How Much Does a Blo Blow Dry Bar Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Blo Blow Dry Bar franchise cost?

A new U.S. Blo Blow Dry Bar has an Estimated Initial Investment of $327,860 to $424,071 under the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The range applies to one standard Blo Blow Dry Bar developed in a leased mall, plaza, or freestanding location. The FDD describes the premises as approximately 700 to 1,000 square feet for the Item 7 estimate.

$327,860–$424,071
2026 FDD Item 7 total for one U.S. Bar. The range includes the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $15,000 to $25,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of operations. It assumes a leased existing building and does not estimate the added cost of purchasing real estate.

Data basis: Blo Blow Dry Bar Inc., a Delaware corporation; Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 20, 2026; one-Bar Franchise Agreement and the separate Multi-Unit Development Agreement. Cost analysis uses Item 5, pages 10–11; Item 6, pages 11–20; Item 7, pages 20–25; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11, 15, and 17. Information and public pages were checked July 17, 2026.

The franchisor does not publish a matching 2026 FDD on a verified brand-controlled public page, so FDD Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked. The official U.S. franchise website is linked only for information it publishes directly.

What are the key capital and fee figures?

For the 2026 one-Bar U.S. offer, the total investment, franchise fee, working-capital allowance, recurring fees, and financial screening thresholds are separate figures. They should not be treated as interchangeable measures of cash required.

Initial Franchise Fee $45,000 Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed; nonrefundable.
Additional Funds $15,000–$25,000 Included for three months and employee salaries; owner compensation is not identified.
Royalty Fee 6% Of Gross Sales, generally paid monthly for the prior calendar month.
Advertising Fund Greater of 2% or $250 2% of Gross Sales or $250 each month, whichever is greater.
Official Screening Thresholds $100,000 / $375,000 Liquid capital / net worth on the current official investment page.
Paid to Franchisor/Affiliate $68,080–$76,480 The 2026 cover-page amount within the one-Bar total investment.
SOURCE CONFLICT The current official investment and qualification page matches the 2026 FDD total and shows a $200 monthly Brand Fee. A separate official FAQ page still displays older investment figures and a $150 Brand Fee. For a current cost decision, the April 20, 2026 FDD controls: $327,860 to $424,071 and a $200 monthly Brand Maintenance Fee.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $327,860 to $424,071 estimate?

The 2026 Item 7 total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, premises costs, design and construction, signage, equipment, technology setup, insurance, opening supplies and inventory, training expenses, grand-opening marketing, professional fees, and three months of Additional Funds. The line items sum exactly to the official total.

Premises and build-out costs

For the 2026 one-Bar estimate, premises and build-out categories total from $165,450 at their disclosed low bounds to $230,200 at their disclosed high bounds; this derived subtotal includes rent, deposits, drawings and permits, Leasehold Improvements, and exterior and interior signage.

Item 7 category 2026 range When paid FDD reference
Real Estate/Rent — first month $3,000–$7,500 Before operations, as arranged with lessor Item 7, pp. 21–23
Security Deposits $5,000–$9,500 Before operations; landlord and utilities Item 7, pp. 21–23
Drawings & Permits $10,800–$13,800 Before operations; third parties Item 7, pp. 21–23
Leasehold Improvements $134,650–$184,900 Before operations; third parties Item 7, pp. 21–23
Exterior Signage $6,000–$8,000 Before operations; third parties Item 7, p. 21
Interior Signage & Art $6,000–$6,500 Before operations; third parties Item 7, p. 21

The Leasehold Improvements range assumes a tenant-improvement allowance of $32,000 to $88,000. Construction costs can vary with site condition, labor, materials, landlord negotiations, and local requirements. Item 7 excludes building-permit costs from the Leasehold Improvements line because permits are shown separately.

Equipment, supplies, and pre-opening operating costs

In the 2026 one-Bar Item 7 table, the largest non-construction category is Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment at $45,135 to $48,426; supplies, inventory, technology setup, insurance, and training are separate line items.

Item 7 category 2026 range What the category covers FDD reference
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment $45,135–$48,426 Proprietary millwork, styling chairs, washing stations, reception furniture, and décor Item 7, pp. 21–23
Computer System, Software & Training $2,200 Required hardware, software, peripherals, and provider training Item 7, pp. 21–23
Insurance $600–$750 Initial insurance estimate; continuing coverage is required Item 7, pp. 21–24
Bar Supplies $14,970–$17,250 Reception, office, storage, brushes, combs, hot tools, and styling supplies Item 7, pp. 21–24
Initial Inventory $13,925–$18,265 Approved hair-care products, tools, accessories, makeup, and designated inventory Item 7, pp. 21–24
Training $10,580–$16,480 Franchisee expenses plus trainers’ travel, lodging, per diem, and Blo U trainer salary Items 5 and 7, pp. 10, 21, 23–24

Fees, marketing, professional costs, and working capital

The 2026 one-Bar estimate separately includes the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee, $12,500 to $15,000 for Grand Opening Promotions, Advertising & Events, professional and licensing costs, and $15,000 to $25,000 of Additional Funds.

Item 7 category 2026 amount Payment timing FDD reference
Initial Franchise Fee $45,000 At Franchise Agreement signing Items 5 and 7, pp. 10, 20
Grand Opening Promotions, Advertising & Events $12,500–$15,000 One to two months before opening and through the first three operating months Items 5 and 7, pp. 10–11, 21, 24
Licenses and Permits $500 Before operations; licensing authorities Item 7, pp. 21, 24
Legal & Accounting $2,000–$5,000 Before operations; attorney and accountant Item 7, pp. 21, 24
Additional Funds — three months $15,000–$25,000 As necessary after opening Item 7, pp. 21, 24
Official Total $327,860–$424,071 One standard U.S. Bar Item 7, p. 21

The franchisor may retain an administrative fee of up to 15% of the Grand Opening Advertising Expenditure. Item 5 states that, apart from the disclosed pre-opening payments, no other payments to the franchisor or its affiliates are required before opening.

COST IMPLICATION The FDD’s low end is not a promise that a site can be completed for $327,860. Item 7 says the figures are estimates, assumes a negotiated tenant-improvement allowance, and warns that shipping, tariffs, applicable taxes, financing costs, and a real-estate purchase are outside the disclosed total.
PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

Blo Blow Dry Bar does not require the full Item 7 total in one payment. Cash is committed in stages: at contract signing, during site development, before opening, through the grand-opening campaign, and during the first operating months.

Sign the Franchise Agreement. Pay the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee in a lump sum. A qualified U.S. veteran receives a 10% discount, currently $4,500 on the first franchise, reducing that fee to $40,500.
Sign the Multi-Unit Development Agreement, when applicable. Pay the entire nonrefundable Multi-Unit Developer Fee at signing. The fee is based on the number of Bars committed.
Secure and develop the site. Pay rent, deposits, design, permits, Leasehold Improvements, signage, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, technology setup, insurance, Bar Supplies, and Initial Inventory as arranged before operations.
Fund training and opening marketing. Pay training-related expenses before opening. The $12,500 to $15,000 Grand Opening Advertising Expenditure is paid on a franchisor-designated date, typically about two months before opening; the campaign generally continues for three months after opening.
Carry the first three operating months. Item 7 includes $15,000 to $25,000 of Additional Funds for operating expenses, including employee salaries. The FDD does not identify owner compensation as included, and it states that more working capital may be required.
Begin recurring payments. Royalty, Advertising Fund, Brand Maintenance, Technology, software, maintenance, and other operating fees begin according to their separate triggers. Local Advertising begins in the fourth month of operations after the Grand Opening Advertising campaign.

The FTC says a prospective franchisee generally must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buying guide explains that review period and the purpose of all 23 FDD Items.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The main continuing obligations are a 6% Royalty Fee, an Advertising Fund Contribution equal to the greater of 2% of Gross Sales or $250 per month, a $200 monthly Brand Maintenance Fee, technology and software charges, and a substantial Local Advertising requirement. The 2026 FDD defines Gross Sales broadly and generally requires monthly electronic-funds-transfer payments on the 20th day for the prior calendar month.

Recurring obligation Amount or basis Timing and cost meaning FDD reference
Royalty Fee 6% of Gross Sales Generally monthly on the 20th for the prior month; EFT Item 6, pp. 11, 19–20
Advertising Fund Contribution Greater of 2% of Gross Sales or $250/month Paid with the Royalty Fee Items 6 and 11, pp. 11, 32–34
Brand Maintenance Fee $200/month Covers graphic design, coaching, website, and booking-app maintenance Items 6 and 11, pp. 11–12, 34
Technology Fee $50/month Begins on the designated date, first use of designated technology, or opening, whichever trigger applies Item 6, p. 12
Booker Software Subscription $245/month Required salon-management and point-of-sale software; vendor increases may pass through Item 6, pp. 12–13
Computer/POS Maintenance $88/month Required maintenance and support; subject to vendor-rate increases Item 6, p. 13
Local Advertising Greater of $1,500 or 1% of Gross Sales/month Starts in month four; at least $1,000/month with Eulerity for the 12 months following the Grand Opening Advertising Expenditure and $750/month thereafter Items 6 and 11, pp. 13, 34
Yelp Currently $28/month Required Beauty & Spas participation; subject to vendor increase Item 6, p. 17

Which opening-year operating fees should be budgeted separately?

The 2026 FDD adds first-year recruitment and bookkeeping requirements, plus email, payroll, and other required-vendor costs that are not presented as one combined Item 7 operating-fee allowance.

CareerPlug Fee
$600 per month for the first 12 months for staff recruitment. Item 6, page 14.
Bookkeeping setup
$300 to $500 paid to the approved third-party provider.
Bookkeeping monthly fee
$200 to $325 per month; the approved provider is required for the first 12 months. Item 6, page 14.
Email and Maintenance Fee
$9.99 per franchisee email, $6.49 per location/staff email, plus $2 per email monthly for security. Item 6, pages 17–18.
ADP and required suppliers
Item 8 requires ADP during the first operating year for designated payroll and human-resource services, but the FDD does not state a fixed ADP price. Item 8, page 27.
FDD CAVEAT The 2% Advertising Fund Contribution does not replace Local Advertising. A franchisee can owe the fund contribution and still be required to spend the greater of $1,500 or 1% of Gross Sales locally each month. The franchisor may also require payment of a local-advertising deficiency.
MULTI-UNIT COMMITMENT

How does a multi-unit agreement change the upfront cost?

The Multi-Unit Developer Fee is paid in full when the Multi-Unit Development Agreement is signed. It equals $45,000 for the first Bar, $30,000 for the second, and $15,000 for the third and each additional Bar. These reduced later-unit fees are available only to qualifying multi-unit developers.

The two-Bar example does not fund two complete openings

The 2026 FDD gives a two-Bar development example of $359,960 to $456,171. Of that amount, $98,080 to $106,480 is disclosed as payable to the franchisor. The total includes the $75,000 Multi-Unit Developer Fee, $2,100 for a vehicle over three months, and the other Item 7 expenditures for the first Bar. It does not include the full opening investment for the second Bar. Each later Bar will require its own then-current build-out and opening investment.

The brand’s public site describes single-unit and multi-unit ownership, but the legal cost commitment is governed by the agreements and FDD. The official opening sequence identifies site selection, software activation, supplier ordering, recruitment, training, and grand-opening preparation as separate stages.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth does Blo require?

The current official investment page states that candidates must have $100,000 in liquid capital and $375,000 in net worth. These are screening thresholds, not the Item 7 purchase price. Liquid capital is accessible funding; net worth is assets minus liabilities and is not necessarily available cash.

Estimated Initial Investment
$327,860 to $424,071 for one standard U.S. Bar under 2026 Item 7.
Liquid Capital
$100,000 on the official franchise investment page. It is not described as sufficient to fund the complete opening.
Net Worth
$375,000 on the official franchise investment page. It does not equal cash available for the project.
Non-Borrowed Funds
No separate minimum non-borrowed-funds requirement is stated in the 2026 Items 5–7 or on the current official investment page.
Personal Guarantee
For a franchisee entity, each owner holding 5% or more must personally guarantee the entity’s obligations; the franchisee’s spouse is not required to guarantee performance. Item 15, page 46.

Does Blo provide financing?

No. The 2026 FDD Item 10 states that Blo Blow Dry Bar Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing, does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation, and does not receive payment for placing financing. It may provide names of financing sources on request. The FDD also states that the brand has been accepted by the SBA Franchise Registry.

The SBA Franchise Directory is a lender eligibility tool, not an endorsement and not a guarantee of loan approval. Any lender will still assess borrower qualifications, collateral, equity injection, and the specific transaction.

CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which fees apply only when a particular event occurs?

Item 6 contains numerous event-triggered charges that are not part of the normal monthly fee stack. They matter because a transfer, delayed opening, requested training, compliance problem, remodel, or early termination can create a separate cash obligation.

Training, operations, and supplier triggers

The 2026 FDD makes these costs conditional: they arise only when Blo requires a visit or event, the franchisee requests extra training or supplier approval, or a designated program applies.

On-Site Coaching Visit — $830 to $1,520. The franchisor may require a visit during the first operating year; the range includes travel and accommodation.
Additional On-Site Training — $360 per trainer per day, plus $80 daily per diem, travel, and lodging. Applies when the franchisee requests additional training.
Cooperative Advertising — amount and timing set by cooperative members. Any contribution counts toward the Local Advertising requirement.
Alternate product or supplier evaluation — reasonable costs up to $500. Paid when the franchisor evaluates a proposed unapproved product or source.
Secret shopper — currently $150 to $175 per visit. Payable when the franchisor uses the evaluation service.
Annual meeting or convention — currently $400 to $500 per person. Travel, lodging, meals, and wages are additional; the registration charge can apply even if the attendee does not attend.
Add-On/Ancillary Services Training — currently not assessed. The franchisor reserves the right to charge training costs and require initial and ongoing ancillary-service inventory.
Gift Card Program — varies. Participation is mandatory, and the FDD does not provide one fixed cost.

Transfer, renewal, relocation, and development triggers

The 2026 Franchise Agreement and Multi-Unit Development Agreement impose different charges for ownership changes, successor terms, relocation review, resale assistance, and development-schedule extensions.

Event-triggered fee Amount When it applies FDD reference
Franchise Agreement Transfer Fee 50% of then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus applicable broker/commission fees Before closing, as a condition of transfer consent Item 6, pp. 14–15
Convenience entity transfer after six months $1,500 When the request is submitted; no fee for the qualifying one-time transfer in the first six months Item 6, p. 14
Minority Interest Transfer Fee $750 When requesting approval to add a minority owner Item 6, p. 14
Multi-Unit Development Agreement Transfer Fee $25,000 plus applicable broker/commission fees Before closing, although Item 17 states development rights generally may not be transferred Items 6 and 17, pp. 14–15, 52
Successor Agreement Fee 25% of then-current Initial Franchise Fee Before signing a successor Franchise Agreement; Item 17 states a 10-year initial term and a conditional additional 10-year term Items 6 and 17, pp. 15, 47–48
Relocation Reimbursement of franchisor expenses On demand after a relocation-review request Item 6, p. 15
Optional Resale Program $5,000 to engage + $5,000 at sale When corporate resale assistance is requested; payment does not guarantee buyer approval Item 6, pp. 15, 20
Development deadline extension $2,500 per quarter For an approved six-month extension under the Multi-Unit Development Agreement Item 6, pp. 18–19

Default, compliance, and system-change triggers

The 2026 Item 6 obligations can become substantial when payments are late, reporting is inaccurate, brand standards change, remodeling is required, or the Franchise Agreement ends after a default.

Overdue interest — 18% annually or the highest lawful rate, whichever is lower. Applies to overdue fees and audit-discovered understatements.
Audit expenses — all audit costs. Payable when an audit is required because reports were not provided or the audit shows an understatement of at least 2%.
Insurance procurement — unpaid premiums plus reasonable expenses. Applies if required insurance lapses and the franchisor obtains coverage.
System Modifications — all required costs. New equipment, fixtures, software, trademarks, or other system changes may be required at the franchisee’s expense.
Remodeling and Refurbishment — all costs. The franchisor may require a remodel to the then-current image, but states it will not require this more often than every five years.
Fees, costs, and attorneys’ fees — varies. Applies after noncompliance and when the franchisor is the prevailing party in litigation or arbitration, as applicable.
Peer Compliance Committee Default Fee — up to $500 per violation. Initial fines may be up to $250, with later fines up to $500.
Non-Compliance Fee — $500 per week. May continue weekly until the system-standard or Franchise Agreement violation ends.
Securities offering — reimbursement of franchisor expenses. Applies when consent is requested for a private or public securities offering.
Default termination liquidated damages — at least $50,000 under the Item 6 table, subject to the agreement formula. The disclosed formula uses average monthly Royalty Fees for the prior 12 months multiplied by 24 or the remaining agreement months, whichever is higher, and is payable in a lump sum after termination for default.
BUYER VERIFICATION Before signing, reconcile the Item 6 liquidated-damages table with the Franchise Agreement language and any state addendum. The table includes a “greater of $50,000” formulation, while the detailed note describes the royalty-based multiplier. A franchise attorney should confirm the operative wording for the buyer’s state and agreement version.
EXCLUSIONS AND VARIABLES

What does the official investment range not fully resolve?

The Item 7 range is complete as an FDD estimate, but it is not a site-specific construction budget or a guarantee of total cash needed. Several obligations remain variable or are expressly outside the total.

Real-estate purchase: Item 7 assumes leasing an existing building. The franchisor cannot estimate the added cost of buying property.
Shipping, tariffs, and applicable taxes: Item 7 says these are not included in the displayed costs.
Financing costs: Interest, lender fees, and other borrowing costs are excluded from Leasehold Improvements and can vary with the loan and borrower.
Working capital beyond three months: Additional Funds include three months and employee salaries, but the franchisor does not guarantee that $15,000 to $25,000 will be sufficient.
Required supplier pricing: Item 8 estimates 25% to 30% of establishment expenditures and 90% to 95% of ongoing expenditures involve Approved Suppliers or brand specifications. Vendor prices and designated sources may change.
Insurance and prepaid-liability bond: Item 8 requires specified insurance and a $25,000 bond covering prepaid liabilities from gift cards, series, memberships, and similar programs. Item 7’s $600 to $750 insurance line does not state that the bond amount is an added premium cost.
Future remodel and system standards: Equipment, software, signage, fixtures, and décor can require later replacement or modification at the franchisee’s expense.
Second and later multi-unit Bars: The two-Bar Item 7 example includes only the first Bar’s opening expenditures. Later Bars are priced under then-current costs.

Item 8 also states that proprietary millwork and styling chairs must be purchased from approved suppliers, and that approved-source requirements cover items such as fixtures, décor, signage, retail products, hair-care inventory, software, recruitment services, accounting software, and local advertising. The official franchise model page describes the operating concept, but supplier contracts, price quotes, and current specifications should be verified against the Manual and approved-vendor list provided during the franchise process.

COST DECISION

What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?

Use $327,860 to $424,071 as the verified 2026 FDD range for opening one standard U.S. Blo Blow Dry Bar, not as a substitute for a location-specific budget. The $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component. The $100,000 liquid-capital and $375,000 net-worth thresholds are candidate qualifications, not the total project cost. After opening, the 6% Royalty Fee, Advertising Fund Contribution, Local Advertising, Brand Maintenance Fee, technology charges, software fees, and first-year recruitment and bookkeeping requirements create a continuing cost stack.

The main unresolved amount is site-specific construction and occupancy cost. A buyer should verify the lease, tenant-improvement allowance, contractor bids, approved supplier quotes, insurance and bond pricing, financing expenses, and working capital needed beyond the three months included in Item 7.