How Much Does a Brain Balance Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Brain Balance franchise cost?

A new Standard Brain Balance Center requires an estimated initial investment of $221,503 to $503,681 under the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. A Brain Balance Satellite Center, available only to qualifying existing franchisees, carries a separate estimated initial investment of $126,695 to $309,740. Optional expansion programs have their own cost contracts and should not be blended into either physical-center range.

Standard: $221,503–$503,681
2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14–19. The range includes both fixed franchisor payments, premises and equipment costs, pre-opening spending, and the disclosed operating cushion for the first three months. Satellite Center, Digital Marketing Territory, and Third-Party Billing Program amounts are separate disclosures.

Data basis: BB Franchising LLC, Franchise Disclosure Document issued May 26, 2026; Standard Brain Balance Center, Brain Balance Satellite Center, Digital Marketing Territory, and Third-Party Billing Program. Primary cost sections: Item 5, pages 6–7; Item 6, pages 7–14; Item 7, pages 14–26; Item 10, page 32; selected cost provisions in Items 8, 11, and 17. Information checked July 19, 2026.

No matching current FDD was found on the franchisor’s public franchise domain when checked. The official Brain Balance U.S. franchise site is therefore linked only for current public franchise information, not as the source of these FDD figures.

Initial Franchise Fee $45,000 Standard Center; due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Initial Technology Fee $15,000 Standard or Satellite Center; paid to BB Franchising LLC.
Additional Funds $30,500–$53,000 Standard Center; included in Item 7 and intended for three months.
Royalty Fee 8% of Gross Revenue Minimum $1,000 per calendar month; paid monthly.
Local Advertising 9% of Gross Revenue Minimum required expenditure of $6,000 per calendar month.
Public Qualification Thresholds $125,000 / ~$400,000 Official-site liquidity / approximate net worth; not Item 7 totals.
FORMAT COMPARISON

How do the two physical-center investment ranges compare?

The disclosure separates the standard physical format from the smaller satellite format. The Satellite Center is not a lower-cost entry route for a first-time buyer; it is an additional format for an eligible operator that already owns a Standard Center.

The two bars describe different legal and operating arrangements. A new buyer should use the standard-format range as the starting point because the satellite arrangement assumes that another location already performs important intake, assessment, and administrative work. The lower bar therefore does not show a stripped-down first unit. It shows an incremental facility whose economics depend on an existing operation, existing staff capacity, established systems, and continued compliance with the original agreement. Treating the satellite maximum as a substitute for the standard minimum would understate the capital needed to enter the system.

The comparison also explains why the ranges cannot be added, averaged, or merged into one headline figure. A buyer considering expansion should first identify which assets and employees remain at the main location, which expenses must be duplicated, and which vendor contracts charge separately for the added facility. That review should use the proposed market, lease, floor plan, staffing structure, and technology configuration rather than a generic percentage reduction from the original location.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

The lower range results mainly from a smaller premises requirement and lower construction, furniture, technology, travel, advertising, and Additional Funds ranges. It still requires a separate $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $15,000 Initial Technology Fee, and it depends operationally on the associated Standard Center.

Additional Standard Center fee scale

Existing franchisees acquiring more Standard Centers receive a lower Initial Franchise Fee by unit count. The Initial Technology Fee and Annual Technology Fee do not decline under this scale.

Additional unit count Initial Franchise Fee Initial Technology Fee Annual Technology Fee
Units 2–5 $40,000 $15,000 $2,500
Units 6–10 $35,000 $15,000 $2,500
Unit 11 or more $30,000 $15,000 $2,500

Source: FDD, Item 5, pages 6–7.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the Standard Brain Balance Center range?

In the 2026 FDD, the Standard Center range covers the contract payments, premises, required opening assets, technology, launch spending, and a three-month operating cushion shown below. The Additional Funds amount is already included in the $221,503 to $503,681 total; it should not be added a second time.

This schedule is not a single payment due on one date. It combines fixed payments to the franchisor, deposits and premiums paid to outside parties, purchases made from required or approved suppliers, and expenses that arise as the site moves from lease execution through launch. The low end is not a promise that every category can be obtained at its minimum simultaneously. The high end is not a cap on a buyer who chooses a more expensive market, larger scope, premium finishes, or a site requiring more accessibility and construction work.

The payment recipient matters when evaluating refund risk. Amounts paid to the franchisor are described as non-refundable, while refunds from landlords, contractors, utilities, insurers, technology vendors, and professional advisers depend on separate contracts. A deposit may be recoverable under one agreement and non-refundable under another. Before committing funds, the buyer should map each payment to the party receiving it, the date it becomes binding, and the condition—if any—that permits recovery.

The technology estimate should also be read with the required-equipment rules. The disclosure specifies at least three internet-capable tablets with a minimum 12-inch screen, no more than three years old, plus a desktop or laptop for the other applications. The standard training program includes online instruction, up to ten days at an approved training location, and pre-opening telephone or webinar instruction; the franchisor provides the instruction, while the buyer bears the disclosed travel, food, and lodging costs.

Contract, premises, and required protection

Expenditure Disclosed estimate When paid
Initial Franchise Fee $45,000 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement
Initial Technology Fee $15,000 Before opening
In Center Program Kits $2,000 Before opening
Virtual Program Kits $1,275 (3 recommended kits) As needed; $425 per opening kit
Business license, entity formation, and related professional fees $500–$2,500 As incurred before opening
Commercial Space security amount $3,333–$41,666 Before opening and ongoing
Utility deposits and fees $3,000 Before opening and ongoing
Insurance $4,200–$7,500 Before opening and ongoing

Source: FDD, pages 14–18.

Build-out, equipment, and technology

Expenditure Disclosed estimate Cost basis
Construction and remodeling, including architect design $10,000–$175,000 Approved leased-space build-out
Furniture, inventory, and equipment $40,000–$55,000 Assumes new assets; most program inventory cannot be leased
Technology Costs $36,000–$39,000 Hardware, third-party software, network setup, and related support
Start-up supplies $3,500–$4,000 Office and approved marketing materials for three months
Signage $0–$13,000 Depends on site and supplier requirements
Call Center $0–$2,000 Approved vendor or approved experienced salesperson structure

Source: FDD, pages 15 and 17–19.

Systems, launch spending, and operating cushion

Expenditure Disclosed estimate Timing or scope
Brain Balance software fees $6,695–$11,540 As incurred; paid by ACH
Credit Card System $0–$400 Setup before opening; transaction and PCI fees continue
Email and other collaboration tools $0–$248.40 per user over 3 Annual, prorated in first year
Accounting Software & Bookkeeping $1,500–$1,800 Includes required bookkeeping for the first six months
Additional Funds for three months $30,500–$53,000 Payroll and other operating expenses not covered by collected revenue
Pre-Opening travel and training costs $5,000–$7,000 Before opening; varies by distance and lodging
Pre-Opening Advertising $10,000–$18,000 Before opening, including staff recruiting and local launch promotion
Grand-Opening Activities & Advertising $4,000–$6,000 Three to four months after Soft Opening
Total Estimated Initial Investment $221,503–$503,681 Official Item 7 total

Source: FDD, pages 16 and 18–19.

Several categories also interact. A lease with a larger tenant-improvement allowance may reduce the cash needed for build-out but can be paired with a longer term, higher rent, personal guarantee, or delayed reimbursement. A location that needs little exterior signage may still require more interior work. A lower furniture quote does not necessarily reduce the required program equipment or technology configuration. The official total should therefore be tested against one coherent site plan rather than assembled by selecting the lowest line from unrelated quotes.

The operating cushion deserves a separate cash-flow check even though it is part of the disclosed total. It is intended to absorb specified expenses during an initial period when collected receipts may not cover them. It does not establish that the business will reach any particular operating level by the end of that period, and it does not expressly include compensation for an owner. A buyer whose personal living costs depend on distributions from the new location may need a separate household reserve that is outside the disclosed business total.

COST IMPLICATION

Construction and remodeling is the dominant source of range variation. The FDD assumes a 2,000–2,500 square-foot Standard Center and notes that lease economics, tenant-improvement credits, market conditions, accessibility work, and finish choices can move actual build-out spending beyond the disclosed estimate.

For planning purposes, every proposal should be converted to the same scope before it is compared with the disclosed schedule. A contractor’s headline price may exclude demolition, permits, design revisions, fire-safety work, data cabling, delivery, taxes, or final inspections. A landlord allowance may cover only approved improvements and may be reimbursed after completion rather than advanced before work starts. The buyer should prepare a line-by-line reconciliation that shows what is included, what remains outside the quote, who pays each invoice first, and whether reimbursement depends on lien waivers or other conditions.

The same discipline applies to movable assets and services. A vendor may quote a purchase price without freight, installation, training, maintenance, replacement parts, or renewal charges. A subscription may begin before the location opens or may increase when more users are added. A package described as complete may still omit items required by the approved floor plan or operating manual. The relevant question is whether the combined proposals satisfy the required specifications at the time each payment is due, not whether one proposal appears cheaper in isolation.

SATELLITE CENTER

What changes in the Satellite Center cost contract?

Under the 2026 FDD, the satellite format has a lower $126,695 to $309,740 range because it is smaller, relies on its associated Standard Center for lead intake and administrative functions, and does not duplicate every opening asset. The disclosure bases its premises estimate on approximately 1,000–1,750 square feet.

Premises and opening assets

Initial Franchise Fee
$25,000
Initial Technology Fee
$15,000
In Center Program Kits
$0 initially; purchased by the main Center
Business formation
$500–$2,500
Real Property security
$4,000–$16,000
Utility deposits
$1,000–$3,000
Insurance
$2,000–$4,000
Construction and remodeling
$10,000–$100,000
Furniture, inventory, equipment
$20,000–$45,000
Technology Costs
$15,000–$20,000
Start-up supplies
$1,500–$2,000
Signage
$0–$13,000

Systems, launch, and operating cushion

Call Center
Not applicable; lead processing remains with the Standard Center
Brain Balance Application Fees
$5,695–$11,540
Email tools
$248.40 per license
Credit Card System
$0–$400
Accounting & Bookkeeping
$1,500–$1,800
Additional Funds
$15,500–$33,000 for three months
Pre-Opening travel and training
$1,000–$1,500
Pre-Opening Advertising
$9,000–$16,000
Total
$126,695–$309,740

Source: FDD, Item 7, pages 20–25. Satellite rights are tied to the associated Standard Center and cannot be transferred separately from it; Item 17, pages 57 and 59.

The reduced premises size changes several estimates, but it does not remove the need for an approved site, compliant layout, insurance coverage, designated systems, bookkeeping, launch promotion, or an opening reserve. The main location’s existing resources can prevent duplication of some functions, yet the added facility still creates its own rent, utilities, staffing, maintenance, equipment, and local compliance exposure. The buyer should verify whether a quoted vendor price is charged per location, per user, per enrollee, or across the combined operation. The satellite notes use a separate expected merchant-services range of 3.0%–4.0%, so that transaction assumption should not be borrowed from the standard format.

The dependency on the original location is also a contract issue. If the associated unit closes, is transferred, or falls out of compliance, the satellite rights can be affected. This means a funding plan should consider the financial condition and obligations of both facilities together, even though the disclosure presents a separate opening range for the added site. The lower amount is useful for expansion planning, but it is not independent capital.

OPTIONAL PROGRAMS

What do Digital Marketing Territory and Third-Party Billing options add?

Under the 2026 FDD, these are optional additions for approved franchisees, not substitutes for a Standard Center. A single Digital Marketing Territory has a disclosed Item 7 cost of $3,500 to $9,500. The Third-Party Billing Program table discloses $3,600 to $11,900, with compliance and credentialing costs that arise under different circumstances.

As of the May 26, 2026 issuance date, the billing pilot was limited to eligible franchisees operating in Florida, Ohio, and Texas. Expansion to another state was not assured, so the program costs apply only when participation is available and approved.

Digital Marketing Territory

Expenditure Disclosed amount Timing
Initial Fee $3,000 Upon signing the addendum
Digital Marketing Technology Fee $500 Upon signing the addendum
Advertising $0–$5,000 As incurred
Additional Funds for three months $0–$1,000 As incurred
Total for one territory $3,500–$9,500 Multiply by the number of territories acquired

Source: FDD, pages 25–26.

Third-Party Billing Program

Expenditure Disclosed amount Timing
Provider Insurance $500–$1,500 Quarterly after operations begin
Credentialing Fee $600–$2,400 At initial credentialing
HIPAA Compliance Setup $1,000 As incurred
ADA Certification $1,500–$2,000 As incurred
Additional Funds for three months $0–$5,000 As incurred
Program total $3,600–$11,900 Optional program

Source: FDD, page 26.

The virtual-territory disclosure is calculated for one territory. More than one territory changes the initial commitment because the cost is multiplied by the number acquired, while the monthly charge and marketing expenditure apply to each approved area. The buyer should therefore confirm the number of territories, the initial six-month term, the geographic boundaries, the permitted delivery method, and the staffing assumptions before treating the published range as complete.

The billing option has a different cost logic. Its line items are tied to provider participation, credentialing, privacy and security controls, accessibility, insurance, and the use of designated records and billing systems. Some payments occur before participation, some recur after operations begin, and others vary with sessions or personnel. These obligations should be reviewed with the program agreements and current vendor schedules because regulatory status, payer requirements, and staff credentials can change which expenses apply.

FDD CAVEAT

The FDD cover states a different Third-Party Billing Program range than the detailed Item 7 table. This article uses the $3,600 to $11,900 Item 7 total because it is the specific line-item schedule, and the discrepancy should be resolved in writing before relying on the program budget. The program also involves HIPAA, electronic health record, credentialing, and accessibility obligations; the HHS Security Rule guidance explains the federal compliance framework but does not replace the FDD or the program agreements.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The cash commitment is staged rather than paid as one check. The first fixed contract payment occurs at signing, the larger site and opening expenditures accumulate before opening, and percentage fees begin when the Center opens or when the applicable contract trigger occurs.

Sign the Franchise Agreement

Pay the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee for a Standard Center. Item 5 states that the Initial Franchise Fee and Initial Technology Fee are fully earned and non-refundable when paid.

Fund technology and the site before opening

Pay the $15,000 Initial Technology Fee, then fund commercial-space security, insurance, construction, furniture, equipment, program kits, technology hardware, signage, supplies, professional fees, and approved systems as required.

Pay launch and training expenses

Training travel and Pre-Opening Advertising are paid before opening. The first-year Annual Technology Fee is prorated when the software is activated, and collaboration-tool charges are prorated by the first-year start date.

Begin monthly operating obligations

The Royalty Fee and National Advertising Fund contribution are generally paid around the seventh day of each month. The local advertising expenditure is incurred during each calendar month. The royalty minimum can start even before opening if the Soft Opening has not occurred within nine months after the Franchise Agreement date.

Complete the post-opening launch spend

The Standard Center table schedules $4,000 to $6,000 of Grand-Opening Activities & Advertising three to four months after Soft Opening, during the same period covered by the disclosed Additional Funds estimate.

The sequence does not make later payments optional. It shows when different obligations become binding and helps identify how much cash must remain available after the agreement is signed. A buyer who uses nearly all available funds for the first payment may still be unable to execute a lease, complete the site, purchase required assets, fund training travel, or support the opening period. The funding plan should therefore reserve amounts by milestone and include a contingency for approved changes that occur after initial quotes are obtained.

The disclosure also states that a prospective franchisee must receive the document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or making a payment to the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the sale. That period should be used to reconcile the payment schedule with the proposed lease, financing conditions, entity documents, personal guarantees, supplier deposits, and any state-specific addenda. A deadline imposed by a landlord or lender does not change the disclosure requirement.

Payment sequence sources: FDD, Items 5–7, pages 6–19. The official franchise process page also describes the contract-stage submission of the both fixed fees.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after a Brain Balance Center opens?

The principal continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, mandatory local advertising, the National Advertising Fund, Annual Technology Fee, and usage-based software or program charges. Percentage fees use the FDD definition of Gross Revenue; no annual dollar estimate should be inferred without actual Gross Revenue.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Payment timing
Royalty Fee 8% of Gross Revenue; $1,000 monthly minimum Monthly, on or about the 7th
Local Advertising 9% of Gross Revenue; $6,000 monthly minimum As incurred each calendar month
National Advertising Fund 2% of Gross Revenue; $200 monthly minimum Monthly, on or about the 7th
Annual Technology Fee Currently $2,500 per Center January 1; prorated in first year
Digital Marketing Territory Monthly Fee $400 per territory Monthly after the initial six-month term
Digital Marketing Territory Marketing Expenditure 10% of Gross Revenue from that territory As incurred

Source: FDD, pages 7–9 and 14.

Usage or software charge Amount Trigger
Brain Balance Cognitive App Subscription Fee $95 per enrollee for first 7 months; $45 per each 3 months thereafter Per enrollee, beginning when business opens
Post-Program Subscription Enrollment Fee $17 per post-program enrollee As incurred
Assessment Fee $12.50 per assessment; $10 per post-assessment At each assessment
Email and Other Collaboration Tools First 3 users free; currently $248.40/year for each additional user Annual, prorated by start date
Accounting Software Currently $10–$25/month or $300–$500 purchase Monthly or one-time, depending on package
Third-Party Program/CIN Participation Fees $29 per session; malpractice insurance estimate $6,500 annually Only when participating
ACH transfer cost Estimated $5–$10 per month; a bank may waive it Monthly bank charge
Merchant services transaction fee Expected 2.25%–3.5% for a Standard Center Per card transaction

Source: FDD, pages 8 and 10–14.

Percentage obligations and minimum obligations must be read together. The percentage determines the charge when the stated calculation produces a larger result; the minimum creates a floor when it does not. This structure means the monthly cash requirement cannot be understood by looking only at the percentage. It also means that converting the percentage into an annual dollar figure without actual, compatible records would create an estimate that the franchisor did not disclose.

Local marketing is an expenditure requirement rather than a payment that necessarily goes entirely to the franchisor. The amount must be spent through approved channels and vendors and documented as required. The national contribution is a separate payment. A budgeting model should keep those two obligations distinct so that a payment into the systemwide fund is not mistakenly counted as satisfaction of the local spending requirement.

A useful payment calendar separates charges by frequency and trigger. Monthly debits, annual renewals, per-user subscriptions, per-enrollee charges, and transaction-related costs do not arrive on the same schedule. Some are collected automatically, while others are paid directly to vendors or spent through approved channels. Mapping them by due date helps prevent an annual charge or a usage spike from being mistaken for an ordinary monthly expense and makes it easier to maintain the required account balance for automated withdrawals.

Usage-based charges also require operational records that match the billing definition. Enrollee counts, assessments, post-program access, additional users, and participation activity can each create separate invoices. The buyer should confirm which system produces the count, when the count closes, how corrections are handled, and whether a charge continues after a participant changes status. This review does not require predicting sales; it requires understanding how the contract converts documented activity into a payment obligation.

The $1,000 Royalty Fee minimum, $200 National Advertising Fund minimum, and any annual cost-of-living adjustment refer to Item 6. The FDD links eligible increases to the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers; the Bureau of Labor Statistics CPI resource is the authoritative index source.

CONDITIONAL CHARGES

Which costs arise only after a specific event?

Several Item 6 charges are not routine monthly fees. They become payable when a franchisee requests extra support, changes the Center, transfers or renews the agreement, pays late, or triggers an audit or enforcement expense.

Additional Training Fee$500 for less than four hours or $1,000 for a full day, plus personnel travel costs; due one week before training. A replacement Center Director or Program Director can trigger the requirement. The franchisor may increase the stated training rates by up to 15% on written notice.
AuditActual audit cost and disbursements, estimated at $750 to $10,000, when an audit finds an understatement of at least 5% of royalty or advertising-fund amounts.
Annual Convention$750 per franchisee attendee and $700 per staff attendee, plus travel, lodging, and food; the franchisor may increase registration to $1,500 per person on notice.
RelocationA $4,000 Relocation Fee is due when BB Franchising LLC approves a Center relocation.
RenewalA $10,000 Renewal Fee is due upon approval. Item 17 describes a 10-year initial term and a possible five-year extension using the current agreement form.
TransferA $10,000 Transfer Fee applies at completion, except for a transfer to a spouse or adult child. A separate $2,500 Application License Agreement transfer fee is disclosed in Item 17, and a $10,000 Lead Referral Fee can apply when the buyer was sourced by Brain Balance Home Office.
Late or failed paymentInterest is 2% per month compounded on payments at least 15 days overdue; an insufficient-funds event is currently $35 per incident.
Soft Opening date changeThe franchisee reimburses non-refundable travel and other expenses caused by a changed Soft Opening date.
Taxes, enforcement costs, and indemnificationAmounts vary. The franchisee reimburses covered taxes imposed on fees, applicable costs and attorneys’ fees, and liabilities covered by the indemnification provisions when the stated circumstances occur.

These event-driven charges are outside the ordinary opening schedule because the triggering event may never occur. They still matter to the capital decision because a relocation, management change, transfer, late payment, or audit can create a sizable obligation at a time when the business is already paying its regular charges. The disclosure does not provide a probability-weighted reserve for these events, so adding an invented contingency amount to the official total would be misleading.

A buyer can instead identify which triggers are controllable. Timely payments, accurate reporting, approved advertising, maintained coverage, and stable management can reduce exposure to some charges. Other events, such as a future transfer or renewal, may be planned years in advance. The relevant agreement should be reviewed before the event begins because approval conditions can require payment of outstanding balances, training, releases, new contract forms, or simultaneous treatment of associated locations and licenses.

Sources: FDD, Item 6, pages 9–14; Item 17, pages 55–63.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How do liquidity, net worth, and financing differ from the investment range?

The public franchise site, checked July 19, 2026, states that qualified candidates should have approximately $400,000 in net worth and at least $125,000 in liquidity. Those screening thresholds are not the same as the 2026 FDD Standard Center’s $221,503 to $503,681 Item 7 investment. Net worth includes assets minus liabilities; liquidity describes funds that can be accessed more readily; neither figure replaces the full opening budget.

Estimated Initial Investment
The full Standard Center range shown above, including its opening categories and operating cushion.
Liquid Capital
$125,000 minimum stated on the official franchise qualification page.
Approximate Net Worth
$400,000 stated on the official franchise qualification page.
Franchisor Financing
None. Item 10 states that BB Franchising LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation.
Additional Funds
$30,500–$53,000 within the Standard Center Item 7 total, intended for the first three months.

A screening threshold answers whether a candidate may proceed in the sales process; it does not answer whether the candidate can fund the selected site. A person can meet the stated balance-sheet test and still lack enough accessible cash for deposits, construction draws, equipment purchases, pre-opening payroll, and personal living expenses. Conversely, funds borrowed against an asset may increase cash on hand while also increasing liabilities and repayment pressure. The buyer should calculate both measures using current statements and the definitions requested by the franchisor or lender.

Because no direct or indirect arrangement is offered, the timing and conditions of outside funding remain the buyer’s responsibility. Loan proceeds may be released in stages, a landlord allowance may be reimbursed only after work is completed, and equipment financing may exclude soft costs such as training, advertising, professional fees, or the operating cushion. The practical question is not only whether total financing equals the disclosed range, but whether each source is available when each payment becomes due.

The official Brain Balance qualification page is the source for the current public liquidity and approximate net-worth language. The FDD does not state that financing approval is available, and the franchisor does not guarantee outside financing. Public qualification language checked July 19, 2026.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Which cost questions remain variable or unresolved?

The disclosure provides ranges, not a site-specific construction bid or a guarantee that three months of Additional Funds will be sufficient. The following items deserve written confirmation before the buyer treats the disclosed range as a complete funding plan.

Reconcile the approved site plan. Confirm lease security, square footage, accessibility work, construction scope, architect fees, signage, tenant-improvement credits, and the effect of major-metropolitan rent. Item 11 places federal, state, and local accessibility compliance on the franchisee.
Confirm required suppliers and current vendor pricing. Item 8 requires designated or approved sources for program kits, certain equipment, insurance brokerage, printed marketing materials, CRM and program systems, and some Third-Party Billing Program services.
Separate initial from continuing technology charges. The $15,000 Initial Technology Fee, Item 7 software range, Annual Technology Fee, collaboration tools, Cognitive App charges, assessment fees, and credit-card processing costs are different obligations.
Test the three-month Additional Funds assumption. The Standard Center estimate covers payroll for required personnel, cleaning, repairs, postage, credit-card fees, Cognitive App charges, supplies, and related costs to the extent collected revenue does not cover them. The FDD does not state that owner compensation is included.
Resolve the Third-Party Billing Program discrepancy. Obtain written confirmation of the operative total and every provider-insurance, credentialing, HIPAA, ADA, malpractice-insurance, session, EHR, and participation charge.
Use the current disclosure, not the older website table. The official public startup-cost page, checked July 19, 2026, displayed an older Standard Center range and older line items. The May 26, 2026 FDD controls the figures in this article.

The verification work should use one consistent set of assumptions. Supplier quotes should identify quantity, taxes, freight, installation, subscriptions, user counts, renewal dates, and any required deposit. Construction proposals should state whether permits, professional design, accessibility work, low-voltage wiring, fixtures, and closeout costs are included. Lease comparisons should distinguish refundable security from prepaid rent and should show when any improvement allowance is actually paid.

That consistency prevents a common budgeting error: comparing a broad estimate from one source with a narrow quote from another. A low technology quote that excludes installation is not directly comparable with a range that includes setup support. A construction bid that excludes design and permits cannot be substituted without adjustment. The purpose of the review is not to manufacture a lower total; it is to determine whether the proposed location and operating plan fit within the disclosure’s assumptions.

A final funding file should preserve the assumptions behind every number. Keep the dated disclosure, signed amendments, approved site plan, lease proposal, construction scope, vendor quotes, insurance indications, staffing plan, and funding commitments together. Record whether each amount includes taxes and delivery, whether it is refundable, and when the quote expires. This creates a traceable bridge between the official range and the buyer’s actual project without presenting the buyer’s project total as an official estimate.

Changes should be logged rather than absorbed silently. A revised floor plan, added accessibility requirement, different software configuration, delayed opening date, additional employee, or new territory can affect several categories at once. Updating only the most visible invoice can leave the rest of the budget inconsistent. A change log should identify the decision, the affected contracts, the revised payment dates, and the remaining cash balance so that the opening plan continues to use one coherent set of assumptions.

The FTC consumer franchise guide explains how to use the disclosure document, while the FTC Franchise Rule resource describes the federal disclosure framework. Neither source changes the Brain Balance cost contract.

CAPITAL SYNTHESIS

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The capital decision starts with the full Standard Center investment range, not merely the contract fee or the public liquidity threshold. The largest uncertainty is the physical site—especially construction and remodeling—followed by premises security, equipment, technology, and the three-month Additional Funds assumption. After opening, the 8% Royalty Fee, 9% local advertising requirement, 2% National Advertising Fund contribution, minimum monthly amounts, and technology or usage charges continue independently of the Item 7 opening total.

A Satellite Center, Digital Marketing Territory, and Third-Party Billing Program each create a separate cost relationship. They should be modeled only when the buyer is eligible for that format and has confirmed the current agreements, program requirements, supplier prices, and the unresolved Third-Party Billing Program total.

The most reliable decision sequence is to lock the format first, then the site assumptions, then the supplier scope, and only then the funding structure. Reversing that order can produce a loan amount based on a location or operating plan that will not be approved. A complete schedule should show opening payments, post-opening reserves, recurring withdrawals, and event-driven obligations on one calendar while keeping personal cash needs outside the business total. The result is not a replacement estimate; it is a consistency check that shows whether the proposed project can meet each contractual payment without counting the same funds twice or relying on a reimbursement that arrives after the invoice is due.