How much does a Bin There Dump That franchise cost?
Bin There USA, LLC estimates that starting one U.S. Bin There Dump That business requires $133,800 to $313,000. The April 29, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document uses one Item 7 range for a “BTDT Business.” The total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, one production vehicle’s disclosed opening lease costs, bins and equipment, training travel, insurance, professional fees, and three months of Additional Funds. It does not include real estate if the franchisee chooses a separate office or storage facility.
Estimated Initial Investment for the 2026 U.S. BTDT Business offer. The range already includes $20,000–$40,000 of Additional Funds for three months; do not add that amount again. Separate office or storage real estate can sit outside the total. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.
- Legal franchisor
- Bin There USA, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company; parent company That Franchise Inc. owns the brand marks.
- Disclosure basis
- Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 29, 2026; Items 5, 6 and 7, plus cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 10, 11 and 17 and state-specific amendments.
- Offer structure
- One BTDT Business range in Item 7. The Initial Franchise Fee changes with Territory population, and a home-based office is permitted where local zoning allows.
- Current-offer check
- The Wisconsin active franchise-registration list shows Bin There USA, LLC through April 29, 2027.
- Public FDD link
- No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD Item and page citations in this article are intentionally unlinked.
- Information checked
- July 17, 2026.
The FTC franchise buying guide explains that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. Bin There Dump That’s Deposit Agreement and state-specific payment deferrals make the timing analysis especially important.
What is inside the $133,800 to $313,000 Item 7 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total is the sum of seven quantified categories. Premises rent and a security deposit appear as a separate line, but the FDD assumes the franchisee will not lease a separate office and therefore assigns no amount to that line. The official total reconciles without including premises cost.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $29,000–$55,000 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement | Franchisor |
| Premises rent and security deposit | Not estimated | First of month, if separate premises are used | Landlord |
| Vehicles | $14,800–$25,000 | When incurred | Supplier |
| Opening inventory of bins, equipment and supplies | $50,000–$150,000 | When incurred | Approved suppliers |
| Initial training expenses | $3,000 | When incurred | Travel and other suppliers |
| Insurance and other prepaid expenses | $15,000–$35,000 | When incurred | Suppliers |
| Licenses, legal and accounting fees | $2,000–$5,000 | When incurred | Government or professional supplier |
| Additional Funds for three months | $20,000–$40,000 | When incurred | Employees and others |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14. The total is $133,800–$313,000, plus real estate if a separate office is established.
Opening inventory of bins, equipment and supplies creates the widest disclosed range. Premises cost is excluded because Item 7 gives no amount.
Official FDD facts. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14. Scale maximum: $150,000.
The low and high totals are not “small territory” and “large territory” packages. They are endpoints within one disclosed BTDT Business range. Territory population affects the Initial Franchise Fee, while bin configuration, equipment, insurance and working-capital needs drive other parts of the range.
When is the money paid before and after opening?
Payment does not occur as one check. The standard 2026 sequence starts with an optional Deposit Agreement, moves to the Initial Franchise Fee when the Franchise Agreement is signed, and then shifts to suppliers as vehicles, bins, insurance and professional services are ordered. Illinois, North Dakota and Virginia modify the normal initial-payment timing.
Optional Deposit Agreement
After qualification, Bin There USA, LLC may require a $5,000 nonrefundable Deposit. The 30-day Evaluation Period can be renewed up to two times for $500 per additional month. The Deposit and renewal fees are credited toward the Initial Franchise Fee if the Franchise Agreement is signed. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5.
Franchise Agreement signing
Under the standard disclosure, the $29,000–$55,000 Initial Franchise Fee, less credited Deposit Agreement payments, is due in a lump sum at signing. The fee includes the Start-up Kit. Limited refund provisions apply if required governmental approvals cannot be obtained after a good-faith effort or if initial training is not completed to the franchisor’s satisfaction; the disclosed refund is generally reduced by $5,000 for franchisor costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 5–6 and 11–12.
Equipment and pre-opening purchases
Vehicle costs, bins, computer equipment, insurance, licenses and professional fees are paid to suppliers or government agencies when incurred. The vehicle estimate includes the down payment and four months of lease cost for one production vehicle. Initial training travel is paid as travel and lodging are booked.
First recurring payments
The first Royalty Fee is due on the first day of the first full month after the Franchise Agreement date. Advertising Fund installments are due on the 15th day of each month. Both are paid by ACH electronic transfer. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11.
State-specific initial-payment deferrals
The state amendments are not minor footnotes: they can move when the franchisor receives the Initial Franchise Fee and other initial payments.
Illinois
Payment to the franchisor is deferred until pre-opening obligations are completed and the franchisee has commenced business. The amendment states that the Illinois Attorney General imposed the deferral due to the franchisor’s financial condition. Source: 2026 FDD, Illinois amendment, p. 182.
North Dakota
Initial payments owed to the franchisor are deferred until all initial franchisor obligations are fulfilled and the franchisee has commenced business. Source: 2026 FDD, North Dakota disclosure, pp. 173–175.
Virginia
Initial payments owed to the franchisor are deferred until the franchisor completes its pre-opening obligations. Source: 2026 FDD, Virginia disclosure, pp. 176–177.
Which fees continue after the Bin There Dump That business opens?
The principal recurring charges are fixed per production vehicle rather than initially calculated as a percentage of sales. The Royalty Fee and Advertising Fund contribution step up during the first four years. The franchisor reserves the contractual right, on 30 days’ notice, to replace the fixed schedule with royalties of up to 8% of monthly gross sales and advertising contributions of up to 2% of gross sales.
| Recurring obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Year 1: $600/month Year 2: $900/month Year 3: $1,200/month Year 4+: currently $1,395/month |
First day of each month, per production vehicle | Year 4+ is subject to annual Index increases. |
| Advertising Fund contribution | Year 1: $1,440/year Year 2: $2,160/year Year 3: $2,880/year Year 4+: currently $3,347/year |
Monthly installments due on the 15th, per production vehicle | Administration fees may also be charged; Year 4+ is Index-adjusted. |
| Technology Fee | Up to $500/month | Monthly, if implemented | Not currently implemented in the 2026 FDD; at least 60 days’ notice is required. |
| Computer maintenance and upgrades | $400–$600/year estimated | As required | No contractual limit on frequency or cost of required hardware or software upgrades. |
| Management-system software support | Not disclosed | Ongoing annual fees to third-party vendor | Required for operation of the BTDT Business. |
| Annual Convention | Up to $750/participant | Before convention | May be charged whether or not a representative attends. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11; Item 11, pp. 24–25.
This derived calculation annualizes the monthly Royalty Fee and adds the disclosed annual Advertising Fund contribution. It excludes Advertising Fund administration fees, the possible Technology Fee and future Index changes.
Derived calculation: 12 × monthly Royalty Fee + annual Advertising Fund contribution. Source inputs: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11. Year 4+ uses the amounts disclosed on April 29, 2026. The FDD defines the Index by reference to CPI-U; the BLS CPI-U explanation describes that index.
At least one production vehicle is required at all times, so the fixed Royalty Fee and Advertising Fund contribution have a mandatory minimum even before a franchisee chooses to add more vehicles. Each additional production vehicle adds another full set of per-vehicle charges.
Which fees apply only after a specific event or problem?
Item 6 contains several charges that are not part of normal monthly operations but can become material at renewal, transfer, training, supplier review, default or termination. They should not be inserted into the opening budget unless the triggering event applies.
Ownership, renewal and training triggers
- Renewal FeeThe greater of $14,500 or 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, due at renewal. Item 17 also requires possible equipment replacement, upgrades to current standards, retraining and execution of the then-current agreement. The initial term is 10 years, with one additional 10-year renewal term if conditions are met.
- Transfer FeeThe greater of $14,500 or 6% of the total transfer-transaction value, due upon an approved transfer. In Washington, the state disclosure limits collectability to the franchisor’s reasonable estimated or actual transfer costs.
- Replacement and extra training$750 per replacement trainee. Initial training is provided without a training fee for up to three people; additional trainees at the home office cost $750 each, while additional on-site trainees cost $600 each plus reimbursement of travel, room and board.
- Continuing assistanceThe franchisor’s cost when requested on-site assistance or consultation is provided and invoiced.
- Optional goods and uniformsGoods and supplies are charged at the price in effect when ordered. Item 6 lists uniforms at $300–$500 when incurred; Item 5 separately estimates optional initial uniforms, business cards and vehicle decals at $100–$2,000.
Supplier, compliance and default triggers
- Unapproved product or supplier reviewThe franchisee pays the franchisor’s actual product-testing and evaluation cost. Approved suppliers and specifications apply to bins, equipment, vehicles, technology, inventory, supplies and signs.
- Returned non-defective goodsA 10% restocking charge on the invoiced price, plus refurbishment and repackaging cost.
- Maintenance, insurance or creditor interventionThe franchisee reimburses the franchisor if it repairs poorly maintained assets, maintains required insurance on the franchisee’s behalf, or elects to pay a supplier or creditor claim. Insurance reimbursement includes the franchisor’s cost plus a reasonable fee.
- Late payment and noncomplianceInterest is 1.5% per month, capped by law. Failure to provide required insurance evidence or financial reports can trigger a $100-per-day Non-Compliance Fee after notice while the violation remains uncured.
- Management or appraisalA reasonable Management Fee may apply if the franchisor operates the business after death, disability or absence. The franchisee pays appraisal cost if the franchisor exercises its post-termination purchase option and the parties cannot agree on value.
- Termination or abandonmentLost Future Royalties equal the monthly royalties due for the lesser of 36 months or the months remaining in the term. Actual damages, enforcement costs, legal costs and indemnification obligations may also apply according to circumstance and applicable state law.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–11; Item 8, pp. 14–16; Item 17, pp. 31–33 and applicable state disclosures.
Why do bins, vehicles and Territory size move the investment range?
Bin There Dump That is equipment-intensive even though the FDD permits a home-based office. The 2026 estimate assumes at least one production vehicle and makes opening inventory the largest cost category. A Territory of 250,000 people or more requires at least 12 bins, while the Initial Franchise Fee increases with Territory population.
Territory-based franchise fee
The Initial Franchise Fee is $29,000 plus $1,000 for each 25,000 people above a base population of 125,000. Item 7 shows $29,000–$55,000 for Territories of 100,000 to 650,000 people and states that a Territory above 650,000 can require a higher fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 5 and 12.
Equipment and supplier controls
Bins are disclosed at approximately $4,000–$6,500 each, or about $130 per bin per month if leased. A suitable truck is estimated at $2,200–$2,500 per month. Item 8 estimates that approved-supplier purchases account for approximately 100% of product purchases at establishment and during continuing operations; the franchisor or affiliates may retain allowances up to 5% of bin purchases.
The public franchise website uses “Single Territory” and “City Builder 3-Pack” labels, but the 2026 FDD does not disclose separate Item 7 ranges under those names. The official investment overview currently states approximately $250,000 for Single Territory and $350,000–$470,000 for City Builder, while the dedicated Single Territory page states approximately $150,000. The City Builder page also describes a multi-territory equipment plan. These website figures were checked July 17, 2026 and should be reconciled in writing against the current FDD and proposed agreements before being treated as a payment obligation.
Does the FDD state a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
No fixed liquid-capital or net-worth threshold is stated in the April 29, 2026 FDD. Item 5 says an applicant submits an application and net worth statement, but it does not publish a universal dollar qualification. Total Initial Investment, liquid capital and net worth therefore cannot be treated as interchangeable figures.
The official investment overview gives supplemental program-specific screening language, including a $500,000 net-worth requirement and a credit score of at least 740 for City Builder. Because City Builder is not a separately labeled Item 7 offer in the 2026 FDD, that website criterion should be treated as current official supplemental information, not as a replacement for the FDD’s one BTDT Business range.
What financing is disclosed?
Item 10 states that neither Bin There USA, LLC nor an agent or affiliate offers direct or indirect financing, guarantees a note, lease or obligation, or has a practice of selling a franchisee financing arrangement. Item 7 likewise says the franchisor does not finance any part of the initial investment. The official franchise FAQ separately says trucks and bins can be leased and refers prospects to external financing sources, including BoeFly. That is not a franchisor guarantee, and approval and terms depend on the lender, lease provider and applicant.
Request a written reconciliation showing which public program label applies to the offered Territory, the exact Initial Franchise Fee calculation, the amount expected to be funded rather than merely available, and whether equipment is assumed to be purchased or leased.
Which costs are not fully resolved by the official Item 7 total?
The $133,800–$313,000 range is complete only within its stated assumptions. Real estate, longer working-capital needs, owner compensation, supplier pricing and future technology changes remain important variables.
- Separate premises: Item 7 assumes no rented office. A chosen office or storage facility can add rent, deposits, brokerage, leasehold improvements, utility deposits, design fees and permits outside the disclosed total.
- Outdoor storage: The FDD says approximately 4,000 square feet of outdoor vehicle storage, if needed, may cost $350–$1,500 per month. This is a contextual estimate, not a line included in the official Item 7 total.
- Working-capital period: Additional Funds cover three months of payroll, utilities and other ongoing expenses to the extent not covered by business receipts. The FDD warns that more capital may be needed during and after that period.
- Owner compensation: The FDD does not state that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included in Additional Funds.
- Training variability: The $3,000 Item 7 estimate assumes two people travel to initial training. More trainees, longer travel, different lodging or on-site training can increase cost. The official training information describes the current onboarding and in-person training structure.
- Technology: Initial computer hardware and software are estimated at $3,000–$4,000 within the equipment category, but third-party software support fees are not quantified and future upgrades have no contractual cost ceiling.
- Opening approvals: Local licenses, permits, vehicle registrations, insurance and storage rules vary by jurisdiction. The official ownership sequence places FDD review before Discovery Day, but the actual payment dates remain governed by the FDD, agreements and applicable state amendment.
What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?
Use $133,800–$313,000 as the verified 2026 FDD Estimated Initial Investment for the disclosed BTDT Business, then separately model any chosen office or storage real estate, capital beyond the three-month Additional Funds allowance, and costs created by the actual Territory and equipment plan. The Initial Franchise Fee of $29,000–$55,000 is only one component of that total, while the fixed per-vehicle Royalty Fee and Advertising Fund contribution continue after opening.
The most important unresolved question is not a midpoint of the range. It is which equipment, Territory, storage, financing and public website program assumptions Bin There USA, LLC will place into the buyer’s actual agreements and opening plan.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Bin There Dump That Franchise?
- How Does the Bin There Dump That Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Bin There Dump That Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Bin There Dump That Franchise?
- How Much Does a Bin There Dump That Franchise Owner Make?