How much does a barre3 franchise cost?
A new barre3 studio has an estimated initial investment of $423,925 to $754,350. A qualifying conversion and re-branding of an existing exercise studio has a separate, much lower Item 7 range of $123,465 to $203,450. Those are the two U.S. formats disclosed by B3 Franchising LLC in its Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 3, 2026.
The 2026 Item 7 range covers a leased, average-size new studio and includes the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, required development and opening costs, and $30,000 to $58,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of studio operations. It excludes the purchase of real estate and owner salary or draw. 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–21.
Data basis: B3 Franchising LLC, 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 3, 2026. Formats reviewed: new barre3 studio and conversion/re-branded studio. Cost evidence comes principally from Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-related terms from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. FDD pages used: Item 5, pp. 5–6; Item 6, pp. 6–15; Item 7, pp. 15–21; Item 8, pp. 21–25; Item 10, p. 26; Item 11, pp. 26–36; Item 17, pp. 43–46. Information checked July 19, 2026.
No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public page, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked. The brand’s official U.S. franchise information and official investment page are linked separately where relevant.
Capital snapshot
The $41,250 additional-studio fee applies when an existing franchisee, or a qualifying entity the franchisee controls, develops another territory. B3 Franchising LLC evaluates control by whether existing franchisees hold majority ownership. Each additional territory requires a separate Franchise Agreement; the FDD does not disclose a separate Area Development Fee.
2026 Item 7 total investment by studio format
The bar position shows each disclosed low-to-high range on a common $0 to $800,000 scale.
Interpretation: the conversion range is not a lower-cost version of the same build contract; it assumes an existing exercise studio that can be altered and re-branded. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–18.
The official investment page currently contains an older new-studio range in one section, while its 2026 investment notice states $423,925 to $754,350. The April 3, 2026 FDD controls the FDD-governed figure used here. A buyer should ask B3 Franchising LLC to reconcile any older number still shown on the official investment overview.
Why is the conversion range so much lower?
The re-branded-studio range replaces the new-studio site-selection, construction-management, engineering, leasehold-improvement and equipment lines with a narrower Re-Branding Alterations allowance of $7,715 to $25,000. The conversion contract still carries the same $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the same $25,000 to $30,000 Initial Marketing and Grand Opening Advertising range, the same $30,000 to $58,000 Additional Funds range and the same ongoing Item 6 fee structure. 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20.
New-build obligations versus re-branding obligations
The key cost distinction is the physical premises contract, not the brand fee.
Assumes a leased studio, typically about 1,400 to 2,000 square feet. Item 7 includes Site Selection, Construction Management, possible Additional Engineers, Leasehold Improvements, Equipment and deposits.
Assumes an existing exercise studio that can be converted to current barre3 specifications. Item 7 includes Re-Branding Alterations but not the full new-location development stack.
The official barre3 studio model describes the physical studio concept; qualification for the conversion range must be confirmed under the current FDD and conversion addendum.
| Item 7 category | New studio | Re-branded studio | Timing / scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $50,000 | $50,000 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement |
| Site Selection | $5,000 | Not listed | Required provider, before opening |
| Construction Management | $38,000–$46,500 | Not listed | Approved design and construction-management vendor |
| Leasehold Improvements | Unresolved disclosure conflict | Not listed | Item 7 table and Note 11 publish different new-studio ranges; written clarification is needed |
| Re-Branding Alterations | Not listed | $7,715–$25,000 | Existing exercise studio conversion |
| Equipment | $12,300–$15,000 | Not listed | Required equipment for a new studio |
| Initial Marketing and Grand Opening Advertising | $25,000–$30,000 | $25,000–$30,000 | $20,000 at signing; balance to third parties |
| Additional Funds, first three months | $30,000–$58,000 | $30,000–$58,000 | Operating expenses after operations begin |
“Not listed” means the 2026 Item 7 table does not assign that category to that format; it does not establish that every related cost is zero.
A purchase of an operating barre3 studio is not assigned its own Item 7 investment range. The 2026 FDD states that the new-studio Leasehold Improvements discussion does not include the price of purchasing a barre3 business as a going concern. A resale therefore requires a separately negotiated acquisition price, the $16,500 Transfer Fee when applicable, possible upgrade and training costs, and B3 Franchising LLC approval.
What drives the new-studio cost range?
Leasehold Improvements are a central new-studio category, but the document does not provide one internally consistent range for that line. The Item 7 table and Note 11 publish different Leasehold Improvements endpoints. Because that conflict cannot be resolved from the document, this article preserves the official total investment but does not treat either leasehold range as settled. Both passages describe work on a leased interior up to 2,000 square feet, including demolition, walls, ceilings, flooring, painting, fixtures, cabinets, plumbing, HVAC, electrical, fire alarm, security, decorating and signage. Ground-up construction and the purchase of real estate are excluded. 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16 and 19.
Obtain written clarification of the applicable Leasehold Improvements range before relying on a site budget. The Item 7 total of $423,925 to $754,350 is consistent with the table’s full set of line items, but that arithmetic does not by itself correct the contradictory Note 11 wording.
Selected new-studio ranges outside the disputed leasehold line
Each floating bar uses the same $0 to $60,000 scale. Leasehold Improvements are excluded because the FDD table and footnote conflict.
Interpretation: outside the disputed premises line, Additional Funds and Construction Management are the largest plotted ranges. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–16.
Pre-opening and operating-capital categories
| Category | Low | High | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Financing Fees | $0 | $10,900 | Possible loan closing, broker, contingency and interim-interest costs |
| Insurance | $2,250 | $5,400 | Estimated six months of required coverage payments |
| Operator Training travel | $1,000 | $2,700 | Travel, lodging, ground transportation and personal expenses |
| Professional Services | $1,000 | $5,600 | Legal, entity formation, lease negotiation, bookkeeping and accounting setup |
| Additional Engineers | $0 | $5,500 | Structural, acoustical or specialized engineering if needed |
| Software | $500 | $750 | Pre-opening software cost; ongoing license fee is separate |
| Branded Opening Props | $5,000 | $7,000 | Props purchased from B3 Retail; taxes and delivery can apply |
| Additional Props and Retail Items/Apparel | $2,000 | $4,000 | Class props and opening retail inventory from approved suppliers |
| Additional Post-Opening Advertising | $0 | $15,000 | $5,000 monthly for up to three months or until the membership target is achieved |
Item 7 Additional Funds are already included in the total investment. They cover estimated operating expenses for the first three months, less studio revenue, but exclude a draw or salary for the managing owner and other owners. The franchisor recommends at least another three months of additional funds, without publishing a separate dollar estimate for that recommendation. Do not add $30,000 to $58,000 to the Item 7 total a second time.
When is the money paid?
The cost is not paid as one check. The 2026 FDD creates several cash milestones, beginning with $70,000 due to B3 Franchising LLC when the Franchise Agreement is signed and continuing through construction, opening and the first three operating months. The FDD cover states that $75,000 to $77,000 of either format's total is paid to the franchisor or its affiliates: the $70,000 signing payments plus $5,000 to $7,000 of Branded Opening Props. 2026 FDD cover; Items 5 and 7, pp. 5–6 and 15–21.
Pay the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee and the $20,000 Grand Opening Fee. Both are described as fully earned and non-refundable when paid.
For a new studio, pay the $5,000 Site Selection fee, negotiate the lease, and fund first and last month’s rent plus security and utility deposits as applicable. Item 7 estimates the combined deposit line at $6,427 to $24,000.
Pay approved construction-management providers, any additional engineers, contractors and equipment suppliers as agreed or incurred. Leasehold Improvements are scheduled before opening.
The Initial Franchise Fee includes the first Operator Training Program for one or two people, the first Studio Lead Mentor Training Program for one person, and the first New Instructor Training Program for the Studio Lead Mentor and up to five instructor trainees. Pay attendee travel and living expenses when training is in person. Purchase Branded Opening Props after the location is developed but before operations begin, plus approved retail inventory and additional props.
Spend at least another $5,000 with third-party vendors so total Initial Marketing and Grand Opening Advertising reaches at least $25,000. The disclosed range is $25,000 to $30,000.
Use the $30,000 to $58,000 Additional Funds allowance for payroll, rent, utilities and other operating expenses, less studio revenue. Separately, spend up to $5,000 per month on Additional Post-Opening Advertising for as long as the disclosed condition applies, up to three months.
Which fees continue after the studio opens?
The principal continuing charges are the Royalty Fee, Marketing Fund Fee, Software License Fee and Music License Fee. The royalty has a minimum-payment feature: after studio opening, the franchisee owes the greater of 6% of Gross Revenues or $850 per month. If operations begin before the studio opens, the fee is 6% of Gross Revenues without the disclosed $850 minimum for that pre-opening period. 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–15.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Revenues or $850/month, whichever is greater | Monthly, currently on the 10th | The $850 minimum applies after studio opening |
| Marketing Fund Fee | 2% of Gross Revenues | Monthly, currently on the 10th | Non-refundable brand-fund contribution |
| Software License Fee | Currently $487/month | As incurred | Supplier cost may increase; B3 reserves a future overhead charge of up to 10% |
| Music License Fee | Currently $709/year | Annually | System-wide negotiated fee; other music licenses may be paid directly |
| Music License Administration Fee | Currently $0; up to 10% of Music License Fee may be charged | If implemented | Reserved future administration charge |
“Gross Revenues” includes gross revenue from exercise classes, products and other studio services and products, including certain paid insurance claims for lost profits. It excludes collected sales or service taxes paid or payable to the taxing authority and customer refunds or credits issued under B3 policies. The percentage fees should not be converted into annual dollars withoutan individual studio’s actual Gross Revenues.
Event-triggered fees and cost obligations
Late payment: $100 plus 12% interest on past-due amounts, capped by applicable law; accrual begins the day after payment is due.
Audit: actual audit cost, estimated at $1,000 to $5,000, if Gross Revenues are understated by 2% or more.
Transfer: $16,500, plus a possible sales commission equal to 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee when B3 helps sell the studio and the charge is lawful.
Renewal: 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, along with possible required upgrades, training, permits and other renewal conditions.
Special Visit: $300 to $750 per day plus travel and living expenses estimated at $1,000 to $3,000 when additional on-site assistance is requested or required.
Additional or replacement training: currently $400 per instructor, $250 per additional Studio Lead Mentor, $4,000 per additional or repeat Operator, and $250 per person per Extension Certification Program type. Operator travel is estimated at $1,000 to $3,000 per person when not virtual.
Mandatory meetings: registration of $500 to $1,500 plus attendee travel estimated at $1,000 to $3,000 per person; non-attendance can trigger $1,000 per person.
Studio Upgrades: up to $50,000 cumulatively during the first ten years of the first term, subject to significant exclusions for Computer Systems, new required classes or services, voluntary work, ordinary refreshing, and transfer or renewal upgrades.
Supplier or product review: $200 per request plus actual testing costs for a proposed new product or supplier.
Returned payment: $100 per returned check or insufficient-funds occurrence.
Variable, uncapped or not-currently-quantified obligations
B3 Online Subscription Revenue Share Fee: a percentage or flat rate determined by B3 for subscriptions sold to the studio’s clients; the FDD does not publish one fixed rate.
Insurance: cost varies by employees, location and circumstances. If B3 buys required insurance after a franchisee fails to do so, it may add an administration fee of up to 18% of the policy cost.
Management Fee: currently $500 per day plus reasonable actual overhead if B3 elects to manage the studio after specified death, incapacity or default events.
Enforcement, indemnification and de-identification: the franchisee can owe legal, accounting, travel, judgment, tax, closure and brand-removal costs when the applicable event occurs; the FDD does not cap these obligations.
Future required products and services: charged at then-current prices. As of the issuance date, B3 said it did not anticipate charges above its cost plus a 20% markup, but the product mix and supplier cost can change.
Published fee increases: Additional, Repeat or New Instructor Training Fees, Studio Lead Mentor Training Fees, Additional or Repeat Operator Training Fees, Extension Certification Program Fees and Management Fees may increase during the term. The FDD limits increases to 20% year over year but permits compounded and cumulative adjustments.
How much liquid capital and net worth does barre3 require?
The 2026 FDD Items 5 through 7 do not state a formal Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. The current official investment page says the ideal owner has $130,000 to $150,000 in liquidity and at least $500,000 in net worth, while the page’s inquiry form asks whether the candidate has a minimum of $150,000 cash available for investment. These are financial-screening figures, not substitutes for the $423,925 to $754,350 total investment range.
Ask B3 Franchising LLC which liquidity figure applies to the specific market and format, what assets count as liquid, whether any amount must be non-borrowed, and whether a spouse or other guarantor must sign. The 2026 FDD highlights spousal liability and includes a personal-guaranty requirement in the franchise relationship. The current figures can be checked against the official financial requirements page.
Liquid Capital, Net Worth and Total Initial Investment measure different things. Liquid Capital is cash or cash-like funding available for the project. Net Worth is assets minus liabilities and is not necessarily spendable cash. Total Initial Investment is the FDD’s estimate of startup costs for a defined studio format.
Does barre3 finance the franchise cost?
No financing is offered or guaranteed by B3 Franchising LLC or its affiliates under Item 10. The new-studio Item 7 table nevertheless includes $0 to $10,900 of Financing Fees for possible third-party closing costs, SBA-related contingency accounts, broker fees and interim interest. Approval, amount, collateral and repayment terms remain lender decisions. 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 10, pp. 15–20 and 26.
The brand’s official discovery-process article says financial verification may be conducted through BoeFly and that candidates may work with ApplePie Capital or another lender. That does not change the Item 10 disclosure or guarantee approval. The separate barre3 studio-owner discovery process, BoeFly franchise-financing information and ApplePie Capital franchisee financing information describe their respective roles and qualification processes.
For government-backed lending context, the U.S. Small Business Administration explains that 7(a) loans are made by participating lenders, not directly by SBA, and can be used for purposes that may include leasehold improvements, equipment, supplies, working capital and changes of ownership, subject to eligibility and underwriting. See the official SBA 7(a) loan program.
Which costs may sit outside or above the disclosed range?
The Item 7 range is defined by specific assumptions. A buyer’s full capital plan can exceed it when the location, financing, insurance, optional services, owner living costs or later contract events fall outside those assumptions.
Real estate purchase and ground-up construction: Item 7 assumes rented premises and excludes buying real estate or building the premises from the ground up.
Owner compensation and personal living costs: the three-month Additional Funds estimate excludes salary or draw for the managing owner and other owners.
Extra working capital: B3 recommends at least another three months of Additional Funds but does not disclose a separate dollar range.
Premium or optional design and equipment: Item 7 says its range excludes optional upgrades, and build-out can vary between simplified and premium designs.
Higher insurance limits or additional coverage: Item 7 includes specified estimated coverage payments but excludes optional higher limits and extra policy types.
Play Lounge or childcare: optional childcare can require additional permits, licenses, bonding and CPR certification; the FDD does not publish a separate cost estimate.
Supplier-controlled costs: required fixtures, equipment, props, inventory, software, payment processing and other products must come from B3, affiliates or approved suppliers under Item 8. B3 estimates required-source purchases or leases at approximately 60% to 80% of establishment cost and approximately 70% to 90% of purchases incurred to operate the studio.
Transfer, renewal and remodel work: the disclosed Transfer Fee or Renewal Fee may be accompanied by upgrades, training, permits, legal work and other expenses that are not reduced to one fixed total.
The Federal Trade Commission’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains why a prospective franchisee should read all 23 FDD Items, identify costs not fully resolved by Items 5 through 7 and examine the Franchise Agreement before paying or signing.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?
The verified 2026 cost answer is $423,925 to $754,350 for a new studio and $123,465 to $203,450 for a qualifying re-branded studio. The most important variable is whether the project is truly a conversion and, for a new studio, how the approved site, landlord contribution and Leasehold Improvements fit the Item 7 assumptions.
Confirm in writing which Item 7 format and conversion addendum apply to the proposed premises.
Obtain current bids for Leasehold Improvements, Construction Management, Equipment, signage, deposits and approved-supplier purchases without replacing the FDD range with an unsupported midpoint.
Reconcile the official website’s liquidity wording and any older investment figure with the current FDD.
Separate the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the full Item 7 investment, lender equity requirements, Liquid Capital and Net Worth in the funding plan.
Budget owner living expenses and any extra operating reserve separately because owner pay is excluded and the FDD recommends more than the three months quantified in Item 7.
Model the Royalty Fee minimum, Marketing Fund Fee, Software License Fee, Music License Fee and event-triggered fees as separate post-opening obligations.
A final capital commitment should use the most recent FDD delivered for the specific transaction, its state addenda, the executed Franchise Agreement, the approved site package, lender terms and current vendor bids. The two Item 7 ranges are official estimates for defined formats, not a promise that a particular project will stay within either endpoint.