How much does a Bio-One franchise cost?
The 2026 Bio-One Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $134,645 to $221,095 for the single restoration-services format described in Item 7. The model is intended to operate from a home, although a franchisee may rent optional office space, and the range assumes a required Business Vehicle plus startup funding through the first three months after opening.
Estimated Initial Investment for the Bio-One home-based restoration-services Business in the FDD issued April 8, 2026. The total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, QSP Package, technology, training, vehicle, insurance, local marketing, certifications, and $15,000-$25,000 of Additional Funds. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17-19.
- Legal franchisor
- Ringside Development Company d/b/a Bio-One Colorado, Inc.
- FDD basis
- U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 8, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17.
- Unit format
- One home-based restoration-services Business, with optional rented office space and a required Business Vehicle.
- Information checked
- July 19, 2026. The current offer is also described on Bio-One's official U.S. franchise information page.
The low end should not be read as a typical cash requirement. It depends on circumstances such as already having suitable office furniture, computer equipment, and a qualifying vehicle, while also avoiding optional rent. A buyer who must replace several of those assets will move toward the upper end even before local licensing or delivery-related differences are known.
The upper end is not a contractual cap. The disclosure leaves several charges open to actual third-party pricing, and it warns that more operating cash may be needed after the initial period. The range therefore works as a disclosed starting envelope, not as a promise that every opening and early operating obligation will fit inside it.
Capital snapshot
For the 2026 home-based format, the disclosed franchise fee is one part of the broader startup total, while recurring payment bases begin after signing or opening.
What is included in the official investment range?
The official total combines fixed contract payments with location-dependent, vendor-dependent, and owner-dependent expenses. Bio-One does not provide separate new-build, conversion, storefront, or nontraditional ranges; the disclosed model is home-based, with optional rent and a required late-model approved vehicle.
Fixed and franchisor-directed startup payments
For the 2026 home-based format, five fixed line items establish most of the amount due to the franchisor, its affiliate, or an approved vendor before variable premises, travel, insurance, certification, marketing, vehicle, and operating-capital costs are considered.
| Cost entity | Amount | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $60,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing |
| QSP Package | $39,500 | At Franchise Agreement signing |
| Technology Startup Fee | $1,595 | At Franchise Agreement signing |
| Annual Conference Registration Deposit | $2,000 | Within seven days after signing |
| OSHA Training Fee | $2,000 | Within seven days after signing; listed before opening in the startup table |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 12-18.
Premises, equipment, vehicle, and operating-capital ranges
For the 2026 home-based format, the largest variable depends on whether the buyer already owns an approved vehicle; the other major swings come from early marketing, technology, travel, insurance, and the first three months of operations.
| Cost entity | Disclosed range | What changes the amount |
|---|---|---|
| Rent and Rental Improvements | $0-$1,500 | Home operation versus optional rented space |
| Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment | $0-$2,000 | Existing office furniture and equipment |
| Computer Hardware, Software, and Other Electronics | $800-$7,800 | Existing hardware and first three months of required software |
| Initial Training Expenses | $0-$3,500 | Travel, lodging, and food for up to two trainees |
| OSHA Training Expenses | $0-$3,500 | Travel, lodging, and food |
| Local Marketing | $9,000-$15,000 | Pre-opening and early-market spending |
| Business Vehicle | $0-$45,000 | Existing qualifying vehicle versus purchase or lease |
| Vehicle tax, title, license, and first three months of insurance | $1,000-$5,200 | Derived combination of two compatible disclosed lines |
| Certifications | $2,500-$3,500 | State and local requirements |
| Insurance and Professional Services | $1,250-$4,000 | Location, advisers, and first three months of specified insurance |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17-19.
The vehicle creates the largest disclosed spread; the three-month operating allowance and early marketing are the next largest variable categories.
The endpoints are assembled from different assumptions, not from a single model opening. At the low end, several categories can be zero because the buyer may already own acceptable assets. At the high end, the schedule assumes purchases or higher third-party costs across multiple categories. Selecting a midpoint would create a figure the franchisor did not publish.
The range also mixes amounts paid under the franchise contract with amounts paid to landlords, insurers, governments, travel providers, and other vendors. That distinction matters for timing: a contractual charge may be due on a stated date, while a third-party amount is paid only when the relevant asset, permit, trip, or service is obtained.
Why does the cover say $103,095 is paid to the franchisor or affiliate?
The 2026 cover states that $103,095 of the total investment must be paid to the franchisor or affiliate. The startup table, however, lists five fixed line items totaling $105,095 when the $2,000 conference deposit is included. The difference is exactly that deposit.
Derived reconciliation of the five fixed startup line items
For the 2026 home-based format, the line-item arithmetic is higher than the cover-page statement by the amount of the conference deposit.
Derived sum: $105,095. The disclosure says the conference deposit is applied to the first available annual conference fee, any unused portion is credited afterward, and failure to attend causes forfeiture. That treatment may explain the cover-page difference, but the document does not expressly reconcile the two figures. Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5 pp. 12-13; Item 7 p. 17.
Ask for a written closing statement that identifies every amount due at signing and within seven days, shows how the conference deposit will be credited or forfeited, and applies any state-specific fee deferral.
When is Bio-One startup cash paid?
Under the national form of the 2026 disclosure, the largest fixed payments are tied to contract signing, while vendor, travel, vehicle, certification, insurance, and working-capital costs are incurred before opening or during the first three months. The FTC requires delivery of the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing or payment; the FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise explains that disclosure period.
This sequence separates three different cash-planning questions. First are contract-linked payments whose dates are stated in the disclosure. Second are third-party purchases that depend on the buyer's existing assets and local requirements. Third is the reserve used after opening. Treating those phases as one lump sum can obscure which money must be immediately available and which obligation arises only after a vendor, training date, or regulatory step is selected.
California, Illinois, Maryland, Virginia, and Washington addenda defer some or all initial fee collection until specified pre-opening obligations are completed, with several addenda also tying payment to the Business opening. A buyer in one of those states should use the state addendum rather than the national-form due dates. Source: 2026 State Addenda, PDF pp. 135, 137, 139, 145-146. The California DFPI franchise resources explain the state's registration framework.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing obligations are the Royalty, Marketing Fee, Local Advertising Fee, Technology Maintenance Fee, possible Accounting Software Fees, and replacement QSP Consumables. Several of these have minimums, so the payment may not fall to zero when Gross Sales are low.
The Royalty is the greater of 7.5% of Gross Sales or the applicable monthly Minimum Royalty.
| Continuing cost entity | Amount or basis | Timing and qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty | Greater of 7.5% of Gross Sales or Minimum Royalty | Due by the 16th day of each month |
| Marketing Fee | Greater of $200 or 2% of Gross Sales | Paid with Royalty; may increase to 3% with at least 60 days' notice |
| Local Advertising Fee | Greater of $3,000 or 5% of Gross Sales | As incurred; paid to local suppliers, subject to approval |
| Regional Advertising Cooperative Fee | Currently $0 | If established, a specified part of Local Advertising may be redirected to the cooperative |
| Accounting Software Fees | $0-$250 per month | Applies if designated accounting software is required |
| Technology Maintenance Fee | $650 per month | Paid with Royalty; may change after at least 60 days' notice |
| QSP Consumables Replacement Inventory | $100-$1,000 per month disclosed historical spending | Varies with job volume and job type; not a fixed forecast |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13-16.
The assistance and advertising section separately states that at least $2,000 of local marketing must be spent in the Protected Marketing Territory each month. The document does not clearly say that this amount should be added on top of the Local Advertising Fee, so it should not be double-counted without written clarification. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7 p. 19 and Item 11 p. 25.
What events can trigger additional fees?
The 2026 fee table also adds conditional charges for replacement equipment, training, conferences, transfer, successor rights, late payment, audit, temporary management, client service, taxes, and vendor changes.
Sources for conditional fees: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 14-17; Item 8, pp. 19-22; Item 17, pp. 34-36.
What does the Additional Funds estimate cover?
For the 2026 home-based format, the disclosed operating allowance is already included inside the official startup total. It covers the first three months of operation and includes employee salaries; an owner's salary or draw may also be paid during that period. It is not an extra amount to add afterward.
- Covered period
- Initial cash investment through opening and the first three months after opening, unless a line item states otherwise.
- Included payroll concept
- Employee salaries and a possible owner's salary or draw during the first three months.
- Software period
- The software-and-electronics line includes the first three months of software license fees in place on the FDD issuance date.
- Insurance period
- The vehicle and business-insurance estimates include the first three months of premiums.
- Not a cap
- The disclosure states that higher costs or additional operating capital may be required.
Which costs remain unresolved by the range?
The 2026 official total does not cap startup-package shipping and tariff costs, local vehicle pricing, jurisdiction-specific licensing, future required-vendor changes, or capital needed after the first three months.
Does Bio-One disclose liquid-capital, net-worth, or financing requirements?
The 2026 FDD does not state a separate Liquid Capital minimum or Net Worth minimum. Item 10 also says Ringside Development Company does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee's notes, leases, or obligations. Third-party directory thresholds are therefore not used as official qualification figures in this article.
The official franchise site describes the current ownership opportunity but does not publish a current financial threshold on the reviewed pages. A prospective franchisee should obtain the franchisor's current written qualification criteria directly and keep those criteria separate from the official startup total.
The special-risks cover also reserves the right to require a spouse, significant other, or similar domestic partner to sign a Personal Guaranty or acknowledgment. That obligation is not a startup fee, but it can expose personal or marital assets to the franchisee's financial obligations.
Because the franchisor provides no financing, loan approval, the required equity contribution, collateral, and debt-service terms come from a third-party lender rather than from the franchise agreement. The SBA 7(a) loan program can finance eligible business uses through participating lenders, but approval is not guaranteed.
A lender may also consult the SBA Franchise Directory. Directory inclusion addresses an eligibility framework; it is not an endorsement of the brand, a statement that the disclosed investment is sufficient, or an assurance that a particular borrower will qualify.
Which circumstances can change the Bio-One entry cost?
The 2026 disclosure gives one official range, but discounts, resales, existing assets, optional rent, and state addenda can change the amount or payment timing. None of these circumstances creates a separate official total investment range.
| Circumstance | Disclosed cost effect | Important limit |
|---|---|---|
| Veteran or first responder | May qualify for a 15% discount on the franchise fee | Eligibility details are not stated in the FDD |
| Multi-unit acquisition | $10,000 multi-unit discount when more than one franchise is acquired at the same time | No separate multi-unit total; discount stacking is not disclosed |
| Resale acquisition | Buyer must purchase missing components of the then-current startup package | The disclosure does not give a fixed resale-package amount |
| Existing approved assets | Rent, furniture, electronics, and an approved vehicle can start at or near $0 | Assets must satisfy current system standards |
| Optional rented office | The official range includes $0-$1,500 for rent and rental improvements | The estimate assumes three months for about 150 square feet; actual rent may be much higher |
| State financial assurance | Some state addenda defer initial fee collection | Deferral changes timing, not necessarily the total obligation |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 12-13; Item 7, pp. 17-19; State Addenda, PDF pp. 135-146.
A discount changes only the charge to which it is expressly applied. It does not automatically reduce equipment, travel, insurance, permitting, marketing, vehicle, technology, or working-capital obligations. The document also does not say that the veteran or first-responder reduction can be combined with the multi-unit reduction. A buyer relying on either program should obtain a written calculation that shows the reduced charge and confirms that every other startup line remains unchanged unless the franchisor states otherwise.
A resale requires a different review from a new opening even though the disclosure does not publish a separate resale total. Existing assets may reduce immediate purchases, but the buyer must determine whether each asset meets current standards, whether parts of the startup package are missing, and whether training or transfer conditions create new payments. The seller's original invoices do not establish the buyer's current obligation. The relevant comparison is between the assets included in the transaction and the standards that will apply on the transfer date.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the official range?
For the 2026 home-based format, the official range is a three-month startup estimate. The biggest swing factor is the vehicle, followed by early operating cash and marketing. The franchise fee is only one component; recurring payments, minimums, supplier changes, replacement consumables, and event-triggered charges continue after opening.
Official documents and tools
These official franchise, federal, state, and lending resources help verify the offer, disclosure rules, registration context, and third-party financing framework.