Does the Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids Franchise?
- How Much Does a Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids Franchise Owner Make?