How Much Does an Ameriprise Financial Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 FDD cost answer

How much does an Ameriprise Financial franchise cost?

The 2026 Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $9,576.62 to $138,402.60 for one U.S. Independent Financial Advisor Business. The range includes the $1,500 Initial Fee, office and technology setup, required monthly charges during the opening period, and Additional Funds for the first three months.

$9,576.62–$138,402.60
Estimated Initial Investment
2026 FDD, Independent Financial Advisor Business format. Additional Funds are already included in this total; they are not an extra amount to add afterward. Source: 2026 FDD cover page and Item 7, pp. 19–22.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Ameriprise Financial, Inc. Issuance date: March 25, 2026. U.S. offer analyzed: one Independent Financial Advisor Business franchise, including the employee-advisor conversion qualifications disclosed for that format. Cost evidence: Items 5–7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 22, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public website, so FDD citations below are unlinked. Ameriprise describes the channel on its official Independent Advisors page.
Initial Fee $1,500 Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Additional Funds $0–$3,000/mo. Per registered office location for three months.
Association Fee $290/mo. Ongoing fee deducted through Accounting Periods.
Technology Access Package $595/mo. Includes one AdvisorCompass software license.
Supervision $296–$2,717/mo. Per AFG or AFIG Independent Advisor.
Cost implication The FDD cover says $1,500 to $6,500 of the total investment is paid to Ameriprise or its affiliates. That is not a $6,500 Initial Fee. Item 5 fixes the Initial Fee at $1,500; the higher cover-page amount reflects other early payments, such as software installation and initial monthly fees. Source: 2026 FDD cover page; Item 5, p. 12; Item 7, pp. 19–20.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the $9,576.62 to $138,402.60 range?

The 2026 Item 7 range combines contract payments, a three-month operating reserve, office costs, required technology, licensing, insurance, supervision and optional opening choices. Ameriprise provides one overall range rather than separate totals for freestanding, inline, home-based or conversion formats.

Contract payments and the first three months

Cost entity 2026 disclosed amount Timing Payee
Initial Fee, including initial orientation $1,500 When the Franchise Agreement is signed Ameriprise
Additional Funds — three months $0–$3,000 per office/month Monthly Landlord (table); footnote covers broader operating costs
Association Fee $290/month Monthly Ameriprise
Errors and Omissions Fee $166.66 standard or $208.32 supplemental/month Monthly; SPS surcharge may apply Supplier and/or Ameriprise
Supervision $296–$2,717/month Monthly Registered Principal and Ameriprise
Technology Access Package $595/month Monthly Ameriprise
Business Authorizations and Licenses $500–$3,000 As incurred Providers and regulators
Support Staff $0–$3,400/month As incurred Suppliers

Office, communications and required technology

Cost entity 2026 disclosed amount Timing Key qualification
Computer Hardware $1,200–$2,300/computer As incurred Purchase or monthly lease; must meet specifications.
Computer Software Installation Service $200 As incurred Required when hardware is purchased outside vendor programs.
Internet, mobile devices, phone service, printers and scanners Approx. $1,600–$21,200 As incurred Market-rate estimate.
Network Equipment $1,410–$8,200 As incurred Required security device; lease option available.
Network Monitoring $25/device/month Monthly Required secure connectivity and monitoring.
Office Aesthetics and Furnishings $0–$50,000 As incurred Existing offices may need less; staff and office size drive cost.
Office Cabling $500–$6,000 As incurred Market-rate estimate.
Office Lease $0–$3,000 per office/month Monthly May be $0 if an approved owned or existing office is used.
Security Deposits $0–$9,000 As incurred Landlords commonly require one to three months of rent.
Signage $60–$9,000 As incurred Approved design/vendor process; installation is excluded.

Optional and secondary opening costs

Cost entity 2026 disclosed amount Timing Interpretation
Optional Training Programs $0–$10,000 As incurred Item 5 states individual optional programs may cost $0–$5,000 each.
Other Software Fees and Licenses $20–$200/subscription/month Monthly A la carte items; usage may push technology costs above the disclosed range.
Software Licenses and Fees for Staff $135–$550/staff member/month Monthly Applies to additional Associate Financial Advisors, Paraplanners or staff.
Start-up Supplies Approx. $100/month As incurred Business cards, office supplies, stationery and similar materials.
Travel and Entertainment Approx. $100/month As incurred Optional client travel/entertainment and some event or training travel.

Source for the three tables: Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 19–22. The official Item 7 total is preserved; line items should not be added independently because monthly periods, optional selections and format assumptions differ.

FDD caveat The three-month Additional Funds estimate covers Association Fee, compliance supervision, Errors and Omissions Fee, payroll, rent, utilities and other second- and third-month expenses to the extent revenues do not cover them. The FDD does not state that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 20.
Payment timing

When does a prospective franchisee pay the money?

The first fixed payment is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed, while most office and technology costs are paid as incurred before opening. Monthly fees and the operating reserve then continue through the first three months and beyond.

Review period before payment. The 2026 FDD states that the disclosure document must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or any payment is made to Ameriprise or an affiliate.
Franchise Agreement signing. Pay the $1,500 Initial Fee as one non-refundable lump sum. An employee whose job was eliminated may receive a waiver under Addendum 6.
Office approval and opening setup. Pay licenses, hardware, installation, network equipment, furnishings, deposits, cabling, signage and other opening costs as incurred. The FDD says opening typically takes 1 to 30 days and must occur within 60 days after signing.
First three months and continuing operation. Pay monthly rent, Additional Funds obligations and recurring fees. Ameriprise generally deducts half of a monthly fee during each Accounting Period; if Compensation is insufficient, the unpaid amount must be paid promptly.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover page; Item 5, p. 12; Item 6, pp. 16–18; Item 7, pp. 19–22; Item 11, pp. 31–33. The FTC franchise buying guide explains the federal disclosure timing rule.

Ongoing fees

Which Ameriprise fees continue after opening?

The 2026 FDD does not list a conventional Royalty Fee or a separate mandatory advertising-fund percentage in Item 6. Instead, ongoing obligations include fixed monthly Association, Technology Access, Supervision and insurance charges; an Administration Fee based on Advisory Solutions assets under management; transaction charges; staff-related fees; and optional program costs.

Continuing fee Amount or basis When paid Cost interpretation
Administration Fee 0.06%–0.20% of Advisory Solutions AUM As incurred Deducted from the client advisory fee before the payout calculation; no annual dollar amount is disclosed.
Association Fee $290/month Monthly Includes specified broker-dealer support, compliance oversight, national advertising materials and signage specifications.
Errors and Omissions Fee $166.66 standard or $208.32 supplemental/month Monthly Standard $2 million coverage or supplemental $5 million coverage; $10,000 deductible per claim.
Supervision $296–$2,717/month Monthly Compliance record, sales volume and supervisory effort affect the rate; extra site-visit fees may apply.
Technology Access Package $595/month Monthly Includes one base AdvisorCompass software license; excessive support may later be billed at $33 per ticket after notice.
Network Monitoring $25/device/month Monthly Required secure connectivity, incident response and continuous monitoring.
Ticket Charges $2–$85/transaction As incurred Applies to transaction activity in advisory or brokerage solutions.
Business Authorizations and Licenses Varies by jurisdiction and license Initial and renewal costs as incurred Depends on licenses held and number of jurisdictions.

Costs that rise when the practice adds advisors or staff

Team-related fee 2026 amount or basis Timing Trigger
Association Fee — Associate Financial Advisor $695–$2,545/person/month Monthly Adding an approved Associate Financial Advisor.
Association Fee — Registered Staff (Paraplanner) $260–$1,085/person/month Monthly Adding approved registered staff.
Client Purchase — Associate Financial Advisor Generally 2% of clients’ invested assets Monthly over 24 months Required client purchase when specified employee or non-equity advisor becomes an Associate Financial Advisor.
Client Purchase — Registered Staff Generally 2% of clients’ invested assets Monthly over 24 months Required when an employee becomes registered staff; remaining amount accelerates if the Paraplanner leaves.
Software Licenses and Fees for Staff $135–$550/person/month Monthly Each additional staff software license.
Franchise Consultant Fee $375/month + $6/affiliated advisor Monthly Optional Consultant program.
Franchise Consultant Services Fee Minimum $200/month or 1% of GDC equal to $200+ Monthly Optional consulting agreement.
Internal Client Transfer Fee $0–$800 Before proposed transfer Administration of an internal client reassignment.

Source for continuing and team-related fees: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13–18. Percentage bases are reproduced as disclosed and are not converted to annual dollar estimates.

Optional and conditional Item 6 triggers

Marketing and lead activity. Advertising Contributions vary by campaign; Marketing Programs vary by program; Corporate Office Leads vary by campaign.
Advanced programs and education. Ameriprise Platinum Financial Services costs $1,000–$4,000; Education/Continuing Education costs $0–$5,000 per course or program; the Private Wealth Advisor Program costs $4,000–$15,000.
Technology and research choices. ATS Enhanced Services cost $100/hour plus expenses and travel; Optional Research Packages cost $0–$800 per package/month; Other Software Licenses and Fees cost $20–$200 per subscription/month; Software Ordered Through Approved Outside Vendors is priced at market rates.
Server and service add-ons. Server Maintenance includes $50 required security software, $200–$500 installation/setup and $80 quarterly validation; Optional Services cost $5,000–$10,000. Optional technology support may exceed stated ranges depending on usage.
Insurance choices. Optional Additional Insurance Coverage costs $0–$4,000 per election/year, in addition to required Errors and Omissions coverage.
Compliance events. Client Complaint Sanctions and Settlements vary by circumstance, and fines may be imposed for policy or regulatory failures.
Advertising distinction Item 6 does not impose a separate fixed national advertising fee. Item 11 says Ameriprise currently plans to direct approximately 1%–3% of the Association Fee to the System Fund, but that is an allocation of the existing Association Fee, not an additional franchisee assessment. Optional local or regional advertising remains variable by campaign. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13 and 16; Item 11, pp. 29–30.
Ameriprise-specific cost structure

How do office status and employee-advisor conversion change the budget?

The largest variance comes from whether the advisor already has an approved office, furnishings and an operating advisory practice. The FDD does not publish a separate complete Item 7 total for employee-advisor conversions, but it does disclose a lower three-month Additional Funds estimate for that circumstance.

Two cost modifiers the headline range does not separate

$0–$6,700Estimated three-month Additional Funds for an employee advisor who becomes an Independent Advisor. This is a special reserve estimate, not a separate total investment range.
25%–50%Item 8 estimates that approved-supplier or specification-controlled leases and purchases represent this share of establishment purchases and the same share of continued operating purchases.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 20; Item 8, pp. 23–24. The official advisor business-model overview distinguishes the independent channel from Ameriprise’s branch and bank/credit-union channels.

Existing approved officeAn advisor who owns or already occupies a compliant office may have $0 office lease cost and substantially lower furnishing needs.
New registered officeLease, deposits, furnishings, cabling, signage, network equipment and communications can move several categories toward their high end.
More than one registered officeItem 6 permits additional site-visit Supervision fees based on the required oversight; no fixed amount is disclosed.
Capital qualifications

Does Ameriprise disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

No systemwide minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement is stated in the 2026 FDD sections reviewed. The $9,576.62 to $138,402.60 Estimated Initial Investment is therefore not the same as a disclosed cash-on-hand qualification, and the FDD does not authorize treating the low end as the amount every applicant must have available.

Buyer verification Ameriprise does consider creditworthiness and financial parameters for discretionary loans, and personal net worth is one factor for practice-acquisition financing. Those are financing-underwriting criteria, not a published franchise-wide Net Worth threshold. Obtain the current written qualification standard directly from Ameriprise before relying on any directory’s cash or net-worth figure.
Financing disclosures

What financing does Ameriprise describe?

Item 10 says Ameriprise does not offer direct or indirect financing except for specified discretionary programs. Approval is not guaranteed, and the disclosed loans can require a security interest, a Personal Guarantee, credit review and immediate repayment after default or termination.

Financing path Term and pricing basis Primary use Material conditions
Advisor or experienced Associate Financial Advisor conversion loan 4–10 years; 0.25 percentage point above the semiannual mid-term Applicable Federal Rate, compounded annually Conversion to the Ameriprise Financial System Based on verified prior compensation, assets under management and/or production; monthly repayment.
Office, staffing, marketing or renovation installment loan 36–72 months; prime rate at grant plus 300 basis points, fixed for the loan term Build, hire staff, market, provision a compliant office or renovate May require recruiting productivity, creditworthiness, financial parameters, a security interest and Personal Guarantee.
Practice-acquisition installment loan Typically 120 months; competitive rate set at approval Purchase another Ameriprise or external practice Cash-flow, debt-to-equity, compliance, credit, net-worth and transition-plan criteria may apply.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 26–27. The FDD’s prime-rate reference was 6.75% as of December 2025; actual pricing is determined when a loan is granted. The IRS Applicable Federal Rates page publishes the rate used for the conversion-loan formula.

Ameriprise’s current official practice-acquisition financing page, checked July 22, 2026, states that qualifying franchise advisors may borrow up to 90% of an external purchase price or up to 80% of an internal acquisition price, with a 10-year term and no stated minimum or maximum loan amount. That current website statement supplements Item 10; it does not guarantee approval or change the Item 7 opening-cost range.

Later cost events

Which renewal, transfer and default costs remain uncertain?

The 2026 FDD identifies several future cost triggers without giving a complete fixed price for each one. The Franchise Agreement has a three-year term, and renewal requires satisfaction of monetary obligations and premises standards, but no separate Renewal Fee amount is disclosed.

Transfer. Item 17 requires payment of a transfer fee and, when applicable, a new transferee’s $1,500 Initial Fee. It does not state a separate general transfer amount; Item 6 lists an Internal Client Transfer Fee of $0–$800.
Relocation or added offices. Prior approval is required. No separate Relocation Fee or complete relocation budget is disclosed, and additional site-visit Supervision fees may apply.
Technology upgrades. Item 11 states there is no contractual cost or frequency limit on required computer hardware or software updates and upgrades.
Termination or loan default. Outstanding principal and accrued interest can become immediately due; collection costs, attorneys’ fees, and—in a practice-acquisition loan—additional compound interest or liquidated damages may apply in specified circumstances.
Premises changes after termination. The franchisee may have to alter the office to distinguish it from an Ameriprise location; no fixed amount is disclosed.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 14–18; Item 10, pp. 26–27; Item 11, pp. 30–32; Item 17, pp. 42–44.

Final capital check

What should be verified before committing capital?

The official investment range is broad because the Independent Financial Advisor Business can begin with an existing office and modest staffing or require a newly equipped office, higher supervision, multiple technology licenses and optional programs. The low end is not a liquid-capital requirement, and the $1,500 Initial Fee is only one part of the opening budget.

Confirm the exact Supervision quote and distribution-channel classification. The $296–$2,717 monthly range is the largest recurring fixed-fee variable shown for an Independent Advisor.
Price the actual registered office. Verify rent, deposits, furnishings, cabling, signage installation, network equipment and communications against Ameriprise’s current specifications.
Reconcile the three-month reserve. Confirm which payroll, rent, utilities and monthly fees are included, and separately budget owner living expenses because the FDD does not say they are included.
Count every person and device. Associate Financial Advisors, Paraplanners, staff software licenses, network-monitoring devices and extra registered offices create additional recurring charges.
Verify licensing and registration costs by state. Ameriprise’s Item 7 range is $500–$3,000, but the actual licenses and jurisdictions control the amount. Consult the FINRA Series 7 information and NASAA state-law exam information for current regulatory exam details.
Request the then-current FDD and written loan terms. Confirm amendments, state addenda, fee changes, approved suppliers and any financing offer before signing or paying.